We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average on all counts”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Inn Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nice
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average on all counts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights - for the whole of this time the lifts were out of order and we had to use the service lift in the kitchens. Being Platinum member and staying regularly at hotel across the chain - I was expecting an upgrade. There were better rooms available but we were not offered a particularly nice room. As other have stated the Air-con is less than functional. All in all very average with less than attentive 'snooty' staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ant_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to express your feedback concerning your stay in our property.

We are sorry to inform you that executive rooms were not available during your stay, if we had available rooms it is with pleasure that we would have upgraded you, as we normally do with all our Platinum members.

We take note of your request concerning the air conditioning system and the lift..

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return and experience the changes

Kind regards,

Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    311
    121
    38
    17
See reviews for
127
258
37
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in holiday Inn hotel Nice, it was the worst hotel i had ever been. The rooms were not clean, smells awful, sheets were dirty. In my whole stay the elevator was not working at all so we had to use the hotel service elevator which was very old and slow.The location was good.
Overall we hated the hotel and we will never go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WESSSAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable relations clients at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Google Translation
Tout d'abord, nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de vos commentaires de votre récente expérience dans notre établissement et nous regrettons de lire que vous n'étiez pas satisfait de la prestation de notre service.

Suite à un problème technique indépendant de notre volonté, un des ascenseurs client est malheureusement indisponible toutefois l’ascenseur de service a été complètement rénové, ce qui permet la fonctionnalité de ce dernier.

Concernant votre commentaire sur la propreté des chambres, nous tenons à vous dire que c’est un critère essentiel pour notre établissement et que de telles lacunes auraient pu être évitées.

Le management est conscient que des efforts doivent être faits , toutefois, Il aurait été préférable de nous signaler vos désagrément lors de votre séjour afin de vous proposer une solution aux problèmes exposés.

Merci encore de votre compréhension, nous nous excusons à nouveau pour les problèmes rencontrés , en espérant vous avoir à nouveau avec nous pour évaluer les efforts réalisés

Cordialement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Being Platinum and a weekly stayer at IHG across the world - for my quick trip with my wife we were grateful for the upgrade to an Executive room (being this trip was on points!). There were suites on the Exec. Floor but even with my status (and mass of points...) we were not offered a nice room.
The air-con was non-existent but when I asked to borrow a fan the hotel got one for me... The windows on the 9th floor are very scary - they open wide and I realised I don't like heights! Certainly I'd not like the children staying there / leaving the window open but in the heat we had to do this.
IHG sent me a 15% voucher for meal reduction but on check-in was told the restaurant was closed for my duration... yet mysteriously the next night it was open again!
The hotel is usual décor.. ok but nothing wow! Apart from the air-con joke everything else worked.
The housekeeper on the first day didn't turn up until 7pm, and on the second day didn't turn up at all... but it wasn't much of a problem really.
We didn't get offered or told about breakfast - mind you the extortionate price HI charge for breakfast our choice to go to a French bakery with exceptional pastries would have been much cheaper and only 5 min walk!!
We were ripped off by the taxi driver at the airport arriving - he charged us 35 euro, when we left we got the hotel to book the hotel and this had a 28 euro charge (and this had the usual hotel commission!) but we were grateful the hotel booked the taxi.
I would stay again - especially on business because it is in a good location to get to the beach, shops and very good (but usual South of France) expensive restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for fan is air-con still doesn't work but you need it! Very good bakery close by is the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank basisboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking time to express your feedback concerning your stay in our property.
We are sorry to inform you that the suites were not available during your stay.

We take not of your request concerning the air conditioning system and regarding the time of cleanliness of the room.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to return and experience the changes

kinf regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was pretty good nice beds. The air conditiong sucked though. It was very hot during the summer and the ac wasn't very good. The breakfast was nice. The staff was friendly. I would give it a 8/10

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britneyyyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Responsable réception at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Google Translation
Nous avons vraiment apprécié que vous ayez pris le temps d'exprimer vos commentaires concernant votre récent séjour auprès de votre établissement.
Ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir tous les jours, l 'objectif principal de la direction et du personnel et de pouvoir atteindre la satisfaction du client.

Nous serons heureux d'avoir encore la chance de vous accueillir pour un prochain séjour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Not great! Dated hotel and rooms, heavily over priced breakfast, air conditioning in the room so weak that it didn't cool the room at all. Small rooms, two beds together instead of one bed. One elevator not working. Good location but on a busy noisy road and staff friendly.

Room Tip: A colleague said the air conditioning was better in their room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveltastic38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you had with the elevator and the air conditioning. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Terrible service. In rooms with windows facing the street terribly noisy. Asked to give a room with windows overlooking the courtyard as I booked 5 nights. But in return I was denied and told false story that all rooms are busy, but in the evening I've seen by myself a few empty rooms. Well Thanks I was not robed as the other guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktor y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really regret to learn that your stay did not come up to your expectation and we are taking seriously into consideration your negative experiences.
However, for this period, we had no other backside room available, in fact the hotel was fully booked however,the front desk team kindly propose you an upgrade to the topest floor which is less noisy than he rest of the hotel but you did not accepted .

Again accept please our sincere apologize for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the 8th year in a row we have stayed at this hotel after staying at 6 others previously.  We like the location, the breakfast choice, the gym and have got to know some staff.  However, since the rooms in the executive floors have been renovated there are now no drawers for clothes and the only 2 shelves at the top of the wardrobe contain a spare pillow and blanket.  Since only 5 hangers were provided (not enough for 2 people on a 9 night stay) the first stop we've had to make when we've arrived the last 2 years is the local Casino supermarket to buy coat hangers.  One of the lifts is still not working and the one that does made such a terrible noise we wouldn't have been surprised if we'd got stuck.  The key card has had to be reactivated at least once every day.  We made the mistake of purchasing 2 small packets of plain crisps from the hotel bar - 8€. They have cut back on too many basics like drawers, coat hangers and toiletry items in the last few years while the price increases.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CACHE639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MERLIN06, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nice, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for updating your recent stay in our hotel and we are very sorry for the several inconvenience you have experienced.
Be assuring tha the management will take necessary steps and make all efforts in order that these episodes did not repeat

we hope that you will have the opportunity to return and experienced the changes in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nice

Property: Holiday Inn Nice
Address: 20 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens , Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#23 Business Hotel in Nice
#41 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very heart of Nice, in a residential area, a few minutes ago from the seafront, the interesting sights and the main shopping zone. Access: International airport 7 kms, Train station 300 m. Totally refurbished in 2012! Rooms: spacious, modern and lighted, air conditioned and sound proved; marble bathrooms with hair dryer. Tea and coffee maker, satellite LCD TV and pay TV, ADSL Wifi, direct phone, electronic safety box, minibar, pillow list; Restaurant "Chez Panisse" and cocktail bar, gym center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nice Hotel Nice
Nice Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing