We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Literary Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Ranked #2 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Literary Gem”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Well situated hotel for walking to the beach or Old Nice. Restaurants galore. Parking at Grimaldi right around the corner was convenient. Rooms were very clean and nicely decorated (grey tones with white and pewter) as was lobby area. We had an executive room (spacious) with huge bathroom (I think it was 37) and a standard room for my daughter and cousin (34 I believe).
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as it ended earlier than we were willing to get up for (10am, I think). At any rate, I would definitely stay here again. The price was right for the low season and the location is different from our usual Promenade des Anglais American chain choice (Hyatt). I saw other reviews of this hotel that I gather had been posted before the renovation. This hotel is nice--top to bottom with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillesDemay, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thanks you for your comment but even if it is a good one it does not concern our Hotel.
All rooms have a name not a number...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    82
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
181
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arad, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were looking for nice rooms in a great location. The decor is what may be called shabby chic and hotel a bit quirky(like noisy plumbing) but it all grows on you. Room was very well equipped including good wifi, lots of outlets, kitchenette, bathroom amenities, owner authored guidebook. Room and bathroom were both clean. Considering breakfast came with the room, what is provided is well above the average roll and croissant.Lots of coupons and travel brochures available near the reception desk.

Only complaint would be the shower which flooded and had a curtain.A modern rennovated shower would have been preferrably but curtain was clean and NOT moldy.

Location is amazing. Close to all public transportation including airport bus. Grocery stores, shopping, beach, restaurants and much more all nearby. Be aware most close by 11 pm.

Loved the little dog!

I would stay here again glady.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shahama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Congratulations to Gil on having such a great place. The property is on the ground floor of a Belle Epoque era building. This really is more of a B&B than a hotel. There are only 6 rooms and they are spacious and well-decorated. Breakfast is included in the very reasonable room rate, and is quite satisfying. The location is four blocks from the Promenade des Anglais, and across an intersection from a small park. We had been missing our dog, and spending time with Cosette, Gil's rescue dog, filled that void. We loved everything about this property.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Esmeralda room, and it was fine for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRDEagan_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillesDemay, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Cosette and I thank you a lot for your comment. We were very pleased to welcome you. We hope we will see you again. Yours sincerely. Cosette and Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on honeymoon in Oct 2013. Gilles was very welcoming and has all the information you would need for a stay in Nice.
The room we stayed in was lovely and breakfast was good too. Close to the beach and close to the old town and shopping areas.
Hope to stay here again some time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillesDemay, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We thank you for your comment and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is always very important for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

As virtually all of the other reviews have stated, this place is a real gem. It doesn’t have all the bells and whistles that a 4 or 5 star hotel may have, and in many ways more resembles a B&B, but the rooms are spacious, clean and it is very central. I took the 23 bus from the airport and got off at the Alsace Lorraine gardens. The bus only costs €1.50. All you need to do then is to walk diagonally through the gardens and diagonally across the road is the hotel. I met other guests who had walked around for more than an hour to find the hotel. It is not immediately obvious, but if you just look for 59 Victor Hugo Boulevard then you can’t go wrong.
The breakfast was quite adequate with a good choice. As others have noted, Gilles is most helpful and will tell you exactly which bus etc. to take. The kitchen corner in the room is good for reheating things from the various supermarkets nearby if you don’t want to eat out every night.
Apart from the bathroom that is a bit smelly, due to the type of system that they use, the hotel is without fault. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Victor Hugo was even better than expected. Lovely neighborhood, easy to find. Gilles was the perfect host, and Cosette was a delight. Our room was attractive, clean and spacious. Breakfast was generous. Light sleepers should be aware that the plumbing can be noisy. However, I wouldn't make that a deal-breaker. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piccolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Think of California beach casual in gorgeous Nice and this is the Victor Hugo. I can not think of enough kind words to say about this darling bed and breakfast or the wonderful owner. You are treated as a friend the minute you walk in the door. The location is a few blocks from the beach. It was easy to change for dinner and walk to Old Nice after a day on the beach. The room is very large. The kitchenette was very useful when you grow tired of spending 30 euros for every meal. The store, as well as a 24 hour laundry were minutes away. The bathroom is small, but think beach cottage.
You are escorted to the breakfast room by the adorable rescue dog Cosette. There are many foods to choose from as this is not a continental breakfast. Niles comes in each morning to ask about your day and give advice. He speaks English very well. The price is fantastic.
I was very, very sorry to leave after five nights in this pretty city.

Room Tip: You must have a kitchenette for picnics to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nellie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Cosette and I were very happy to read your comment. That's exactly the impression we would like to provide... Thanks a lot. You know that you can come back anytime and we will be pleased as well!
Cosette et Gilles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
420 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#18 of 204 in Nice
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo Nice

Property: Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Address: 59 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor Hugo Nice is not like other.We welcome you in a completely renovated hotel in 2011. This hotel is in the ground-floor of a 1905 building. The hotel is located on one of the most prestigious avenues in Nice, 5 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais and the beaches, 10 minutes from downtown shopping and the old town.Hotel Victor Hugo, Nice is a charming "hotel meuble" with only 7 rooms. Experience an atmosphere where friendliness and warmth are the watchwords. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing