We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Hotel de la Mer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Mer
Ranked #78 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Vacationed in Nice for two nights in September '13, unaware that "Francophonie" was going to be staged directly in front of the hotel in Place Massena. Despite the festivities running late into the night & early mornings, we were not disturbed. It is easy to walk past the hotel entrance, because the only marking is a small placard to the right of the front doorway. Go up the stairs to the 1st level and find the front desk. We were very pleased with our room; incredibly large, very tastefully decorated, comfortable bed, and spacious & modern bathroom. The women at the front desk were very sweet & helpful, and language was not an issue. The entry and front desk doors were locked and unattended at night, so a passcode was given for exit & re-entry after hours. It is a very centrally located hotel, perfect for exploring the Nice waterfront & old town. We didn't have to walk far to catch the bus along the coastline to Monaco.

While we enjoyed the hotel very much, we found Nice to not live up to expectations from others who had visited. The weather was fantastic in early September and a great draw. The town itself we found very touristy and not terribly interesting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarve-05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    69
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
35
87
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location cannot be better.
Extremely friendly and helpful English speaking staff. Old building nicely remodeled with a modern bathroom.
It is best to remember that the entrance is just behind the fountain and the little train in Place Messina as the entrance is difficult to spot.

Room Tip: One room number 8 has a balcony overlooking Place Massena
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5watermelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Arm yourself with a detailed map because even with the printed hotel name and address the taxi managed to drop us off at the wrong place and we had to drag our trolley bags around asking for directions until we found someone who pointed us in the right direction. Thankfully it was within walking distance - just that it was on the other end of Place Massena, nearer the Fountain of the Sun. Although there were big signs that said 'Hotel' repeatedly over the windows on the first floor ( second to some readers) there was nothing to indicate that it was the Hotel de la Mer except for an inconspicuous plaque beside a door next to a shop. If you have back problem leave your bags and take the stairway up one floor to reception and ask for help.
The hotel has 12 rooms on the one floor ( offices above and shops below) and is family run. The people at reception were friendly and even prior to that when communicating by email they were prompt and helpful.
We got a family room ( since there were three of us ) in the renovated wing ( reception and the other wing due to be renovated ) . I couldn't decide whether the two oval mirrors above the two washbasins were just ugly and stained or quaint antiques contrasting the modernity of the bathroom.
Room was comfortable enough as I had requested for family room for 4 even though we were three.
Breakfast is available but being so close to everything ( shops, cafes, etc) you can skip that option. Surprisingly quiet even though were facing the plaza!
Note that you get a code to open the front door and the reception door but you don't really need to use it when reception is manned.
Quite happy given that it was difficult finding rooms for three in the central area as other hotels were fully booked or didn't have family rooms.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

2 nights in Aug '13.

The good:

location, location, location.

Friendly staff.

The bad:

Room we had was quite rundown, and didn't feel like a 3-star standard at all.

Breakfast is a rip off - 7€ for a couple of bits of bread + condiments and a tea.

Hotel has no front fascia so is easily missed on Place Massena.

Overall: felt a bit ripped off, but Nice is an expensive place. Lovely coastal town, but expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in aug 2013. We had renowared room which was clean, bathroom was brand new , good value for the money. We got to see the standard room also, would not stayd in one! Untidy, worn out owith old bed and full floor matresses, horrible. Staff was helpfull, deff there for you, knew all about getting around nice, we got good advisess. Overall, good,, clean basic room with amazing location!:) ( renewed ones) as a intertrailer or budged traveller i would deff stay in this hotel butas a couple i would probl invest more money to hotel.

Room Tip: Take a renowated one! Difference in huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonaug2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked this hotel having read other reviews on Trip Advisor, and stayed for 3 nights late July. Reassuringly pretty much everything was borne out in reality, and our expectations were fully met. We had a 3/4 bed room overlooking the rear of the hotel. It was roomy and recently renovated. The compromise was that it offered peace and quiet in the evening / night (compared to rooms at the front) but you had to put up with a view of the car park from the window. If you spend a lot of time on holiday looking out of the bedroom window, that might be a disappointment, but if like us you spend far more time out than in, then it's no big deal. The hotel is really sell situated. Easy five - ten minute walks radiate out in different directions to the old town, main shopping areas and the beach / Promenade des Anglais. If you don't fancy the hotel breakfast, there are plenty of alternatives just around the corner. The hotel reception and all the rooms are all on the first floor in the building and there is no lift available. The staff are very friendly and helpful though, so if your bags represent a hernia risk !, then I'm sure they'd help out. Overall I'd fully recommend it if you're thinking of having a break in Nice and are looking for a good value for money option in a central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Firstly, the location is fantastic - So close to the thriving Old Town and 5 minute walk to the Promendade des Anglais! When we first arrived outside the hotel, we thought we had booked a dingy room on the first floor block of apartments, however we were warmly welcomed by the staff who are so welcoming and helpful - a major selling point of the hotel. The hotel was basic but served its purpose and as we had a room with a balcony, it was great to sit on the balcony, watching the world go by!
Breakfast was 7 euros and we had this twice during our 5 day stay - lovely continental breakfast with a range of baguettes and croissants etc.
I would stay here again and I would certainly recommend it to fellow holidaymakers!

Room Tip: Ask for room 8 - Has a balcony and facing the fascinating hustle and bustle of Place Massena
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Albert 1er
#43 of 205 in Nice
585 reviews
Hotel Cresp
#132 of 205 in Nice
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
402 reviews
Centre
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Hotel Lafayette Nice
#74 of 205 in Nice
255 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 205 in Nice
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Mer

Property: Hotel de la Mer
Address: 4 Place Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Old Town / Vieux Nice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Mer 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de la Mer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing