We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just Nice but excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I think nowadays its compulsory to read Tripadvisor to learn from others mistakes. Plus it gives you the advantage of turning the right way on streets. Looking for the correct bus and knowing how much things cost. Plus lots more. I have also come to understand that we are all different and expectations vary so much depending of where we come from. So on that point I am amazed at what some reviews have said about this hotel.

So lets get to the point of this review Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade. What a superb place. Location wise it is excellent being only round the corner from the sea and the bus. The bus stop Gambetta on route 98 from the airport is the one to jump off at. Just ring the bell and the driver will stop. Just 6 euros per person each way. Check the timetable at the bus stop although from my return to the airport experience the bus was so full he didn't stop. I got a taxi 32euros. But I wont dwell on that.

An authentically french fronted building, with orange trees outside. On the inside very modern in decoration. Both the day and night receptionists were pleasant and friendly and always able to assist. The room had efficient air con and the bed was huge. A separate bathroom and toilet proved better than being combined. There's a safe for valuables. By the way don't expect coffee or tea drinking facilities, its just not something they do on the South of France. It would however be a nice touch.

The beach is over the road and a superb restaurant Cocadile just metres on the front.Where we had a meal on our final night. There is a supermarket stocking all you could need, situated on the other side of the street. People have suggested loads of noise, but that's not something we experienced at all, keep the window shut at night is my suggestion. It is a large city after all.

It takes about 20 to 30 minutes to walk to the old part of the town which is something you must do. Plus a walk up the hill at the end of the bay. Some cracking views and a great picnic location. Even a playpark for kids at the top.

My wife and I only stayed for 2 nights and were gutted it wasn't much longer. Nice is so accessible with the airport being close to the town and only 20 minutes. This hotel cannot be faulted and I would without fail book again. Well done to the staff and owners, just ensure the price doesn't rise too much!!

Room Tip: Room 11 was good but the Wi'fi was a little sketchy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shumba93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 598 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a really relaxing 3 night stay at this hotel.
It is very well situated, just off the main promenade & within minutes walking distance from the centre & the old town.

The hotel is newly decorated & is a very stylish boutique style hotel. Our room was a little small but adequate with a large bathroom. As a minor downside there was no shower just a bath with hose. It was very clean & was serviced with fresh towels etc everyday. Wi fi available but patchy. Staff were really pleasant & helpful & this overall led to a really nice relaxed atmosphere in this hotel. The hotel does not have a main bar or tea/coffee facilities in the room. It does provide breakfast but other than that it really is a just nice place to sleep as far as facilities go. As a suggestion It would be nice to enjoy a drink in the lovely reception rooms before dinner or bed for example.

Overall however I would recommend & would stay again. My travelling companion who has visited Nice many times & stayed in 4-5 star hotels rates this one the best in her experience. It's a great base to explore Nice & it's surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A fab hotel, just behind the seafront on the main promenade. In a modern boutique style & simply furnished, the hotel was a good choice for our weekend away with our main aim to see the men's tennis in Monte Carlo, as well as sample the delights of Nice. We had access to bus's really close by, but chose to walk to take in the seafront & reach the old port where we picked up a bus for 1 euro each to Monaco. Amazing route with fantastic views along the way.
The hotel was friendly with very helpful reception staff, offering an ample breakfast if required. The only down side were the refuge collectors at half past midnight who made enough noise to wake the dead. Noise from revelers returning home from local bars/clubs also proved rowdy. Advice would be to pack ear plugs as the hotel itself was worth it

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54Sarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A modern and artsy hotel located in a small street just 500m from the Promenade d'Anglaise, this quaint hotel is perfect for those with a 'smaller' budget. We paid approx EUR150 per night without breakfast. They serve full b'fast at EUR12 or opt for a small b'fast which includes bread and coffee for EUR6. Alternatively, there are many cafes just along the Promenade and a convenience store just opposite the hotel.

Room was spacious, functional, clean and even has proper parking spaces. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel with great location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prinzess_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

All in all we enjoyed our stay in Nice, despite some appalling May weather and the hotel was perfectly adequate and almost did enough to get up to good rating from us, but not quite.

The location is OK, just one road back from the Promenade and right on the edge of, what could be considered to be, the touristy area. It is a fair old stroll to the old town (good for walking off the food!). There were enough shops nearby and the InterMarche opposite was very useful.

From reading other reviews I suspect that the rooms vary quite a bit in this old hotel. Room 44 had a very small bathroom, with a separate toilet - it was all just a little bit tight for space. The balcony was small and with the table and two chairs there you could only just about get out past the shutters to sit down. The bed was comfortable. The Wifi was a bit patchy - you had to keep re-validating username/password. Room 46 might just get a glimpse of the sea/promenade.

The lift was the smallest I have ever seen - only just big enough for two (or one with luggage)

Reception were always very helpful ( I would particularly like to mention Sarah) and almost pushed it up to a good rating, but ultimately I think it was too much money for what is a solid 3* hotel, but no better.

Room Tip: Room 46 might just get a view of the sea/promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is approx 15 mins bus ride from airport. Bus costs 6 euos per person as opposed to 35 euros by taxi. Come out of airport terminal at bus stops are just to the right. Catch bus 98 from bus stop 5, buy your ticket from driver. Get off at Gambetta promenade, all the bus stops have names and there is a list of stops and names inside the bus (like you get in a tube carriage). Ring the bell prior to the stop. The hotel is approx 50 yards from the bus stop.
Hotel room clean, shower fine and room was quiet. Was given a code on arrival for the wi fi and room had a telly. The hotel is situated approx 50 yards from the promenade de anglais and beach. The old town and centre of Nice are about a 20 minute stroll either along the pomenade or at the opposite end of the street along the rue de France. We did not have breakfast at the hotel and there are no tea/coffe making facilities in the room. The hotel waas reasonably priced for Nice. Hotel has a supermarket opposite and the restaurant at the end of the street called cocodile served up excellent food. Hotel reasonably priced in a good location

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

perfect location, very stylish, private parking (needed to be booked in advance since they have space for 15 cars maximum). rooms are modern and charming, clean. good sounds isolation. reception guys are extremely helpfull (when we needed urgently farmacy in the middle of the night they were calling 1,5 hours to find open one to help us). defeinitely will stay there for the next visit to Nice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PragmaticCinderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#15 of 203 in Nice
857 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade

Address: 11 rue Saint Philippe, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $70 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Nice City Centre, this elegant hotel is just 50 metres from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a furnished terrace shaded by an orange tree and provides free Wi-Fi access. Each air-conditioned guest room is equipped with a flat-screen TV and some of the stylish rooms have a balcony. The private bathrooms are decorated in light shades of grey. A buffet breakfast is served every morning at Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade. Guests can enjoy a drink on the terrace or in the stylish lounge areas.Nice Old Town is 1.5 Km from Hotel La Villa and the Beaux-Arts Museum is a 10-minute walk away. Private parking is available on site, upon reservation and at an extra cost of 15€. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Villa Nice Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing