We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever”
Review of Hotel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de la Mer
Ranked #79 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Hotel Ever”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked for three nights over new years eve and it was a terrible experience.
The hotel is still under renovations and there is no 24 hour desk service. The entrance to the hotel is terrible, its only one floor in this huge building and inside it looks more like a one star cheap hostel but the price was very expensive for the quality and service received. We paid one hundred euros per room.
Even the renovated rooms were very dirty.
There was only one young lady per day at the reception and they were very kind and tried to be helpful but the hotel did not have any other staff. They seemed to be doing everything.
On new years day we woke up without any heating and hot water. The young lady at the reception tried to fix the problem calling the owner but could not do anything. The owner did not care.
This situation caused us to change our plans drastically that day, having to go out and look for another hotel instead of spending time enjoying the city.
Learnings on our experience is that do not trust the pictures of this hotel.

Room Tip: No good rooms at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    70
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
35
90
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Can be difficult to find, but once there the location is perfect.
Getting to the main fountain in the Old Town is easy. Once there, stand in front of the statue at the fountain. Directly behind the statue is a building with a travel shop at street level. To the left of the travel shop is an ancient doorway with a sign no bigger than an A4 paper beside it “Hotel De La Mer”
The doorway is directly under the only balcony room in the hotel.
Once through the door there is a very old tiled area leading to a concrete / worn stone staircase. Take the stairs and through the glass door labelled “Hotel.”
We arrived before check in time and were allocated the refurbished room with the balcony overlooking the fountain and square..
Bed was reasonably comfortable. Soaps and shampoo was not very effective due to the hardness of the water. Shower head was very high (over 2.1 metres) and the water jet misses the body so some careful and imaginative manipulation and placement of the shower wand is required to have a good shower.
The double glazed doors leading to the balcony totally eliminated the outside noise when closed.
Staff are very friendly. Breakfast only 7 euro was good value for money compared to other hotels.
This Hotel is in the Old City. Lots of eateries to cater for all tastes very close by. The beach is within a couple of minutes walk (two small blocks).
Wifi was free and multiple devices were catered for but on the slow side.
We can highly recommend this hotel for its location, friendliness and service.

Room Tip: Ask for the rom with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bozz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Vacationed in Nice for two nights in September '13, unaware that "Francophonie" was going to be staged directly in front of the hotel in Place Massena. Despite the festivities running late into the night & early mornings, we were not disturbed. It is easy to walk past the hotel entrance, because the only marking is a small placard to the right of the front doorway. Go up the stairs to the 1st level and find the front desk. We were very pleased with our room; incredibly large, very tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, and spacious & modern bathroom. The women at the front desk were very sweet & helpful, and language was not an issue. The entry and front desk doors were locked and unattended at night, so a passcode was given for exit & re-entry after hours. It is a very centrally located hotel, perfect for exploring the Nice waterfront & old town. We didn't have to walk far to catch the bus along the coastline to Monaco.

While we enjoyed the hotel very much, we found Nice to not live up to expectations from others who had visited. The weather was fantastic in early September and a great draw. The town itself we found very touristy and not terribly interesting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarve-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location cannot be better.
Extremely friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Old building nicely remodeled with a modern bathroom.
It is best to remember that the entrance is just behind the fountain and the little train in Place Messina as the entrance is difficult to spot.

Room Tip: One room number 8 has a balcony overlooking Place Massena
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5watermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arm yourself with a detailed map because even with the printed hotel name and address the taxi managed to drop us off at the wrong place and we had to drag our trolley bags around asking for directions until we found someone who pointed us in the right direction. Thankfully it was within walking distance - just that it was on the other end of Place Massena, nearer the Fountain of the Sun. Although there were big signs that said 'Hotel' repeatedly over the windows on the first floor ( second to some readers) there was nothing to indicate that it was the Hotel de la Mer except for an inconspicuous plaque beside a door next to a shop. If you have back problem leave your bags and take the stairway up one floor to reception and ask for help.
The hotel has 12 rooms on the one floor ( offices above and shops below) and is family run. The people at reception were friendly and even prior to that when communicating by email they were prompt and helpful.
We got a family room ( since there were three of us ) in the renovated wing ( reception and the other wing due to be renovated ) . I couldn't decide whether the two oval mirrors above the two washbasins were just ugly and stained or quaint antiques contrasting the modernity of the bathroom.
Room was comfortable enough as I had requested for family room for 4 even though we were three.
Breakfast is available but being so close to everything ( shops, cafes, etc) you can skip that option. Surprisingly quiet even though were facing the plaza!
Note that you get a code to open the front door and the reception door but you don't really need to use it when reception is manned.
Quite happy given that it was difficult finding rooms for three in the central area as other hotels were fully booked or didn't have family rooms.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

2 nights in Aug '13.

The good:

location, location, location.

Friendly staff.

The bad:

Room we had was quite rundown, and didn't feel like a 3-star standard at all.

Breakfast is a rip off - 7€ for a couple of bits of bread + condiments and a tea.

Hotel has no front fascia so is easily missed on Place Massena.

Overall: felt a bit ripped off, but Nice is an expensive place. Lovely coastal town, but expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in aug 2013. We had renowared room which was clean, bathroom was brand new , good value for the money. We got to see the standard room also, would not stayd in one! Untidy, worn out owith old bed and full floor matresses, horrible. Staff was helpfull, deff there for you, knew all about getting around nice, we got good advisess. Overall, good,, clean basic room with amazing location!:) ( renewed ones) as a intertrailer or budged traveller i would deff stay in this hotel butas a couple i would probl invest more money to hotel.

Room Tip: Take a renowated one! Difference in huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonaug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#42 of 204 in Nice
597 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Villa La Tour
Hotel Villa La Tour
#125 of 204 in Nice
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cresp
#139 of 204 in Nice
64 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#43 of 204 in Nice
775 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Mer

Property: Hotel de la Mer
Address: 4 Place Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing