We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a really nice hotel if you are a forgivable person”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Petit Palais
Ranked #1 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a really nice hotel if you are a forgivable person”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel, i must say, is really beautiful. Clean and quiet, good breakfast. BUT there are quite a lot of BUTs to the stay.
First of all, we ordered a seaview room, but were said that the air-conditioning of our room doesn't work, so they will have to put us to a room on the ground floor, but with a private garden. Of course, as it later turned out (the hotel is small and all the guests are friendly to each other), our room was actually occupied by an influencial person, who wanted to stay precisely in that room... and of course, our room did not have a private garden, but a table in the main dining garden with 4 outer air-conditioning humming to our backs. But we did not get ourselves disturbed and used the whole main garden (which was actally closed to most guests most of the time) as our private garden and took our blankets and laptops there and drank our own wine there. Well, I guess that was the price they had to pay.
The reception lady was AWFULLY rude. Not just "French rude". She didn't speak English, just a few words (we used Google translate to tell her things) and when our outer air-conditioning made a really disturbing noise that could not even be silenced by a sleeping pill and two pillows she just shrugged and called it Casper (the friendly ghost) who has got stuck in there and just went away. Again, we just pushed the air-conditioning to its side and the sound stopped. But there was NO HELP from the staff. Total carelessness.
Oh, and the cold-shoulder we received on the day of check-out, like we hadn't even been customers was also quite off putting. Although, yes, they were very busy with an Americal lady there, who also wanted to check out, but couldn't because thet had double-charged her (first Expedia and then they wanted to take the money for the second time). She spent the whole morning there, arguing with them. And I am 100% sure that she was not happy about it.
So, the hotel itself is really nice. I am sure the view from the sea-view room would have been increadible, but our "private garden" was quite good as well (although I would have been furious if they had put us to ANY OTHER ROOM). And if you take absolutely no notice of the staff there, then your stay is really nice. Oh, and although the hotel is up the hill I considered it a plus, as the area is REALLY QUIET. But if we would have stayed there in July and the weather was 38 degrees, then maybe I wouldn't be so optimistic. We visited in September. Oh, and taxi is HORRIBLY expensive. Don't trust what the staff say about 10 EUR from city to the hotel. It is 20 EUR minimum, even if the drive is just 2 km's. hahahaa
My suggesion to the hotel: hire friendly people to this exceptional hotel and my rating next time will be 5, really!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank stiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    169
    23
    14
    11
See reviews for
96
339
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blessington, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent throughout from the moment you step into the Hotel entrance, till the moment we left. We were met on arrival with a big reassuring smile by Philip at reception who was lloking forward to our arrival and he also offered us much help during our two day stay. The previous two reviews aptly say it all. The staff are a credit to their industry. Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siobhan_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. Short walk to Place Garibaldi, transportation, restaurants, etc. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location with beautiful views. Lovely garden. Charming room with all amenities. We were treated like family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaliBehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Just a gem. Welcomed on arrival and most helpful. Lovely room and shower. The breakfast was just perfect in the garden. Short walk down hill to town, harder walk on the way home.
Could not recommend this hotel enough

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank guy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel makes a point in offering world class service very informally - which I like. Patrick is one of the owners and he sets the tone with the beautifully chosen furnishings & the quality of staff who are informative, multi-lingual, cultured and so helpful! Breakfast is served on the terrace which for me which a daily delight and the fab selection of teas was also a plus. There is a charge of €16 which is ok as the selection is good. The rooms are average in size but very functional and stylishly put together. Some rooms on the upper floors have fab views of the city; others on the ground floor to the garden. I got in on a special offer and was upgraded FOC. The price range for the rooms is fairly average for Nice. The hotel has 25 rooms and is set in an upmarket residential area that is quite & peaceful - its worth the 15 mins walk to the old town! Hard to belive the hotel is only 3 star - there are plans to build a swimming pool next year - so this rating might change - but they are mentioned in the 2012 guide. Little extras like coffee and water with lemon daily in the dinning area, wifi throughout or you can use the hotels PC FOC. Highly recommended! I will visit again and next time with my boyfriend :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterflykissesfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The warm and friendly welcome we received when we arrived at the hotel set the tone for our stay. The room was delightful with a wonderful view and it was a 10 to 15 minute walk to the old town centre. It was a lovely quiet location and breakfast in the garden in the morning was a real treat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcgh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just spent 4 days at the Le Petit Palais and had a great time. Cannot recommend this hotel enough, the staff are so helpful and very pleasant. Buffet breakfast thought a bit expensive at €16 each but was good quality and nice to eat outside in the garden, we had the express breakfast twice with was €5 each for coffee and croissants which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had a garden room which was excellent. The hotel is in a lovely area of nice and is about 20mins walk from the old town, but seems longer on the way back as it is all uphill but would not put us off going to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are quite adequate everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 204 in Nice
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Petit Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Petit Palais

Property: Hotel du Petit Palais
Address: 17 avenue Bieckert, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#3 Business Hotel in Nice
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#3 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Petit Palais 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel du Petit Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Petit Palais Nice
Nice Le Petit Palais
Nice Hotel Le Petit Palais
Le Petit Palais
Du Petit Palais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing