We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Vacation at Vista Azzurra - Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vista Azzurra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vista Azzurra
Ranked #1 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Easter Vacation at Vista Azzurra - Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 glorious nights at Vista Azzurra over the Easter Holiday 2013. As is my new style of review here are my comments:

1. We had the Chamber Room - the large one on the second floor. It was more of a suite than a room. It was divided into a very large bathroom with shower and huge tub, a sitting room and a large bedroom. The view from the sitting room or the bedroom was exceptional - you had a panoramic view of Nice, the sea and the famous beach. The room was very clean, modern and well appointed. It was very quiet at night and we loved to sleep with the curtain open and see the beautiful ocean and lights in the background.

2. Cathy and Michele are expectional hosts. They go out of their way to welcome you into their home. Make sure to meet their lovely dog - Sushi. Each morning Cathy would prepare a lovely breakfast - we like to eat continental so we would have a croissant, fresh orange juice from their orange trees, her home orange marmalade is to die for, fruit, yogurt and great coffee. She even made us a wonderful lemon tart. We often had nice discussions with Cathy and Michele.
As soon as we arrived on our first day Michele offered us a drink immediately - albeit we settled for water as we had a long trip and felt wine or a liquer would be too much.

3. While the home is up on a hill - you need to accept there are a few steps to climb to get there (although there is a bus that also services the home - but last trip is at 8 pm) we felt that the B & B is ideally located. It would take us by foot - 15 minutes to get to the tram every morning and from the tram you can get to almost anywhere you want. For example you can get to the major train station in a half hour easily - down the hill and take the tram for two stops. We actually found that after having a great meal in Nice that the short walk back to the B & B very enjoyable and we did it a couple of nights in the rain and still loved it. By the way we are close to 60 years old so for anyone younger it should be a cake walk.

4. On our last day as we were transferring to a hotel as we wanted to be close to the airport as we had a very early flight the following day - Michele drove us to our hotel. As we left we felt we were saying good bye to old friends.

In conclusion - if you want to meet two wonderful hosts - Cathy and Michele, you want a beautiful clean and spacious suite, a great view, a great breakfast, and a welcoming B & B - we highly recommend Vista Azzurra.

They also have a pool and wonderful yard but we did not take advantage of it.

To Cathy and Michele we say Merci and Grazie.
Until we see you again.

Room Tip: Pick the large upstairs room if possible - although I am sure all the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
125
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was really an excellent experience to stay in this lovely house. Cathy and Michael are farely nice people, house is in good condition and beautiful, view is brilliant, breakfast is delicious, etc. We spend 3 days here and we all think this is a wonderful holiday for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My family of five (three adults and two children ages 7 and 10) absolutely love Cathy and Michel's Vista Azzurra. The B&B is in a perfect location with epic views and you might get lucky in the early morning sunrise and spot Corsica out on the horizon. Our rooms open up to the Mediterranean sunrise every morning and Cathy makes delicious and ample breakfast, giving us a nice kick start for the day. After a long day of exciting and fun Nice adventure, Bella Vista Suite greets us with an enormous bubble bath. Vista Azzurra also has a beautiful yard with fruit trees and a swimming pool. It's too bad we visited during the winter, as I am sure we would've loved to go for a swim and soak in the sun in the summer months. Cathy and Michel are excellent hosts, heart-warming, and welcoming. We will definitely be back, hopefully in the summer so we can enjoy more of this wonderful B&B! Thank you so much for your hospitality Cathy and Michel and hope to see you soon.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with kids, book the Bella Vista. I guarantee the whole family will have a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tess_Horn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Vista Azzura is perfect in every way - your friendly and generous hosts Cathy and Michel, the stunning views, the spacious and clean accommodation, the amazing location. We spent 4 weeks in France and this was definitely the highlight of our trip. It's better than home and the breakfast was sensational. We can't wait to go back and experience Cathy and Michel's hospitality all over again. Tracey and Damir

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in May this year with my wife and I have to say that all the wonderful reviews on here are accurate. The property is amazing, the Bella vista suite was huge and modern and the hosts Cathy and Michel were wonderful hosts - really genuine people.

When we visited the pool was not in use so we will definitely return to take advantage of it next year. It's the sort of place that you don't want to write too great a review for fear you won't be able to book a room next time!! Trust me, this place is good.

Only slight pain is that you can't walk all the way back to the property as it is high up on a hill. And taxis are expensive. Don't let this put you off tho.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rorski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I spent a wonderful 5 nights in September at Vista Azzurra, a true highlight of our trip to Europe. We stayed in the Bella Vista suite on the top floor which was absolutely superb, topped off with stunning views of the city of Nice and the Mediteranean Sea. More importantly though were our hosts Cathy and Michele. Two of the lovliest people who shared their beautiful home with us - it really felt like a home away from home. Cathy's breakfast on the terrace was a lovely start to the day, and a dip in the pool or a drink (or several) was an even nicer way to end the day. Cathy also provided alot of information of places to visit, train and bus information and the best local restaurants.

Cathy and Michele, there is nothing like your B&B anywhere, you have something extremely special. We have the most wonderful memories of our times together and we thank you for making our time in Nice truly unforgetable. We will treasure your friendship and we can't wait to come back!!

Room Tip: Bella Vista room with the magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrieC24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights in Nice and can't say enough about how fabulous the Vista Azzurra hotel was. Simply perfect! The top floor room was absolutely stunning, the view fabulous and the breakfasts delicious. Cathy and Michel are very generous to share their beautiful home and make you feel extremely welcome. The only downside to it is the walk to and from Nice which is very steep but still manageable, if you carry your heels in your bag and walk down in sensible shoes!! Take the train to Monaco for the evening, well worth the trip. Meal at Cafe de Paris, will be a memory we shall treasure. The whole trip was fabulous!

Room Tip: Take the top floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeedsHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel La Perouse
#4 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Azzurra

Property: Vista Azzurra
Address: 80 boulevard Mantega Righi, 06100 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characteristic Nicoise Villa, completely renovated in 2010, comfort and decorated with taste. Situated in a quiet environment, with a panoramic view of the sea and city of Nice. In the garden you find lovely fruit trees and a swimming pool, 5x10m. The pool is illuminated in the evening. Therefore it is possible to take a swim in the evening before sunset. Free WIFI in the whole House.Gourmet Breakfast is served on the pool house or on the terrace.The 2 rooms are both with a private bath room and AC. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing