We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Mer
Ranked #82 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

stayed at this hotel end May/June 2014 and found that the hotel was very clean despite other reviews and comments, the hotel was very quiet and in a very good location right near the old town and close to the sea, close to bars and restaurants, We chose a comfort room ( not sure what it meant but the bed was comfortable..
The down side of this hotel is that it is on a second floor and doesn't have any lifts although the manager offered to carry a suit case. The room was a bit on the basic side and not very big, we had a rear facing room and was very quiet, the only noise we had was from one inconsiderate room neighbour who insisted in slamming the room door shut ( he really didn't need to).
There is a lacking of storage space, a wardrobe type free standing cupboard took about half a dozen shirts and a couple of pairs of trousers, there was space to lay flat some tee shirts. there was no dressing table and the mirror in the bathroom was not lit and old with most of the silver reflector missing.
There is a small flat screen TV showing an English channel BBC News,
The Breakfast option is a bit expensive for what you get, two pieces of baguette and two small croissants, jam and coffee, a 4 minute walk you can get the same for half the price or eggs and bacon plus the above.
The reception is not manned 24 hours a day, you are given door entry codes, simply enter the code and push the door open.
There is free WiFi and the reception will give you a password when you check in.
I would recommend this hotel, however this is Nice and things aren't cheap, so at first sight you may not think its value for money, ( we paid €130 for the room and haggled the breakfast free)
Getting to the hotel can be easy if you come from the airport, a number 98 bus drops you off just around the corner, the cost of the bus is €6 per person, a lot lot more if you get a taxi, any where else the cost of a bus ticket ( inc. trams) €1.5, this could take you to Cannes or Monaco. If you are going to stay a week it will be worth getting a weekly ticket ( which will cover airport terminals)
Eating out can be very expensive and you can pay around €4 for a spaghetti based meal, some restaurant offer a fixed price menu, its worth doing this unless you want to pay a lot !! Beer can be expensive, around €8 a bottle, some places have draft which is from €7 for 0.5ltr. Happy hours are good as the beer starts from around €4.5, The wine from this area is good but can be expensive, go for the lower cost ones especially the ice cold Rose.
Enjoy,

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerryMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Mer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 191 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in May 2014. Had no trouble finding it from the airport even though we got off the bus too soon. There was some construction going on in the lobby, but that certainly doesn't affect the quality of the experience. The host was friendly and helpful from the first time we contacted the hotel, as were all the other staff. Location is perfect, 5 minutes walk to the ocean & right in Old Town Nice on Place Massena. The room was comfortable & clean. Breakfast was croissants (chocolate filled), bread with butter honey or jams, coffee & juice, for 7 euros, so if you need more than that,opt for somewhere else.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the Plaza & the crowds were a bit noisy on the Friday night, so stay out la...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolFJamesA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Arrived to find shared entry area floor covered in plastic sheeting and wet paint everywhere. "Hotel" - more like group if rooms - up two flights of stairs with building materials on landing. Door locked. No receptionist at check in time. Rang bell repeatedly and a painter let us into a room. No receptionist until much later. Decided to check out a couple of hours after arrival. Had to speak to owner on phone to ask for a refund. He yelled at me for about five minutes before agreeing to refund half my money. Then had the nerve to tell booking agent we were a no show and wanted to charge us a cancelation fee! My husband and I both slipped on the plastic sheeting on the way in and out

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank TheDaileysAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel de la Mer for 3 nights in June. The location was very nice for walking in the Old City or down to the beach. The hotel is right on Place Massena, we had the room with the balcony and it was nice to sit out on the balcony in the morning and people watch. The door to the balcony blocked out the noise from the streets very well. There are plenty of really good restaurants within a short walk, we went to a few and had nothing but great food. There was some construction going on at the time of our visit in the area and the receptionist was very helpful in directing us to alternate bus stops for our travels within the city. The shower was a it high and the first time it was used, a good bit of water ended up spraying into the bathroom. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It was nice to have the room with the balcony so that we could sit on there and people watch.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked for three nights over new years eve and it was a terrible experience.
The hotel is still under renovations and there is no 24 hour desk service. The entrance to the hotel is terrible, its only one floor in this huge building and inside it looks more like a one star cheap hostel but the price was very expensive for the quality and service received. We paid one hundred euros per room.
Even the renovated rooms were very dirty.
There was only one young lady per day at the reception and they were very kind and tried to be helpful but the hotel did not have any other staff. They seemed to be doing everything.
On new years day we woke up without any heating and hot water. The young lady at the reception tried to fix the problem calling the owner but could not do anything. The owner did not care.
This situation caused us to change our plans drastically that day, having to go out and look for another hotel instead of spending time enjoying the city.
Learnings on our experience is that do not trust the pictures of this hotel.

Room Tip: No good rooms at all
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Can be difficult to find, but once there the location is perfect.
Getting to the main fountain in the Old Town is easy. Once there, stand in front of the statue at the fountain. Directly behind the statue is a building with a travel shop at street level. To the left of the travel shop is an ancient doorway with a sign no bigger than an A4 paper beside it “Hotel De La Mer”
The doorway is directly under the only balcony room in the hotel.
Once through the door there is a very old tiled area leading to a concrete / worn stone staircase. Take the stairs and through the glass door labelled “Hotel.”
We arrived before check in time and were allocated the refurbished room with the balcony overlooking the fountain and square..
Bed was reasonably comfortable. Soaps and shampoo was not very effective due to the hardness of the water. Shower head was very high (over 2.1 metres) and the water jet misses the body so some careful and imaginative manipulation and placement of the shower wand is required to have a good shower.
The double glazed doors leading to the balcony totally eliminated the outside noise when closed.
Staff are very friendly. Breakfast only 7 euro was good value for money compared to other hotels.
This Hotel is in the Old City. Lots of eateries to cater for all tastes very close by. The beach is within a couple of minutes walk (two small blocks).
Wifi was free and multiple devices were catered for but on the slow side.
We can highly recommend this hotel for its location, friendliness and service.

Room Tip: Ask for the rom with the balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Vacationed in Nice for two nights in September '13, unaware that "Francophonie" was going to be staged directly in front of the hotel in Place Massena. Despite the festivities running late into the night & early mornings, we were not disturbed. It is easy to walk past the hotel entrance, because the only marking is a small placard to the right of the front doorway. Go up the stairs to the 1st level and find the front desk. We were very pleased with our room; incredibly large, very tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, and spacious & modern bathroom. The women at the front desk were very sweet & helpful, and language was not an issue. The entry and front desk doors were locked and unattended at night, so a passcode was given for exit & re-entry after hours. It is a very centrally located hotel, perfect for exploring the Nice waterfront & old town. We didn't have to walk far to catch the bus along the coastline to Monaco.

While we enjoyed the hotel very much, we found Nice to not live up to expectations from others who had visited. The weather was fantastic in early September and a great draw. The town itself we found very touristy and not terribly interesting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarve-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#37 of 204 in Nice
613 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Palais Saleya - Apartment & Suite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Villa La Tour
Hotel Villa La Tour
#127 of 204 in Nice
431 reviews
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#76 of 204 in Nice
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Mer

Address: 4 Place Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $78 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing