We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~

Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~
Ranked #61 of 1,767 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $52
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Really enjoyed our meal at Ma Yucca. We went for the evening set menu at 30 euros per person. The choice of dishes is small but definitely sufficient.

The gave a small amuse bouche to start which was good. Then starters (seabream and the 3-starter dish) which were also good. The mains (beef in onion sauce and their fish-dish of the day) were delicious (though if you have the beef, probably it's a good idea not to have it entirely well done but rather go for something a little less well-cooked for the sake of meat softness) and the desserts were perhaps the best part of the meal for us. Particularly the chocolate fondant with hot chocolate cake oozing with melted chocolate alongside ice cream. Yummy!

On top of great food, the atmosphere is lively and full of locals (book ahead) with pleasant Japanese style decor, and the service was top notch - very friendly and polite, spoke fantastic english and they were eager to help in every way possible. All in all, I'd say this was our most enjoyable meal in Nice so far (we're on our 3rd night working our way through Trip Advisor recommendations!). I'd recommend it :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    109
    17
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We went here based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and the fact that our flat was a few feet away; we were not disappointed. We made sure to get there as soon as the doors opened and it was good that we did because they did end up turning people away soon after. The service was good and very attentive and our server spoke English. The food was amazing. My partner got the duck and I got the sesame chicken with sweet potatoes- absolutely delicious. This was 10x better than the tourist trap restaurants in the centre of town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherbelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something different in Nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a super meal here, have tried to get in before but always booked! It's a small restaurant with only about 8 tables so you get a very personal service. The food was interesting and made a great change from the usual Nice menu, quality was excellent and I even got to demonstrate my chop stick skills!
Had a Japanese beer to start and then an excellent bottle of Chablis, the inclusive menu was great value and the teriyaki duck to die for!
Many thanks :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“GREAT VALUE FUSION LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's the sort of place you can easily pass by - we did unknowingly for 3 years! Now we've found it, it's a firm lunchtime favourite. Fantastic value for two courses and the Japanese beer is superbly cold. The salad has an interesting mix of sesame oil; the salmon was delicious; as was the pork belly and the chicken.... we're regular customers there now and it's not expensive. Small place so advisable to book.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rickandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect little place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We ate here twice in 5 days. Very nice place...wonderful food, perfect service. I loved the chopsticks so I bough 2 sets. Hope this restaurant does not get spoiled by all the good reviews.We will come back every time we are in Nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~ also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Ma yucca ~Restaurant Franco-Japonais~? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing