We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend in Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice
Ranked #17 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Hampshire, England
1 review
“Long weekend in Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We found the staff very helpful, especially with booking a cab back to the airport. They used a firm which worked on a fixed price of 28 euros - cheaper than we paid for the same journey from the airport to the hotel. We had an executive twin room on the 7th floor and it was good. Huge beds with soft mattresses and lovely pillows. The window opened wide, much to our surprise (so high up) but we were pleased it opened as it was quite warm in the room and we needed to cool it. Our room was on the front overlooking the street and so was quite noisy with the window open but being so centrally situated, it was to be expected. One of the two lifts was still broken (had read on earlier reports about this ) but we didn't find any problem with this. We had no trouble getting a lift. We found the hotel location very convenient for everything we wanted to do - shopping, market, restaurants, the beach. Would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than glad to hear that you would use this hotel again and we thank you for taking time to write your feedback about our Hotel.

The hotel doesn’t have a specific concierge department but all the receptionists are always available, to book transfer or inform their guest about the main spots of the city or the best places to dine out, among any other request. They are very reactive and in total they speak 7 languages!! They come from all around the world: France, Italy, Spain and Maurice Island and they will be more than pleased to help you during your next stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next booking to reservations@holinice.com, we always guaranty the best rate you could find on the net.

Looking forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Best regards,
Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    309
    120
    38
    17
See reviews for
126
258
35
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very convenient near town centre in the elegant, tree-lined Ave Victor Hugo. Only 5 minutes walk from main shopping streets and from the sea front.

Very friendly, helpful staff who speak excellent English.

Front rooms overlook the street so there is some normal traffic noise during daytime but this is not excessive except for the occasional motorbikes or scooters which are all over Nice. However, the window keeps out the traffic sound. At night, the street is quiet and you can sleep with the big window slid open. Nice view from the top floors over the roofs to the mountain near the port.

Lots of hot water in bathroom.

Pleasant front garden where you can eat or drink and buffet breakfast is plenty of good quality food. Slight chaos in the breakfast organisation was quickly sorted out by the very nice manageress.

One lift (elevator) seemed often out-of order but there are two others so it was not a big problem.

Room Wi-Fi was initially a puzzle as it was new to me but a very helpful receptionist soon explained how to use it and it worked perfectly.

Nicely modern-decorated rooms but no drawers, only shelves which is a bit odd as there is plenty of room to build some.

In the room, the so-called 'easy chair' was incredibly uncomfortable and the weird artwork on the wall would have been better if replaced with a picture of old Nice (or, better still, replaced by nothing). This is, of course, personal taste.

Bed was very comfortable with a choice of good pillows available from the reception desk.

Nice lobby for meeting friends but rather spoiled by some of the guests who seem to think it is OK to put their filthy feet on the coffee tables right in front of the receptionists who said nothing! It's not the fault of the staff if the guests have no manners but they should point out that it's not good manners to put their shoes on the tables. I don't understand the modern fashion of putting dirty feet on seats and tables especially with all the dog-poo in the streets. (Same in London. Only in Japan do people not do this)

Very nice boulangerie only 30 seconds away in the street beside the hotel and lots of restaurants nearby.

Nice is a lovely city with a nice holiday atmosphere.

All-in-all this is a very convenient and friendly hotel with very helpful staff who make it a pleasure to stay here.

Room Tip: Rear rooms would probably be the quietest but I was happy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to write your feedback about the Holiday Inn Nice Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I have shared your feedback to all the hotel staff members.

As you have said we are located just in the center of Nice in the Bd Victor Hugo which is very quiet by night. Furthermore all the rooms have double-glazed windows which reinforce the calm in the rooms.

Weather is being fantastic this Autumn, very sunny and warm, so our guest are still enjoying our urban-gardened terrace for breakfast or lunch. We are lucky to live here! :-)

And since you spoke about the choice of pillows I would like to point out that we kindly offer a wide choice of additional pillows as thermofit, anatomic latex, synthetic, grand comfort or feather of goose in order to ensure our guests comfort.

Hoping this answer will fit you well and looking forward for your return.

Best regards,
Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped a couple of nights in the holiday inn and had no issues with the hotel whatsover. On arrival we were upgraded to an exec room for free and the gentleman on reception provided all of the details required concerning both the hotel and our general location in Nice. Our room on the 7th floor was fine and the free wifi worked well. One tip is that there are a couple of sunbeds on the roof which we used (access via the mini gym on the top floor).

Some of the previous complaints referred to the lift but I believe this may be because people have taken the service lift as opposed to those for guests which did appear to be out of order a couple of times. There is a bar with a pleasant seating area to the front of the hotel but note this closes at 2200.

The hotel is on Avenue Victor Hugo with is a 2 minute walk from the main thoroughfare, Jean Medecin, which is then around 5-10mins walk down to the Old Town. It is also around a 5 minute walk to the main train station .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed the free upgrade into the Executive Room and the service given by our front desk team. Normally, if our guests subscribe our IHG Reward Club at the check-in time we automatically offer , upon availability, a free upgrade to the Executive floors, among other benefits as early check-in, late check-out, free newspaper, etc.

We are pleased you enjoy our rooftop transats in the mini gym terrace, the bar and the location of the hotel.

In addition to being close to Jean Medecin, we are also a few blocks from the Old City and the sea front.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Staff was very Helpful. Free Wi Fi. It was a good location easy to get to Old Town.Shopping nearby and only a few blocks to the Ocean. I was by myself and it felt like a safe area. I had a nice view of a Church. I liked that I could open the windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jethag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review about Holiday Inn Nice

I'm more than proud to hear that you found the hotel staff very helpful and that you enjoy our location 5 minutes (walking distance) far from the beach and just in the center of Nice.

Just to feed your curiosity :-) the church opposite the Hotel is The Protestant Church of Nice, or temple of the Holy Spirit, is a Protestant church in the Reformed Church of France, that was built in 1886-1888 and was designed to accommodate the original American Episcopalian community in the city.Its neo-Gothic style, very few present elsewhere in Nice, contrasts with the surrounding buildings.

Hope this suites you well and wish you had a safe trip home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,
Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Am a Holiday Inn member and have been for years.

Location is excellent and staff and restaurant/bar are good. Stayed on points so would not complain too much, but if I was paying I would be unhappy

1. Despite upgrade to Exec floor, room was tiny, with no drawers or cabinets for clothes. Only space was for 5 hanging garments. So for a three day stay our clothes stayed in the suitcases. Not at all good.
2. The Air Conditioning was a joke. It was no cooler than the normal air, and given the size of the room, it was actually a bit stifling.
3. The TV only had BBC News24 and BBC 4 as English channels - not even CNN. As a US chain, and there were quite a few Americans staying there so this is not very satisfactory
4. Did not avail of breakfast, but at €20 we thought it was exorbitant when we had real good breakfasts at less than half that in the town...
4. On plus side, room was well cleaned daily and bathroom shower was OK and plenty of hot water

Overall, adequate as a free stay on points, but if I had paid for the room, I would have rated this as a 1 star..... not good.. oh yes and as of October 8th 2013, the lift is still broken...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit.

I am truly sorry that you were inconvenienced by this issues. However you didn’t notify it during your stay to any of our staff members, they are very reactive and an effective solution will have be given with the assistance of the hotel direction. That’s why I strongly recommends our guests to notify their complaints as soon as possible because there is always a solution.

And now just some brief notes about your comments:

1.Room size/TV: For you information our hotel rooms go from 20m² till 40² depending if it is a standard, an executive our or a suite room which amply meet the standards for a 4 stars hotels in France. In the room there is a wardrobe with several cases and hanging garments for clothes and it this is not enough there are more hangers available under request to the front desk team or Housekeeping department.

2.AC: sometimes to make it work properly it just need a repair by one of our in-house technicians.

3.TV: it is true that in our package we don’t have the CNN but more than 400 TV channels are available, most of them English speaking.

4.Breakfast: It is American buffet style, you can see some pictures in our Tripadvisor page.
I sincerely apologize that this affected your overall impression of the hotel and we pride ourselves on excellent service extended by our colleagues.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally and may be reached at fomgr@holinice.com or +33 0497032222

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel has a good location near to Nicetoile, shopping center, Place Massena and Old Nice only little bit more far away. Even the beach is in short distance. Breakfast was versatile and rooms clean and spacy. One of two elevator was out of order and one elevator is too little gor that size of a hotel. Some of our group had to use staff elevator, not so nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nefer075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Nefer075,

The Team and I are pleased with your feedback. We apologize for the elevators issue, the service elevator is a temporary solution. The hotel management team is working hard to fix it as soon as possible.

We appreciate your review and hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have twice arrived at this hotel with a reservation number to be told our rooms were not available. As ours were only for a single night and it was high season I'm guessing they let them go to someone staying longer and therefore spending more. Each time the staff could not have been less interested, we now stay anywhere except here.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor, your opinion is very important for us and be aware it is going to be taken in consideration for improving our hotel service.

For your information the standard check-in time is from 2 to 3 pm, but if you arrive earlier and we have available rooms it is with pleasure that we let you check-in before. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you might found during your stay.

Hoping this answer will be helpful we hope to see you again in the near future, all the hotel staff compromises to make your stay a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice

Property: Holiday Inn Nice
Address: 20 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Business Hotel in Nice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of Nice, in a residential area, a few minutes ago from the seafront, the interesting sights and the main shopping zone. Access: International airport 7 kms, Train station 300 m. Totally refurbished in 2012! Rooms: spacious, modern and lighted, air conditioned and sound proved; marble bathrooms with hair dryer. Tea and coffee maker, satellite LCD TV and pay TV, ADSL Wifi, direct phone, electronic safety box, minibar, pillow list; Restaurant "Chez Panisse" and cocktail bar, gym center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nice Hotel Nice
Nice Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing