We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westminster Hotel & Spa
Ranked #40 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The hotel Westminster is situated on the promenade des Anglais in Nice. The airport bus stops a few meters away, as do the buses for Anibes, Cannes etc

The rooms are small but luxurious, and the marbled bathrooms the same size as the room!. The beds are super comfy and a good nights sleep is guaranteed!

One can swim across the road from the hotel, but the beach is pebbly and a bit uncomfortable. Beds to hire are available but pricey.

Breakfast can be taken on the patio in summer overlooking the promenade- priceless. The buffet has a wide variety of hot and cold foods.

The staff are very friendly, speak English ( very rare in France) and can assist with tours and info.

Enjoyed our 6 day stay and would recommend to anyone,

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the town , look over roofs of buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank inquisitive4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at Westminister Hotel in Nice, which is facing the beach. Lovely place to relax. very good location. But they did not have proper in-house restaurant for lunch or dinner hence sometimes it was difficult to go out even though there were few joints closer to the restaurant. Some of the staff were very good but some staff at the reception were rude and not helpful particularly the Front Office Manager. He was very rude and was not helpful at all. I felt there was a lot of discrimination. Staff at the restaurant where the breakfast was served were very courteous and always smiling. Overall it was a good hotel.

Room Tip: rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NAYANA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

After a makeover three years ago the Westminster now holds a decent standard for its four stars. Perfectly located on the Promenade des Anglais it is a good choice for city holydays or extended weekends. We enjoyed a light and spacious sea view room with balcony and a luxurious bathroom. Unfortunately the makeover didn´t do much for the sound insulation, even if the air conditioner did it´s best to block the traffic noise. Wi fi only works properly on ground floor. Friendly, efficient and discreet service made us forgive the minor flaws.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room. You don´t want to stay on the Promenade looking at a back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KurtHNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Let me start by saying this Hotel is in the perfect location...clean and the staff was great..
i would go with a upgraded room only becuase the rooms are European (small) i had the room with a balcony...well worth it...walk out the door and so much to see and do...everything is so close by and take the Bus from the airport to the Hotel very cheap and the bus drops you off across the street from the hotel in less than 15 min.....taxi will be more than double the price.
you won't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with the baclony it'll over look the beach...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank pbruno33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We enjoyed the lovely location and the hands on service of the manager ALF>
The hotel has lovely antiques and old world elegance. The patio bar and
breakfast patio is very pleasant and great people watching. It is across
the street from the beach.

Room Tip: try to get a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We checked in and when asked if our room would possibly be ready any earlier than the posted check in time the response was an emphatic "No" with not so much as saying perhaps they would try. I guess we were off on the wrong foot from the start. The room was average with bare minimum soaps shampoo etc. I used a shower cap one morning so not to ruin my hair and threw it out when done (shower caps are disposable!) and they never replaced for the rest of our stay. Hot water did not work in the evenings when getting ready to go out for the night the response from the front desk "too many guests showering under the same water column and we would have hot water by the morning. This is unacceptable in a large hotel. It is not like we were staying at a campsite. The front desk was not at all helpful in knowing where anything was in the area. Each time I asked the response was "I can not be sure" I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere on the promenade. The views are great and both the west end and le royal hotels both looked very nice and were less expensive than Westminster. Again, the view was great however all the hotels on the promenade have a water view.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelGirl1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel Westminster is a warm inviting hotel conveniently located for everything in Nice, except bus #15 up to the Matisse Muesum. It was a long walk to that particular bus but only 10 minutes to the train station. The staff was helpful; they gave me an upgrade to a beautifully appointed room overlooking the water; and my hairdryer was fixed within 10 minutes of asking them. The maid service was good and the breakfasts on the patio overlooking the water were great. Mostly I was impressed with the staff who surprisingly to me were much more helpful and patient than any of the other hotels I stayed at in Provence. They really seemed to appreciate foreign tourists.
The restaurant was good, but not outstanding.

Room Tip: If you want a room overlooking the water expect some noise from the motorcycle traffic along the Pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosaliesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel West End
#37 of 203 in Nice
1,252 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#82 of 203 in Nice
2,175 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 203 in Nice
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westminster Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westminster Hotel & Spa

Address: 27 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Hotel Westminster)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nice
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $104 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westminster Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Westminster Hotel & Spa is situated in the heart of Nice facing the sea, on the Promenade des Anglais, just a few steps from the luxury shopping area and the historic streets of the old town of Nice. With this amazing location comes the newly renovated restaurant Le Duc and Le Bar W, both with unique terraces and incredible views overlooking the Promenade and the sea. Le Spa 27 welcomes you for moment of cocooning and enticement of your senses with 400m², 5 treatment cabins, jacuzzi, heated counter current swimming pool and sensorial shower and bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Westminster Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westminster Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing