We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small , not luxurious but for budget minded”
Review of Hotel Magnan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Magnan
Ranked #108 of 204 Hotels in Nice
NORCO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small , not luxurious but for budget minded”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This little gem was perfect for the non-complainer. The room was tiny but extremely clean. The room breakfast consisted of a Crossiant and cup of coffee served in the room for 8 Euros but enjoyable to sit on the balcony, watching the Sea. If you wanted more, there was a great restaurant right next door. Don't arrive late, the front door is locked after 10:30 but you were given a key for entry after check in. Patrick at the desk always had a smile and was helpful with whatever you asked. Free mats and a beach umbrella was furnished by the Hotel, a little worn but served its purpose. We were there for the beach and everything else was secondary and to top it off, the price justified the means. You get what you pay for and we would stay there again!

Room Tip: They all have a balcony to look at the sea to the right and the park across the street and busy inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADRIVER4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    49
    28
    8
    15
See reviews for
17
67
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just a 15 mins bus ride from the airport and the last bus is 23:50 from terminal 2, which fitted perfectly with our flight time. We were greeted at the hotel by a very friendly gentleman (the owner) who showed us to our room and told us we could sort everything the next morning as it was very late. The room was clean and tidy, although slightly on the small size but the balcony more than made up for the room size. We had room 52 (fifth floor over looking the sea), which was a great view. We took an electric travel kettle, tea, coffee etc. which proved to be a great idea as sitting on the balcony in the morning with tea, coffee and locally baked, fresh warm bread (purchased just a very short walk away) was a great way to start the day. We will definitely use Hotel Magnan again, very central - beach in front, regular buses to the port, airport, Monaco, etc. the old town just 15 mins walk along the promenade and of course the very friendly, helpful owner. Thank you

Room Tip: ask for a sea view with a balcony - the fifth floor was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULINESHAUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Found the Hotel Magnan to be perfect for a basic and good value stay, I stayed for 5 nights over the Monaco GP Weekend, on bus route to airport, also bus outside to Gare de Ville, great brasserie/restaurant attached, rooms basic but clean and balcony with sea view as described, manager very helpful and friendly - would highly recommend this good value hotel. No English speaking channels on the TV ! minor complaint though.
John, Edinburgh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Perfect location, good value for money. Nice view from balcony, friendly owners. Nice is an expensive place but this hotel is really great value for money. If you're looking for a good place to eat with reasonable price check this restaurant near the port
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g187234-d2092797-Reviews-Leo_s-Nice_French_Riviera_Cote_d_Azur_Provence.html

Fantastic food at good price for Nice standards!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gl0betr0tter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The owners Patrick and Jocelyn are lovely. They were a great help and very nice -- in contrast to some of the French people we met who were gruff and aggressive. So if you want to feel comfortable I suggest this hotel. The views of the beach we had were great and the location fantastic. The room is simply furnished and the bathroom small, but the internet is free and works! For the modest price of this hotel the value is great. If you want a first-class hotel, then you can pay the price! If you want value and a great location for a very reasonable price, you can't go wrong with this hotel. I give the top rating because of the value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. It's not much more money (10 euros).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

A little disappointing as the bathroom was small room was adequate thou. Shower very awkward to use as it was just a shower head not fixed so you had to wet yourself soap then rinse off. Not a bad location easy walk to station about 2 km.
Probably stay here again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
0.1 mi away
Flots d'Azur
Flots d'Azur
#86 of 204 in Nice
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Eden
Hotel Villa Eden
#154 of 204 in Nice
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adagio Access Nice Magnan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#173 of 204 in Nice
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adagio Nice Promenade Des Anglais
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#118 of 204 in Nice
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magnan

Property: Hotel Magnan
Address: 1 avenue de la Californie, 06200 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Magnan 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Magnan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnan Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing