We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual - in a good way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Ranked #2 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in February. We particularly liked the little kitchenette /diner corner of our spacious room which enabled us to enjoy two delicious deli meals in the comfort of our room after exhausting days of walking, shopping and sightseeing, in which Nice of course excels. The breakfast buffet at no extra cost was a real bonus.The hotel is situated in a nice neighbourhood and felt very secure. Gilles and Cosette (the dog) made for a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Propriétaire at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Cosette and I thank you a lot for your comment. It goes straight to Heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 263 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful, relaxed time. The room was large enough to move around in without bumping into each other. Plenty of hot water; nice floor to ceiling shuttered French windows, which opened (or locked, if you want).
Very centrally located. Old City, Cours de Aleya, Chateau hill park just minutes away. Promendade des Anglais just a couple of blocks south. The shopping district (Jean Medecin and Rue de France) five minutes away. It was great for us, as we wanted to explore central Nice in just a couple of days.
We spent what was billed as the "End of the World" (21st) at the V.H. Gilles quizzed us about our thoughts on all this...whether we should hustle down to Bugurach to watch Armageddon, etc. When we laughed, he didn't look entirely convinced. But I knew that he knew the world wasn't going to end: he collected his room fee for the following, second night ;-)
...And, we had the now famous Cosette--exemplary canine, diminutive but ever watchful--as security team. Lovely pooch.
All in all, a great stay. Highly recommended.
AOM, Halifax, NS, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed in the Rayons et des Ombres room. It was large and comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I consider this hotel/BB of great value. It is not luxurious, but is has all the basics covered at an affordable price. The place has a good location, it is clean, and has a great host/concierge that makes a real difference if you need assistance on your trip. During our stay our trip had unexpected changes and Gilles was very helpful in presenting and arranging alternatives. I would stay there again. I highly recommended it for budget traveling.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the small and cosy hotel. The host, Gilles with his sympatic dog Cosette, was very helpful and friendly. Room was nice and clean. The breakfast was good and versatile. The location was perfect. It was short distance from the City sights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Cosette and I thank you a lot for your review which always help to increase our services.
It was a real pleasure welcoming you.
Gilles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July. The location was ideal, close to all the amenities you need, and a short walk to the train station. The host, Gilles, was very helpful, he provided us with maps, directions, and restaurant reccommendations as soon as we arrived. He even gave us a breakfast to go because we had to take the train early the next morning.
The room and bed were comfortable, the bathroom was small, but pretty standard for a city in France. The ideal location, excellent host, and comfortable room make this a great place to stay if you are in Nice, and the reasonable price is a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This hotel (more like a B&B) is well placed between the Nice train station and the esplanade. The rooms are comfortable and clean although the bathroom might be a little too cozy for some. The host, Gilles and his assistant Cosette (the dog) were attentive and made the stay very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Manager at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thanks a lot for your comment, It is very nice to see that guest understood our work.
Cosette is very happy when she have good comments too...
Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Victor Hugo and really enjoyed it. The hotel is ideally located, an easy walk from the station if arriving by train and close to the beach and restaurant areas. The host Gilles is very friendly and helpful and his dog Cosette is a delight. The breakfast was lovely too. After travelling through Italy where the beds are quite hard this hotel provided a very comfortable bed, lovely fluffy pillows and a good nights sleep. If you are looking for an alternative to the rather impersonal service of large hotels this is the place to stay. It is also a great value hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#7 of 204 in Nice
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo Nice

Address: 59 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: $111 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor Hugo Nice is not like other.We welcome you in a completely renovated hotel in 2011. This hotel is in the ground-floor of a 1905 building. The hotel is located on one of the most prestigious avenues in Nice, 5 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais and the beaches, 10 minutes from downtown shopping and the old town.Hotel Victor Hugo, Nice is a charming "hotel meuble" with only 7 rooms. Experience an atmosphere where friendliness and warmth are the watchwords. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing