We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“25th Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Ranked #2 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“25th Anniversary”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is 'hotel' is formed from a cluster of rooms on the ground floor of an old apartment block, it has it's own door off the main hallway with a reception managed by a very friendly and helpful gentleman. Included in the cost was a buffet breakfast - a small room was set aside to make beverages & select cold food items which could either be eaten there or taken back to the room. The bedroom facilities included television, fridge, microwave, sink, plates & cutlery plus an en-suite and very importantly air conditioning.

The room was comfortable with average decoration (on a par with the price paid), being on the ground floor it did at times suffer from road noise particularly as there are traffic lights not far up the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    82
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
179
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our only problem with this hotel was in finding it in the first place!! its housed inside a large building with no visible signboards at the entrance..make sure you carry maps with you..other than that our stay was extremely comfortable..nice host, clean and spacious rooms..gr8 location..highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_basuMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

-The room has everything necessary and as a plus comes with a kitchenete; the bathroom is small, but it is well equiped and clean;the balcony is not a real one, it is something very small;
the breakfast includes: 2 types of bread, croissants, 2-3 types of cheese, some ham, butter, honey, yogurt, fruits, milk, tea, coffee, orange juice.... hope I remembered all;the position of the hotel is perfect for promenade des l'Anglais, airport, city center, bus stops.... it is perfect from all points of view; The owner Giles is more than kind and his dog Cossete is a friend for everyone; The hotel's building is like a palace; Loved the hotel and Nice and the cities from its vicinity;

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a bit of confusion finding it, I couldn't have asked for a more unexpected treat inside! Gilles met us with his lovely dog Claudette and was easily the nicest host we'd met on our trip. The room was clean and bright, loved the decor. Everything you want to do is within walking distance; shops, great restaurants and the beach. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat, and you can't beat the price. Make sure to ask Gilles how he got his amazing dog--it's a story you won't forget!

Room Tip: The suite on the kitchen side faces the courtyard rather than the street front, great morning light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banannie_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We enjoyed staying at the Hotel Victor Hugo in Nice as it was like arriving home. Rather like a bed and breakfast in a lovely old building on Bd Victor Hugo. We were always welcomed warmly by Gilles and his friendly dog Claudette. All the rooms have a Victor Hugo theme and are bright and clean with comfortable beds, free wi fi, good bathroom and the breakfast room is pleasant with a decent breakfast laid out. It is walking distance to the Promenade des Anglais and the beach, and the Cours Saleya,the heart of the Old town. Bus and trams are convenient for visiting the Chagall and Matisse Museums.
We much prefer this friendly, small and personal accomodation then the big hotels and would recommend the Hotel Victor Hugo.

Room Tip: We had the Guernsey Studio and loved it. Large ,bright and comfortable room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minoumex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks a lot for you very kind comment.
It is very nice to see that guest understood the concept of the hotel.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Ypurs sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a wonderful one night stay at this hotel. The location is great, we were able to walk to the beaches and the Chateau. The host was very welcoming and charming and the room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was nicely laid in the breakfast room, I enjoyed a lot the fresh pastries and fruit. Totally recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillesnice06, Gérant at Hotel Victor Hugo Nice, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comment.
You know we are working very hard to make your stay the most enjoyable possible.
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cooloola cove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Couldn't have picked a better place for our 2 night stay in Nice. Can only agree with everyone, Gilles is a perfect host. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and we were happy with the breakfast. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mabel8822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victor Hugo Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor Hugo Nice

Property: Hotel Victor Hugo Nice
Address: 59 boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victor Hugo Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victor Hugo Nice is not like other.We welcome you in a completely renovated hotel in 2011. This hotel is in the ground-floor of a 1905 building. The hotel is located on one of the most prestigious avenues in Nice, 5 minutes from the Promenade des Anglais and the beaches, 10 minutes from downtown shopping and the old town.Hotel Victor Hugo, Nice is a charming "hotel meuble" with only 7 rooms. Experience an atmosphere where friendliness and warmth are the watchwords. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Victor Hugo Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing