We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a reasonably good location”
Review of Holiday Inn Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice
Ranked #19 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a reasonably good location”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped a couple of nights in the holiday inn and had no issues with the hotel whatsover. On arrival we were upgraded to an exec room for free and the gentleman on reception provided all of the details required concerning both the hotel and our general location in Nice. Our room on the 7th floor was fine and the free wifi worked well. One tip is that there are a couple of sunbeds on the roof which we used (access via the mini gym on the top floor).

Some of the previous complaints referred to the lift but I believe this may be because people have taken the service lift as opposed to those for guests which did appear to be out of order a couple of times. There is a bar with a pleasant seating area to the front of the hotel but note this closes at 2200.

The hotel is on Avenue Victor Hugo with is a 2 minute walk from the main thoroughfare, Jean Medecin, which is then around 5-10mins walk down to the Old Town. It is also around a 5 minute walk to the main train station .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

We are pleased you enjoyed the free upgrade into the Executive Room and the service given by our front desk team. Normally, if our guests subscribe our IHG Reward Club at the check-in time we automatically offer , upon availability, a free upgrade to the Executive floors, among other benefits as early check-in, late check-out, free newspaper, etc.

We are pleased you enjoy our rooftop transats in the mini gym terrace, the bar and the location of the hotel.

In addition to being close to Jean Medecin, we are also a few blocks from the Old City and the sea front.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return.

Regards,
Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    320
    123
    39
    18
See reviews for
128
271
37
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Staff was very Helpful. Free Wi Fi. It was a good location easy to get to Old Town.Shopping nearby and only a few blocks to the Ocean. I was by myself and it felt like a safe area. I had a nice view of a Church. I liked that I could open the windows.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jethag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review about Holiday Inn Nice

I'm more than proud to hear that you found the hotel staff very helpful and that you enjoy our location 5 minutes (walking distance) far from the beach and just in the center of Nice.

Just to feed your curiosity :-) the church opposite the Hotel is The Protestant Church of Nice, or temple of the Holy Spirit, is a Protestant church in the Reformed Church of France, that was built in 1886-1888 and was designed to accommodate the original American Episcopalian community in the city.Its neo-Gothic style, very few present elsewhere in Nice, contrasts with the surrounding buildings.

Hope this suites you well and wish you had a safe trip home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,
Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Am a Holiday Inn member and have been for years.

Location is excellent and staff and restaurant/bar are good. Stayed on points so would not complain too much, but if I was paying I would be unhappy

1. Despite upgrade to Exec floor, room was tiny, with no drawers or cabinets for clothes. Only space was for 5 hanging garments. So for a three day stay our clothes stayed in the suitcases. Not at all good.
2. The Air Conditioning was a joke. It was no cooler than the normal air, and given the size of the room, it was actually a bit stifling.
3. The TV only had BBC News24 and BBC 4 as English channels - not even CNN. As a US chain, and there were quite a few Americans staying there so this is not very satisfactory
4. Did not avail of breakfast, but at €20 we thought it was exorbitant when we had real good breakfasts at less than half that in the town...
4. On plus side, room was well cleaned daily and bathroom shower was OK and plenty of hot water

Overall, adequate as a free stay on points, but if I had paid for the room, I would have rated this as a 1 star..... not good.. oh yes and as of October 8th 2013, the lift is still broken...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Antonpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit.

I am truly sorry that you were inconvenienced by this issues. However you didn’t notify it during your stay to any of our staff members, they are very reactive and an effective solution will have be given with the assistance of the hotel direction. That’s why I strongly recommends our guests to notify their complaints as soon as possible because there is always a solution.

And now just some brief notes about your comments:

1.Room size/TV: For you information our hotel rooms go from 20m² till 40² depending if it is a standard, an executive our or a suite room which amply meet the standards for a 4 stars hotels in France. In the room there is a wardrobe with several cases and hanging garments for clothes and it this is not enough there are more hangers available under request to the front desk team or Housekeeping department.

2.AC: sometimes to make it work properly it just need a repair by one of our in-house technicians.

3.TV: it is true that in our package we don’t have the CNN but more than 400 TV channels are available, most of them English speaking.

4.Breakfast: It is American buffet style, you can see some pictures in our Tripadvisor page.
I sincerely apologize that this affected your overall impression of the hotel and we pride ourselves on excellent service extended by our colleagues.

I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally and may be reached at fomgr@holinice.com or +33 0497032222

In the interim, I remain at your service.

Victor HUELAMO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimaki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel has a good location near to Nicetoile, shopping center, Place Massena and Old Nice only little bit more far away. Even the beach is in short distance. Breakfast was versatile and rooms clean and spacy. One of two elevator was out of order and one elevator is too little gor that size of a hotel. Some of our group had to use staff elevator, not so nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nefer075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Nefer075,

The Team and I are pleased with your feedback. We apologize for the elevators issue, the service elevator is a temporary solution. The hotel management team is working hard to fix it as soon as possible.

We appreciate your review and hope to see you back again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have twice arrived at this hotel with a reservation number to be told our rooms were not available. As ours were only for a single night and it was high season I'm guessing they let them go to someone staying longer and therefore spending more. Each time the staff could not have been less interested, we now stay anywhere except here.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor, your opinion is very important for us and be aware it is going to be taken in consideration for improving our hotel service.

For your information the standard check-in time is from 2 to 3 pm, but if you arrive earlier and we have available rooms it is with pleasure that we let you check-in before. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you might found during your stay.

Hoping this answer will be helpful we hope to see you again in the near future, all the hotel staff compromises to make your stay a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was my second stay at the HI Nice, it is still great. We had a room on the Executive floor, overlooking Nice's roofs, fantastic.

But guys, when are you going to fix that lift? It was broken down last year and we're sometimes still forced to use the service elevator.

I have not tried the breakfast there, Nice is full of great bakeries/cafes.

See you next time HI Nice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris un peu de votre temps pour faire part de vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor suite à récent votre séjour à l’Hotel Holiday Inn. Croyez que nous sommes sincèrement ravis d’apprendre combien vous avez apprécié ces moments passés en notre compagnie.

Parce que nous plaçons le bien-être et le confort de nos clients au-dessus de toutes nos priorités, nous procédons régulièrement à des aménagements de l’hôtel. De savoir que l'ascenseur va être réparé bientôt.

Nous espérons avoir le grand plaisir de vous accueillir très bientôt de retour parmi nous à l’occasion d’un prochain séjour à Nice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stay here at least once a month for business. The rooms are VERY warm and the room a/c does not cool properly. I've left notice after notice regarding this and it is never fixed. It is a must to keep the drapes pulled shut your entire visit in order to keep the room from being even more hot. A shame to block the beautiful views of Nice because of inop a/c. When I complained to the front desk they commented that they had no other complaints regarding the lack of in room a/c. As I sat in the lobby waiting on my friend, I over heard 2 guests complain about the same issue. ?? I have stayed here on average of once a month for the past two years and the a/c has not been fixed. I give this hotel 2 stars simply for their location. It is convenient to most attractions and easy to navigate from.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Google Translation
Tout d'abord, nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de vos commentaires de votre récente expérience dans notre établissement et nous regrettons de lire que vous n'étiez pas satisfait de la prestation de notre service.

Suite à un problème technique indépendant de notre volonté, la climatisation était malheureusement indisponible pour un moment toutefois notre service technique est intervenu rapidement pour la réparer au plus vite.

Merci encore de votre compréhension, nous nous excusons à nouveau pour cette situation rencontré, en espérant vous avoir à nouveau avec nous pour évaluer les efforts réalisés.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 205 in Nice
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice

Property: Holiday Inn Nice
Address: 20 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Business Hotel in Nice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of Nice, in a residential area, a few minutes ago from the seafront, the interesting sights and the main shopping zone. Access: International airport 7 kms, Train station 300 m. Totally refurbished in 2012! Rooms: spacious, modern and lighted, air conditioned and sound proved; marble bathrooms with hair dryer. Tea and coffee maker, satellite LCD TV and pay TV, ADSL Wifi, direct phone, electronic safety box, minibar, pillow list; Restaurant "Chez Panisse" and cocktail bar, gym center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nice Hotel Nice
Nice Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing