We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good that we were upgraded”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #19 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 8, 2014

First, we were given 2 tiny rooms. One had the sink in the bedroom and the shower and toilet were tightly together next to each other. We had to put our luggage on the rack in the middle of the room next to the bed. When I couldn't adjust the temperature of the aircon, she said that it was switched off during winter. When the guy tried to adjust the heater in the wardrobe, he found the knob missing so we were upgraded to a bigger room. That room had a long bath with a sink inside the bathroom instead of in the bedroom proper. The other room for my girls, had an altar and soft toys inside a chamber in the wall. We did not like the wall pictures in both rooms. So she also upgraded the second room to a bigger one but it had a tiny door and it was next to the elevator. The kettle and cups we requested were promptly sent to our rooms. The service was prompt, friendly and helpful. The heater in the first upgraded room was not very effective so I felt cold. There was no comforter, only a thin blanket. The TV was small and there were only 2 english channels, BBC world and CNN. Town center was 10 min walk away. The lady was not so happy when she gave us the upgraded rooms which we did not ask for in the first instance. The wifi was fine in our rooms. We had a dinner in the hotel when it rained quite a bit outside. Only 1 guy was serving so the service was slow. They charged the set we ordered with the cheapest main course so the more expensive main courses, not in a set, meant a higher cost to us.

Room Tip: Be prepared for really tiny rooms if you are not willing to pay a more. Their website shows only a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,

We are glad that you appreciate the service of our hotel. Be sure, we do our best to satisfy all customers as much as we can. Indeed Air conditionner doesn't work in winter. This is mostly the case in France.

Thank you anyway for the good rating of our hotel,

Best regards,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed in the hotel 4 nights and I reserved 4 months in advance making it clear what I was expecting. I arrived to get a room with the wall adjacent to the stairs and close to the elevator. All night, you can hear the constant and consistent noise of air conditioners. The room was tiny, I was ok with that because I spent all day and evening outside Some staff members were rude and unprofessional. Who cares about the garden and the breakfast in the garden, I don't sleep in the garden nor do I enjoy a quiet time in this "popular" Asian feel and look garden. Nice is so beautiful that this tiny, musty garden does not stand a chance. The wireless does not work at all, no network reception in the first floor!!!! I did not eat in the hotel restaurant, do I cannot comment. But Nice is full a great restaurants. Overall I enjoyed my stay in the city of Nice, but at the hotel, I will never go back.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
3  Thank Rash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear customer,

It seems you were not lucky with the WIFI as it works usually very well. The new one works since July 2012 and everybody is very happy with it.

Cencerning the airconditionner, you can adapt the power, we never had this comment before, but we will check to see if there is a specific problem in the room you had.

It's a shame that you don't like the garden as it is a very good point of the hotel.

We hope you will find a place more adapted to your needs,

Best regards,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Windsor with my family over New Year. The room was very spacious and clean, the breakfast a bit pricey but very good. The Hotel is located in a great location, 10 min. away from old Nice and the main shops, and 10 min. away from the Promenade des Anglais and the beach. The service was excellent, especially Madame Isabelle who provided great tips on restaurant and transports. We enjoyed our stay and will probably go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your nice comment. Indeed, we do our best to satisfy our customers.

We will be happy to welcome you in our hotel,

Best regards,

Odile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We enjoyed our room immensely. Entitled Le cerf et la licorne, the deer and the unicorn, the wall painting was lovely, and made the room feel much much larger. Nice view of the garden, restaurant good but not great, service was fine.
Just a short walk from the hotel to the beach area and the promenade.
We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a look if you can at the decor of the room -- some are quite garish, and would be hard to relax...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is an arty boutique hotel - each room is designed differently - it could be a Moroccoan theme room, or a hip modern room. The hotel lobby looks more like an art gallery and is interesting.

Location is not too bad. If you drive, there is metre-parking along the road, but fee from 8pm-7am. There is a mini-mart nearby, and a number of restaurants too. The beach is a 10 minute walk away, as is the old town centre.

The room and toilet are clean. But the room is quite small, as is the toilet. The staff are quite friendly and speaks English. I did not try their breakfast so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a really quirky and interesting little hotel, a short walk from the city centre and not too much to look at from the outside. Inside it is just fabulous, combining a comfortable and friendly hotel with so much art and astonishing furnishings.
Our room overlooking the garden and with a little balcony was huge, well furnished and absolutely spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: If you can get a room overlooking the garden - with a little balcony - it's well worth paying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57variety186387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Good location, high speed free wifi, different design in good condition, helpful staff, beautiful garden, good and clean bathroom, I have good time in this hotel and recommend to other.
The location us good for use public transportation "bus" to go to monaco, air port and train station.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Naser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#37 of 203 in Nice
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $101 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 31 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing