We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Victor Hugo Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Ranked #3 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great hotel in an ideal location to explore Nice. Gilles is an absolute gentleman and helping us navigate our way around Nice was never a problem to him. The room was spotlessly clean with fresh linen. Breakfast was more than ample with plenty to choose from.
What made our stay even more special was Gilles and Cosette who always gave a warm welcome.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peegeeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment. Cosette and I are very proud welcoming you and helping you to enjoy Wonderful Nice and Franch Riviera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    79
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
176
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is located half way between the railway station and the sea front. Our room was lovely with a small sitting room off the bedroom. The bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable.
It is within walking distance to the station and also the beach and shops. The owner was most helpful and friendly. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Cosette and I thank you a lot for your comment. We always trying to improve the quality and your comment is an award to show you that we are on the right way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We took the last 10 days "willy-nilly" or no reservations or travel plans except a global train ticket!
We found Victor Hugo a little hard to find at first but the reward when we found it was worth it. Gilles gave us a lot of personal hand holding to tell us where things were and how to find them including Knitting stores for my lovely wife. We arrived on the 30th of April and found that May 1st was a holiday so Gilles gave us some ideas of where to go with most of the stores closed.
The B and B was wonderful, rooms very nice, clean and roomy, not too big just right. The breakfast was delightful and the company fantastic.
We used this as our home base to go back to Monte Carlo and stroll on the beaches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave_thomas013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Cosette and I thank you a lot for your nice review. It is always very important for us to have the feedback and to increase services.

Hope you will have the opportunity to come back.

Your sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights staying at this well located, friendly establishment. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Giving you the option to self cater is a great idea and as mentioned in previous reviews the breakfast is ample and of a high quality. Giles and his faithful companion Cosette are great hosts. In particular we loved being greeted by Cosette both mornings and have her join us for breakfast. We would definately recommend Hotel Victor Hugo and would stay here again if we ever returned to Nice.

Room Tip: Room facing the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We found this small hotel to be a lovely choice for a short stay in Nice. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the host was very helpful in ensuring we got the most out of our stay. The hotel is situated on the ground floor of a beautiful building ideally situated for the Promenade des Anglais (5 minutes) and for a short walk (10 minutes) to Place Masséna. We did not find traffic noise to be much of a disturbance, perhaps the odd moped was loud, but very little goes past the hotel rooms at night. We would come back to this hotel and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raistrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'd like to thank Gilles and his dog for good hosting.

Advantages:
- Good breakfast (fresh orange juice, kinds of cheese, coffee, flakes and so on..).
- Very comfortable bed and bedding.
- Colorful appearance of the room (unlike in most of other grey and typical hotels ).
- A warm hospitality. Gilles explained what to do&see in the city, was always welcoming to answer any question and was very patient when I tried to practice my french. He told how to get a car and what neighborhoods of Nice to see (what we did).
- There are food stores, laundry, pharmacy near the site.
- It's very close to rail station (5 minutes of walking);
- it's just a couple of crossroads to the beach.
- A homelike hotel with a few visitors.
- car parking right under the window (for rented car).
- There are a table, microwave oven, plates, cups and washstand in the room so we could cook anytime we wish);
- A balcony in the room;
- A lot of towels;


What could be better:
- If I was succeed to find russian TV channel;
- If I didn't have to pay for late entering after 20:00 (thought I was aware prior to booking);
- If drivers who stopped at a traffic light under the window wouldn't make their volume on full (that is really loud even with closed window) - not good for small babies;

Plus there is a funny dog who meets you in the morning for breakfast :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Cosette and I thank you very for your review. We always trying to increase services and it helps a lot.
It was either a pleasure to welcome you in Hotel Victor hugo Nice and hope you will have the opportunity to come back.

We decided to ask an extra charge of 20 euros because some guests abused and without any request for a late arrival, they arrived between 10:00pm and 11:00pm. That the way we find to avoid it. We are a very small hotel and we cannot be on duty 24 hours, Cosette and I are already in The hotel 7 days a week from 08:00am to 7:00pm...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

You cannot fault the wonderful service you get from Gilles, the manager and his companion, Cosette.
We had a great 3 days and found the hotel, location and facilities fulfilled our criteria completely.
the street noise was there during peak times, but not a problem late at night.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dungog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo Nice

Property: Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Address: 59 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor Hugo Nice is not like other.We welcome you in a completely renovated hotel in 2011. This hotel is in the ground-floor of a 1905 building. The hotel is located on one of the most prestigious avenues in Nice, 5 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais and the beaches, 10 minutes from downtown shopping and the old town.Hotel Victor Hugo, Nice is a charming "hotel meuble" with only 7 rooms. Experience an atmosphere where friendliness and warmth are the watchwords. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing