We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #23 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

A nice clean bright room facing the road calm and quiet ,air conditioning flat screen tv new towels and nice complimentary shampoos the staff are helpful and pleasant the hotel is not far from central promenade with nice local small restaurants and small quaint shops

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrewcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    441
    124
    34
    19
See reviews for
103
520
58
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ilchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

It was the reviews and location that persuaded me to book this hotel and I'm glad I did.

The front of house staff were excellent, really helpful with superb English which always helps language biffs like me. They gave great local information and were very knowledgable about local events, prices etc.

I was a little disappointed when we got to our room though, after reading about all the interesting arty features in the rooms, room 122 is pretty dull! (No offence intended to the artist, it's just a cold fact...). There was just a long, thin, colourful stretch of canvas across 2 walls, and it was pretty old and shabby! Still, the rest of the room was good, a few tired corners here and there with scuff marks and wood chips, but it's certainly not bad enough to let down its 3* status.

The bathroom was nice, big windows and everything in working order so no issues there.

Breakfast was great, all you can eat meat, cheese, pastries, fruits etc along with free flowing tea and coffee in their lovely little garden. The garden is a beautiful little oasis in the middle of Nice, I'm sure it's worth a penny or two in prime real estate in a good area of town! We didn't try the little pool, but it was cleaned and the surrounding area brushed daily.

So, a great little hotel, slightly high priced for what it is, but it's in Nice and everything is expensive. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We recently stayed for 1 night at Hotel Windsor. We were so glad that when we arrived a little early our room was ready and we were able to check in right away. We had reserved a parking spot (the hotel has a few) and this was great.

The location of the hotel is great. You are steps away from the Promenade des Anglais and about a 15 minute walk to old Nice.

Our room had everything we needed. There is a mini fridge in the room and a safe which was nice. The bathroom was quite small but the shower was great (rain shower) with good water pressure.

We did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment on this part. There is a little bakery right around the corner which is a good option for Breakfast if you want something quick and not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days before we went onto Monaco for the Grand Prix. Our room faced the side + was quiet. no problem with noise from next door either. Our room and bathroom was small but was fine. Location was fine - 10 minutes to the train station and the same to the main shopping area and resturaunts. Only 5 minutes to the Promonade.

My only complaint was that the jacuzzi is no longer there, Apparently we had to pay for the gym which we thought was free. We didn't use it, after bringing my stuff over!!

But if staying in Nice, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joviscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
odilepayen, General Manager at Hotel Windsor Nice, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Teresa,

We are glad that you appreciated our hotel and we will be very happy to see you again next time you come in Nice.

Concerning the Jacuzzi, we have a whrilpool bath on the 5th floor which is suggested on the treatments menu. We also have whirlpool bath in some Privilege rooms which is a good choice to get one. The steam bath and the sauna are available on request for 15€ the session for two (30 minutes minimum, depending on availability...). It's better to book in order to warm it previously.

The Gym area (Zen space) is totally free for our customers, available all day, no need to book at all.

Awaiting the pleasure to see you again,

Odile Payen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this great boutique hotel. Room was clean, bright and funky in design. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous.

Pool was a bit chilly - sea was warmer! Great just to lounge and recharge out in the garden before heading out again in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipstery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is located in city centre, and in walking distance to most attractions. Promenade des Ingles is 4 mins away. Was upgraded for free, to a bigger room (no. 362). Corner room towards the street. Good service. The room had an entre with safe and mini-bar incl. closet. bedroom with connection to bathroom. French balcony. The hotel and rooms have art and design inspired features, really a treat. The rooms are old, but well taken care of and have air-condition. Small Tv and should have had more english speaking channels. Funky bath (red tiles).

The only negative part is that you may experience some noise from the other rooms. I guess The next door room had the bathroom wall in wall with my room, I heard the shower and some people talking.

A small retreat and gym area on the loft. The garden outside is an oasis with a lot of different vegitations. Breakfast and dinner is served here when the weather allows it. The swimming pool is small and there was a lot of dust and grains from the trees in it. If your looking to sun bah here, you wont get much sun cause of all the vegitations. Pop down to the beach.

By comparing the many hotels, prices and various amenties, this is absolutely something to consider when visiting Nice.
Well worth it - Will come back another time.

Hot tip! if you should visit the old town (your gonna do it eventually), you will encounter a market with differents stalls, do some great shopping therre. Anyways there are a lot of restaurants with bouncers offering free champagne or beer for you to choose their spot. However these have, based on own experience, poor food and service. Go further down the street and listen to the conversations of people. Go at the end, when you hear mostly french speaking restaurant guest.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank amaze79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful for the price point. The elevator plays an audio track of a shuttle launch (i.e. 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...lift off!) while in operation. Each room is designed by a real artist. We were lucky to have the room by Ben. This room was spacious and comfortable. While there were scribbles of French poetry on every inch of the room about dreams, it added charm to our stay. The staff was very helpful and the location is not too far from the beach and the Promenade de Anglais. Would stay here again for next stay. Thanks for hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinhNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Property: Hotel Windsor Nice
Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nice
#9 Green Hotel in Nice
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 30 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing