We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay with charming hosts”
Review of Vista Azzurra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Azzurra
Ranked #1 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Perfect stay with charming hosts”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Cathy, Michel and their family went out of their way to make us feel at home during our stay with them. With only two guest rooms and such kind hosts we felt more like houseguests than customers.

We stayed in the Costa Azzurra room which has an unusual layout – a large bathroom with a spacious bedroom above which is reached by a spiral staircase and has a window looking down onto an internal room filled with books, DVDs etc. We found the bedroom room very comfortable and very quiet – perfect for a good nights sleep.

For us the best things about our stay were the lovely breakfasts which Cathy served while chatting with us about our plans for the day. We also enjoyed using the outside kitchen to prepare food which we ate by the pool on warm evenings, looking out over the city below us.

As others have mentioned, the house is on a steep hill. A convenient bus services runs until 8.00pm but if you are staying out later than that it is a long climb up back up the steps so we tended to eat early in the city, on our way back from our days excursion. We also brought food back with us to eat in garden and Cathy was kind enough to order a take-away food delivery for us, and even served us with coffee to finish our meal. This kind of attention made our stay the perfect B&B experience.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Cathy and Michel, who are perfect hosts. We would highly recommend Vista Azzurra as a relaxing base for exploring Nice and the beautiful area along the Côte d'Azur.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, nc
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Vista Azzurra during a recent 12 day trip across France and Italy. I echo all the great things said about Vista Azzurra. It's hard to imagine a better place. Kathy and her husband are so gracious and kind. The house is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the larger suite with a view, which was actually a private floor with sitting room, bed room and HUGE bathroom. The view was amazing. My only regret is that we couldn't spend longer or make this an annual trip.

My advice:
-book early (the longer this secret is out, the more people will want to stay here!!)
-Ask Kathy for suggestions for dinner (she gave us great suggestions for dinner which happened to be one of our favorite meals in Europe)
-We didn't check out the other room but sight unseen, I'd book the larger suite in a heartbeat.

Enough good things can't be said about this place. Kathy is one of the sweetest, most helpful and welcoming hosts. Also, be sure to spend some time petting Sushi - the most gentle and kind dog in France!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at Vista Azzurra, with Cathy and Michele, for 2 weeks, and had a wonderful time. We were in the suite on the 1st floor, with a lovely, light bedroom and balcony, a second room with a settee, large wardrobes and a further balcony, plus a large, very well fitted bathroom. The views from the suite are amazing, across all of Nice and out to sea. The outside terrace with chairs in the sun or shade, pool room with refrigerator etc, table to eat at, swimming pool, sun loungers etc is like having your own villa, and the views from here across Nice and the coast line are equally impressive. Cathy and Michele are superb hosts, extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Cathy's breakfasts are lovely, with cereals, fresh baguettes, homemade orange marmalade, eggs to order, home baked cake, plus items such as croissants, cheese, ham, yoghourts, fruit, fruit juice, coffee and a range of teas. The B&B is spotless from top to bottom, beautifully decorated and you are made to feel welcome at all times. My husband spent a happy evening watching the Grand Prix on TV with Michele, sharing drinks and home made food. Cathy is happy to help with information on the local area, buses, booking taxis etc and remembers little things about what you eat and like from day to day. The B&B is approx a 35 minute walk, or short local bus (friendly 10 seater) down the hill and then a tram ride away from the Promenade D'Anglais. We mixed walking on some days with bus / tram on others and didn't find it a problem. in fact, the bus and tram services around Nice and to places such as Monaco, Eze, St Paul de Vence, Menton etc were excellent value with, for example, the bus trip to Monaco costing only Euro 1. The train station, in the centre of Nice, is also easily accessible and trains to Cannes, Monaco, Menton etc good value and frequent. Yes, it is a steep climb up to the B&B if you miss the last local bus, from the foot of the hill, at 8pm, but we found we enjoyed having a day out with a long lunch and then took some food back to eat at the B&B in the evening, on the terrace or balcony, with the amazing views. We highly recommend everything about Vista Azzurra. Our only concern is will we be able to get another booking as its reputation and ratings continue to grow!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the most beautiful and warmest b&b we have ever stayed in.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home.
Cathy and Michal are wonderful hosts.

This is a beautiful house with a splendid view.

Thanks for the days we stayed there.
Cheryl and Dror

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dror B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a fab weekend in Nice/Monaco for the Grand Prix and had the privilege of staying in this wonderful villa. Cathy and Michele are great hosts, they make you feel very welcome but at the same time don't invade your privacy. Their home is lovely and is perfect for staying in Nice as it offers the best of both worlds, a tranquil place to stay if you just want to lounge about or a base for visiting Nice and the surrounding areas. The accomodation is spotless, we could not fault it one bit. Yes the steps down in to Nice are steep, going down is fine....going up can be hard work but we walked them everyday and by the end of our stay, we found it a lot easier. We will definately be back to visit Cathy and Michele....we had the perfect break here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zola1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived and Vista Azzura we were taken back to how spectacular it was. Cathy met us at the front gate and let us to the garden area where she offered us a beer and we had a chat. She then introduced us to Michael and then showed us around their fantastic home. The rooms are extremely spacious and clean with spectacular views over Nice.

Once we were ready, we sat by the bool and Cathy even joined us for a glass of Rose and a chat. In the morning we had breakfast which was continental and a good selection of food, Cathy made us eggs and had a sing in the kitchen which was nice. Every morning she and Michel had a chat with us and were really interested in our day. She always offered us sound advice giving us the nicest places to visit and also the best restaurants to eat at.

I cant express how nice it was here, what made it really special that my boyfriend proposed to me.

Cathy and Michel were very pleased for us and even got us champagne, this is a very special place with very special people.

This is the one place that I can guarantee to be visiting again and I really cant wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
466 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Do you dream of a villa in the south of France say Nice? Than the Vista Azzurra is the b b for you ! It is small two rooms but th rooms a suites and are some lovely. Now on to the beautiful way in with Cathy and Michael have decorated the B&B , WOW! I do not say this lightly is is a villa the stone marble work is wonderful the pool is over looking the Mediterranean 3 outdoor eating areas do I need to go on ? Book your stay they are the best, o di I mention the lovely breakfast everyday flesh friuit gourmet bakery your eggs cooked to order wow !
Thank you Cathy and Michael you are wonderful host mike and Cindy

Room Tip: Great spot ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel Rossetti
Hotel Rossetti
#6 of 45 in Nice
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Azzurra

Property: Vista Azzurra
Address: 80 boulevard Mantega Righi, 06100 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characteristic Nicoise Villa, completely renovated in 2010, comfort and decorated with taste. Situated in a quiet environment, with a panoramic view of the sea and city of Nice. In the garden you find lovely fruit trees and a swimming pool, 5x10m. The pool is illuminated in the evening. Therefore it is possible to take a swim in the evening before sunset. Free WIFI in the whole House.Gourmet Breakfast is served on the pool house or on the terrace.The 2 rooms are both with a private bath room and AC. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing