We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice artsy atmosphere and great outdoor garden with pool”
Review of Hotel Windsor Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Windsor Nice
Ranked #20 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is well located in the center of Nice (walking distance of the sea side, the old town and the shopping areas). The outdoor patio is simply superb and a perfect place to eat breakfast or have a drink. By the way, the breakfast is quite good. There is a beautiful pool and the patio is rather quiet even though the hotel is right downtown. The service was very good all along and the room was comfortable (although the air conditioning use was quite complex). The service could have been a little bit friendlier at times but the service was very good.

Overall, I really like the hotel and I will certainly go back there. By the way, the price was quite reasonable (given the location & good quality).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

It's a pity that such a beautiful building has had such a terrible renovation. The ultramodern aspirations of the architect do not blend at all with the original. Pity. Other than that, an ok hotel, albeit overpriced, even for the busy Cannes festival period.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I use to stay in Nice one or twice a year and usually stay in another hotel.
This hotel was recommended by a friend.
Nice concept done by different artist. Funny wardrobe room 63! :-)
Simple breakfast but everything fresh and tasty.
The negative point is that there os not enough parking places.. Only for 6 cars.
But Will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel Windsor was a nice place to stay. It was very convenient to most of the sights in Nice, and was clean and well decorated. We enjoyed the art work in the lobby and the interesting rooms. The rooms were small and the bathroom very cramped and we were facing the main street, which was noisy. If you can, reserve a room overlooking the garden. We were not aware that we had to reserve parking and had to park in a garage several blocks away from the hotel, which was inconvenient. In general, however, we had a positive experience at this hotel and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyanna48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Windsor Hotel. My room overlooked the garden and had French windows which opened onto a tiny balcony. The room was subtly lit, which meant I did have to do my make up in the bathroom, but it added a nice sense of romance to the room which was decorated with dark wood furniture and a rattan table and chairs. The staff were very nice, I was travelling alone and they made me feel welcome. I ate in the restaurant once for dinner and that was lovely, very nice food in a small dining room with a roaring fire. Location wise it is only a block or so up from the seafront, a ten minute walk from the old town and the shops so very handy. It is also around the corner from the English speaking cinema. I was driving and booked one of the three parking spaces. These are small, no 4x4 will fit in there if all three are taken. Also, you do have to wait on the road, run in and ask for the garage to opened each time you arrive, but it is safe and you do feel comfortable leaving the car.

Room Tip: I did not see the other rooms, but one overlooking the garden is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingbluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed in a Infinity room for 5 nights. The room is quite small, in particular the bathroom , larger rooms are available at higher prices but overall fair value for money.
Staff were friendly and the location is very conveniently situated, between the railway station and promenade and a 10 minute stroll to the old town where we ate most of the time. There is a 6 Euro continental breakfast available which was good value and saved the hassle of going out for breakfast everyday, also had dinner once at the hotel and the food was excellent.
All in all a very quant, artistic and well located hotel, would definitely recommend for private trips.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank gt1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A 5 night stay at the end of April. Great, but fairly quiet, location a short walk from the Promenade des Anglais and a good choice of restaurants and cafes (for a breakfast half the price of what you'll pay in the hotel itself) nearby, with the Old Town within easy striking distance. Our room on the garden side of the hotel was on the first floor and a reasonable size. Plug in the bathroom sink didn't fit. Slept well, though if you are susceptible to noise you might wish to consider investing in some ear plugs because the walls between rooms are rather thin (you can hear everything that is said by your neighbours!) Staff were friendly and willing to help with general touristy questions. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden side room rather than one that faces the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#37 of 203 in Nice
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
633 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
841 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor Nice

Address: 11 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nice
#8 Green Hotel in Nice
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#36 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $100 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Windsor Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in Nice Center, tropical garden, little swimming pool. 31 Artist rooms and 25 with frescoes. Restaurant in the garden, among bambous and bougainvilliers. Wi Lounge in winter with fire place. Temporary exhibitions in the Lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Windsor Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing