We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful small friendly hotel on a hill overlooking the city.Great city hotel with warm welcoming staff, making you feel at home from arrival. Just spent 4 nights for a congress (Acropolis Center 10min walk away) and would definitely return for a future stay in Nice.
The staff is very helpful with great restaurant suggestions etc. Very few parking spaces so book in advance.
Beautiful terrace off the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 693 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

I booked this hotel due to its elevated position overlooking nice and good reviews. I do like its views of nice and its not too far away from the town the staff seem friendly and everywhere is nice and clean . The only thing that lets it down slightly for me is the crazy price of 16 euro per person for breakfast which kind of ruins it's appeal because you then do your own thing and go in search of breakfast yourself and this means you feel like you have not interacted with the hotel at all and have a room only and also being a fair distance to town means once your out you don't want to return because of the hill the hotel is on so I would stay somewhere more central if I had my choice again. if arriving by bus from the airport get a free map of nice from the tourist info at the airport then get bus 98 to central nice then get the bus 15 or 22 direction cimiez beside galleries Lafayette get off at the stop Chagall museum go down 2 streets and take avenue Emile bieckert and walk straight about 5 mins uphill on your left .

Room Tip: Away from reception so you dont hear any noise with a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveDerbyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Hotel du Petit Palais , and we enjoyed it as much as during our previous visit some years ago. Location is perfect at the top of Cimiez , a quiet and beautiful area in Nice ,very cosy and clean rooms with awsome views of the city. I noticed that some people complained about the thin walls and noise from the other rooms, but it did not bother us at all during our stay.
The staff is excelent , all very friendly and helpful , Carole gave us some great tips for restaurants in the area ( you should try the "111", just a 10 minute walk down the hill , run by 3 brothers : the food was very good and the prices very reasonable too ).
We had breakfast at the hotel during the 6 days we stayed there and enjoyed it : plenty of tasty stuff to choose from each day & the price was very reasonable for what you get .
The weather could have been a bit better during our stay , I would have loved to have breakfast outdoors , as they have a beauftiful outdoors area next to the restaurant , but it was both too cold and too much rain to enjoy that .
Our room on the first floor was very cosy and confortable, it had an excelent bed , amazing views and a nice bathroom. Since we both are smokers, we had to go outside whenever we wanted to smoke , but for our next stay i will choose a room on the ground floor facing the garden , it makes it much more easy to enjoy it.
Some people complain about the parking in the area close to the hotel , but we did not have any problems ( twice when it was a bit tight to get a spot , we managed to park our car at the hotel's parking area with the help from the helpful and friendly staff )
I noticed that they are building a small swimming pool , it should be ready in a couple of months , it will make the hotel even better .
They had a problem with their internet provider during our stay , so there was no wireless while we were there.

I can only recommend the Hotel du Petit Palais , and we are already looking forward to come back !

Room Tip: If you are a smoker , choose a room on the ground floor facing the garden. Rooms on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatDaneDanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay at Petit Palace - we upgraded before arriving and paid for a sea view room - worth it the view towards the coast is lovely. Quality of the bed and furniture is good and bathroom nice.

The staff could not have given us a warmer welcome - absolutely superb!! My husband and I both said it was the friendliest welcome we'd ever received anywhere - very unexpected to find this in France!!! As well as telling us about the local area and introducing us to our room they also recommended and booked a lovely local restaurant "Le 111" - just a ten minute walk from the hotel and we could not fault the food! We even saw one of the receptionists eating there which was good to see!

Location of the hotel was not a problem for us as we went out early in the morning and didn't come back until late evening - it's not that much of a hill but there are a number of stairs. Ten minutes and you'll be at Place Garibaldi. If you're staying for longer than a few days you might get fed up of not being right in the centre but for us it was a great safe, quiet location.

As other reviews have said the only negative is the breakfast is 16 euros per person - this was too expensive for us and we grabbed croissants from a patisserie near the Acropolis. Also the walls are quite thin but the hotel was quite quiet when we visited so it wasn't too much of a problem.

I'd definitely recommend the Petit Palais and would come back to stay again!

Room Tip: We thought the upgraded sea view room was really worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightyearz_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

the hotel is nice and full of charm located in a quite area of the city, it is a great choice for those who prefer quite and small hotels on the huge charmless chains hotels.
the rooms are big and spotless, and the service is friendly. The only qownside is the a bit overpriced breakfast (16 euros). overall. great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've just spent 6 nights at this hotel. Very pleasant in every respect except for the lack of soundproofing in the rooms. The other guests were not especially noisy but we were able to hear their conversations and TVs through the thin walls which made getting to sleep difficult. The staff were extremely helpful but it's not ideal having to ask for quiet (especially since the other guests were chatting or watching TV at normal levels). This is our reason for giving this hotel an 'Average' rating.

However, if you are not particularly sensitive to noise, we would recommend this hotel for its lovely setting (quiet, residential neighbourhood but only a short walk down the hill to the town centre); for the fabulous view over Nice; for the very welcoming and helpful staff; for the clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms; for the good breakfasts (especially the hot chocolate and excellent, fresh, crusty bread).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Nice. Note comments above about internal noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We got the name of this hotel from an in-law who travels frequently to Nice.
The cab driver didn't know how to get there but once you find it, it is worth it.
It is a small hotel. The staff was very nice. On one review there is a comment of no english. I didn't find this. They were very pleasant in both french and english. helpful about where to go.
It is very close to the Marc Chagall museum. It is a 20 minute walk to the central train station ( a good way to get to monaco for 4 euro).
to get down to the main part of old city, you walk down a hill. Might be an issue if you are debilitated, but if you are active, it is a pleasant walk.
reasonably priced, comfortable beds. nice bathroom.
i'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stanf96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,257 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 203 in Nice
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Address: 17 avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $129 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing