We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bed and generous buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #11 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Unexpectedly enjoyed our 1 night stay here before moving on to our rented apartment in Nice's old town. The bed was enormous, 2 large singles zipped together I suspect, and extremely comfortable, had a very very good nights sleep after a long days travel by train. Bathroom well appointed, although I would have liked a bath, something our friends were randomly given in their room on the next floor up. My problem, I probably should have asked to be moved. It didnt matter for one night, as everything else was so welcome. Very friendly service at reception, chap was extremely helpful with giving local dining options etc, and we followed his advice which proved spot on. Lady at reception on departure was equally gracious and helpful. Breakfast a bit steep at 15 Euros but as a buffet you could eat as much as you pleased. Still steep though.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath if you require one, and for windows into the quiet garden rather than noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Effleurage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

401 - 407 of 636 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for two night early October. Booked on booking.com and got upgraded room on arrival (Rm 209). Colourful, stylish room (with luggage theme) facing on to the garden so any concerns about railway/street noise were unfounded. Room was clean, everything was in walking distance and being able to get there without a taxi from the station, and back to the airport on the airport shuttle was great. For the price it was ideal. We didn't need to test the airconditioning as in early October the room temperature was fine. Bathroom was small, but again for a two night stay we didn't need any more. If you like your hotel room to live up to big chain formats perhaps not for you but if you like quirky, unique it was a good find. Happily stay again.

Room Tip: Room 209 faced onto a courtyard garden overlooking the bar area. Back of hotel. Apart from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClogandSari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights in early October - a bit disappointed as the room was quite small - barely 12" either side to get out of bed - not alot of storage and the air conditioning blocked circulation by large unit - bathroom had inadequate ventialtion so after a shower was more like a sauna and consequently room felt damp as steam came out from bathroom. No plugs near mirrors. Coffee machine on the floor! not very good design for newly done rooms. Outside renovations still going on and rubbish left lying around and builders sitting outside our room smoking and drinking. Hotel staff generally very helpful and breakfast ok although had to ask each day for scambled eggs.

Not liley to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We selected this hotel for its proximity to the rail station and the set down place of the airport coach (6 euro). The hotel has had a complete refurbishment and looks great as also does the exterior (Belle epoch). Interior theme is Orient express brass bound luggage - yes everywhere. Room we had looked to a garden area in the rear and was quiet. Adequate space but limited storage space and place to set things down. some lost opportunities for storage with false front (brass bound) drawers. Wall decoration over bed based on 20's Orent express timetable.
Comfortable bed which was the continental twin type. Good aircon. 5 min access to neighbourhood eateries eg US doughnut joint, best Pizza in Nice place and 10 mins to main shopping street and much eateries, 15 mins to old town,and beach.
Good wall tv but no UK TV programmes available, yes 2-US news stations and 16 other French stations.. Overall a bright colourful finish to the hotel interior with a French mail theme carpet on the stairs. A good French experience. Nice lounge. Reception helpful and courteous with vg English language.
Many things to see and do in Nice. We enjoyed the art galleries, artists homes, architecture of the city, the food and the civility of the Nice people. Public transport cheap and plentiful.The weather was dry and mild changing from a requirement for short sleeve shirt to light jumper while we were there.

Room Tip: Room to rear over courtyard/garden was quiet but you will always get the distant noise of a city at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scotmech40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week for four nights and it was so clean, charming and close to everything we did not want to leave. Rarely do we stumble onto a find like this one especially for the price. It is truly very nice and did I say clean? They are constantly cleaning everything all the time. The rooms are very up to date and the hotel looks newly renovated everywhere. After a long day of sightseeing we new we could come back to a clean room and a friendly welcome from the staff. It is about a 10 minute walk to the beach and less from the train station. We explored the city on foot with no problem, don't miss the old city center and of course all of the shopping and restaurants right at your door. And the breakfast buffet is very nice too. It consists of eggs, sausage, pancakes, fruit, toast, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee etc. For the price this is a very comfortable and indeed a great place to stay.

Room Tip: As far as I know it does not have a fitness center, I couldn't uncheck the circle...sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWestfall2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

It is in a quiet location with easy access to trains, buses, trams and the Promenade de Anglaise.
There is a convenience store and small snack bars close by. I chose this hotel based on other people who had left reviews and felt quite comfortable booking for a 4 night stay. It had recently just finished a refurbishment and was very clean and the room was just as good also with a safe. I would recommend this hotel and as a single traveller would return again. All the staff were very nice and would go out of their way to help. For me the hotel was good value. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I don't eat much in the morning but was a little pricey. Thanks once again.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor at the back and was very quiet Nice double room The a/c was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 825alexander825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Staff here are friendly and very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
Hotel has had a recent refurb as well. Great place to stay in Nice if you want to be near the station, shops and an easy stroll to the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeeEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
843 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Excelsior Hotel

Address: 19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $71 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nice Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nice Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing