We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value tasty food”
Review of La P'tite Cocotte

La P'tite Cocotte
Ranked #142 of 2,045 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre
Description: La p'tite cocotte vous propose une cuisine traditionnelle préparée à partir de produits frais et de saison au coeur du Vieux-nice et à quelques pas de la Treille ! On vous sert une formule à 20€ entrée, plat et dessert. La carte est simplifiée avec : 4 entrées, 4 plats, 4 desserts, de façon à vous garantir la meilleure qualité possible et pouvoir changer ses recettes régulièrement. Avec un excellent rapport qualité-prix, ce restaurant est une adresse typique de Nice. A très bientôt.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We come here a few times a year and have never been disappointed. Not a huge choice but everything is fresh and delicious. Rabbit starter and main course lamb are just perfect. The 3 course menu is great value. The staff are very pleasant and welcoming. You do need to book as the restaurant is small.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank wallkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 144 of 1,217 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2016

The place is quite small and you should book a table in advance, but it is worth the effort. Although the menu has a limited number of choices, we found the food tasty, especially the lamb with smashed potatoes, the fish and the chocolate mousse desert.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vamanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Let me first state that we loved the atmosphere and the food was really tasty. The well composed menu changes every week, and the prices are reasonable.

We let the waiter know as soon as we arrived that I can not eat gluten, and he checked back from the kitchen what I could have. The thick sauce with the fish seemed suspicious, but I ate it without further hesitation, trusting the waiter's word. When the dessert arrived, my alarm went off: there was some crumble on top of the panna cotta, straight after from having been confirmed that it would be the only gluten free dessert on the menu. The portion got replaced - though hopefully not just by scooping the crumble off as the contamination had already happened.

There were no apologies whatsoever, and on our way home I figured out from my stomach behaviour that I really had had gluten after all. The quality of the restaurant was otherwise so good, that we felt really disappointed as we really would have wanted to like the place. However, food allergies should be taken seriously and this kind of service is unacceptable.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pinjatokoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

We found this place through trip advisor and after one failed attempt (closed Tuesday and Wednesday) we dined here. It is out of the way a little bit and a tad hard to find in the rabbit warren that is old town (which we loved!). They seem to prefer bookings but seated us without one although it is small so might be wise to book ahead.

Set price menu with three - 5 choices per course, your choice between two or three courses. We opted for main and dessert for 23 euros each which we thought was very reasonable, especially considering it was delicious. Portions are not enormous, but we certainly didn't leave feeling hungry. It was nice to not leave feeling over full actually! Drinks prices were very reasonable too.

Staff were lovely. We would definitely dine here again and recommend it highly. Menu changes weekly so no point recommending specific dishes (although dessert was delicious and I'm not usually a sweet tooth!).

If you're looking for traditional food, good service and good value this is a great find.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank KateH423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

This is a tiny little place as the name implies. Amazing food and really nice staff. Would recommend for anyone and will be back myself if I get the chance

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank axe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La P'tite Cocotte also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La P'tite Cocotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.