We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Appart'City Nice Acropolis
Ranked #40 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have visited Nice on several occasions and were looking forward to our return this year. Unfortunately we booked this particular hotel through a BA deal, foolishly before reading the reviews on Trip advisor.
On the plus side the hotel is conveniently located next to the tram stop, bus station and train station. Also there is an underground car park on site. Sound proofing was very good so we were not disturbed by being so close to the transport links.
Decor and furnishings were in good order, the mattress was new and clean and bedding appeared fresh. The facilities for making snacks or drinks were good and average for this type of accommodation.
On the down side our room was VERY VERY small and only suited to single occupancy for stays of more than one night. Also as experienced by other contributors the bath room floor was filthy, a previous occupant had drawn faces in the dirt but bizarrely the cleaners just left them we assumed for the amusement of future guests. When we complained to reception we were informed that rooms were cleaned between occupancy or once a week if occupied for longer, the implication being that we were being fussy. We were not informed when booking that that the apartment was un-serviced so the same small towels for six days was a bit grim. Plus having to buy your own toilet rolls was a bit rich!!!
Security was a major concern, as reception was only open during mornings and afternoons there was a security code to enter the building at all other times. However, during our six day stay due to a malfunction that appeared to be long term the door never closed properly resulting in non-residents being able to roam the building unhindered if they so wished.
There was a total absence of efficient and effective management and the hotel seems to be on a downward spiral which is a pity as it could be a convenient place to stay for one or two nights.
By the way a nice touch was the wheelie bins (often over flowing) located near the front door. Says it all really.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ewen028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    77
    81
    68
    89
See reviews for
66
137
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Staff we're welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and basic. No wifi in the room was a disappointment, but at least there was internet access in the reception area. Once you step out of the apartment, roughly 100m to the right (following the street around the corner) is the tram stop. This tram takes you up and down the main room. After the first day my husband and I decided to walk. It takes roughly 20-30 mins (standard pace) to walk to the main areas. We found that we were taking in everything that the walk didn't seem so long.
Ultimately if I were to come back, I'd stay there again :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LsaintJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed in Nice dozens of times and adore the city but was rather nervous of staying here given the reviews it has attracted. On the map it looks like a long way from the parts of Nice that you want to spend time in. Until the arrival of the tram that would have been true but it is very easy, quick and cheap to hop on the tram, which is just outside, and get around.
It is incredibly cheap to stay here and most of the residents last week (end of September) looked as if they could well afford to stay elsewhere. The reception staff are very friendly and have an awesome array of language skills.
The food on offer for breakfast is good, an excellent variety, but the service and organisation is absolutely chaotic. Much as I enjoyed my breakfast when I eventually got it, waiting for cutlery, plates, cups or trays was a bit of a spoiler. Next time I will make my own breakfast.
Many comments have centred round the bathroom floor which doesn't look clean. As a non-slip surface is used for the whole of the bathroom rather than just the shower area this type of tile is never going to look good. I would certainly stay here again and consider this 'residence' a bit of find.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the building and overlooked some delightful communal gardens belonging t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighHeelsNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Good things: beds good, aircon worked, extras like heated towel rail and mini dishwasher. Location near tram. 2 people on reception were friendly.

Bad things: had to ask for cigarette butts to be clearedfrom terrace. Bathroom floor stained black - looked like dirt but they said not. One knife for 3 people - had to go into serving area to get more. Kitchen set up completely inadequate - no tea towel;dishmop, kettle; toaster, can or bottle opener or corkscrew. One pit only. Carpet stained and not vacuumed. Wardrobe doors off rail. Suited assistant arrogant and rude.

Stay if desperate.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xjtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotel is on a good location, near city center and train stop. Clean rooms and good beds. Been there for five days and no one came to clean the room or change the towels/sheets. Only people on recepcion speak english and no one else. Came for breakfast that I had payed and got the information that they are out of stock and there was no breakfast. When complained and asked money back, suddenly there was still something to eat. Wi Fi worked only the first and the last day, in between staff only told us that it's not working, without any apologies or information when it is going to work again. Been there on business, so it was an important issue for me. Staff unprofessional and not polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirjana Ž
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I regretted that I haven't read the tripadvisor reviews before I booked the room. I would have never booked it.

I confirm the other reviews that the bathroom floor was disgusting and it was smelling really bad. This was more than enough to make our stay uncomfortable. Also, the location is not good. The tram rails are surrounding the hotel and also the train rails are passing just nearby.

These rooms shouldn't cost more than 20 euros a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

First of all, the hotel is extremely dirty and unfriendly! The location is very bad, unsecure neighbourhood to walk alone. The staff at the reception, Bernard, was extremely impolite, always in a hurry, unable to give instructions about anything at all! We asked about the nearest parking for our car (obviously, the hotel car park was full) and he couldn't explain that there was one at Nice Acropolis. His English was very bad, so he couldn't tell that we only have to pay the city tax fee and not the entire stay. This we found out later... The apartment was very small, the 2nd bed was half-done with the pillows thrown all over the floor, full of mosquitos, the bath sink broken.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operations75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Riquier
Hotel Relais Acropolis
Hotel Relais Acropolis
#60 of 204 in Nice
356 reviews
Port
Adagio Access Nice Acropolis
Hotel Kyriad Nice Port
#137 of 204 in Nice
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Comte de Nice
#134 of 204 in Nice
737 reviews
Riquier
Hipark Nice
Hipark Nice
#74 of 204 in Nice
728 reviews
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#144 of 204 in Nice
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Nice Acropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Nice Acropolis

Property: Appart'City Nice Acropolis
Address: 18 B route de Turin | Quartier Saint-Jean d'Angely, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Nice Acropolis 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appart'City Nice Acropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appart`City Nice Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing