We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Comte de Nice
Ranked #142 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel is well situated at about 100 meters from the tramway which is itself at 5 minutes from the beach. The host and the service was very good for a two star standard hotel. Furthermore, the recetionnists were very qualified(speaking several different languages) and friendly.
The only negative point is the facade of the building that needed to be renovated.To conclude,I had a nice stay and the hotel offers a good quality for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_sanchez456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerComte, Front Desk staff at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear Mr Sanchez
Thank you very much for your comment. Only with the feedback of our guests it is possible for us to improve our service. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Currently we are renovating the hotel. But this wasn’t possible in the high season. Hopefully you will enjoy your next stay with us as good as the last one or even more.
We would be grateful to welcome you again. Remember the 10% regular costumer discount which you get if you book directly with us.
Kind regards,
Hôtel Comté de Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 765 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the end of July 2012 and we visited Nice, Monte Carlo and Cannes.

This hotel was a little gem in a great location if you want to be away from all of the noisy hustle and bustle of a big city, but still want to be able to get to where it's happening with some ease.

On arrival we had the choice of two rooms (ground floor and second floor). We chose the second floor and was pleased to get a room right at the end of the corridor away from the lifts and people coming and going. I must say, it was very quiet, day and night. Yes, it was hot in the room but what else do you expect at the end of July?! The rooms do not have air conditioning but a fan is provided and although this is not as good as aircon, it's better than nothing at all. The view from the small window was of some ramshackled apartments, but we didn't go there to stand and look out of our hotel room so who cares? The only thing we would have liked was a shower. There was a shower head over the bath, but nothing to attach it to on the wall which is where Comte de Nice let themselves down just a little. The room was small but very clean and all you need for a three night stay.

The staff were always friendly and helpful and spoke English very well. We did not choose to have the breakfast as I do not think there was much of a choice and being Brits, we were able to enjoy a good old fashioned, cheap McDonalds breakfast which was a short two-hop stop on the tram or a good 5 minute walk. The only thing we can say about the hotel (although this is not a complaint) is that the lift was sometimes very slow. There is a staircase but it looked like something out a medieval castle and you have to hold on to the rail very tight for fear of falling!! It was comical after a few drinks.

The location of Comte De Nice is excellent. You are a short 2 minute walk from the top of Jean de Medecin where you can hop on the tram which for a Euro a trip, will take you all the way down to the front, old town and the heart of Nice. You can walk it, which we did on the first day but it takes a good 20 minutes at an average pace. One word of warning here is that the trams are always packed. Just when you think no more passengers could possibly fit on, more cram in and you end up with somebody's armpit in your face! Although you are not on for long enough for this to be a problem, it can be a bit worrying when you try to get off for your stop as you have to squeeze through everybody and fight your way to the door in about 10 seconds. Probably would not advise this for old people or families with pushchairs!! The bonus to this is that we stopped paying after the first day. We never saw a conductor or anyone like that. You basically pay a Euro at the machine at the tramstops (if you can figure it out), get your tickets but when you get on the tram, don't bother to validate them in the small machine. If you do see an instructor (we never did in three days), just plead ignorance as it quite complicated to figure out how it all works anyway. I think a LOT of people do this!

If you are a fan of Indian food (we are from Birmingham after all) and you can find it, we highly recommend a small restaurant called the Delhi Belli. It's located down a small narrow back street near the centre of the old town but it's a fantastic, reasonably priced Indian meal.

If you want to visit Cannes or Monte Carlo, simply jump on the free tram two stops to the Gare de Nice train station. Most of the time we walked here as it took about 7 mins from the hotel and you get to see the small fruit market which is nice first thing in the morning. On entering the station, do a left and get in the large queue for the train tickets. It moves pretty quick but the people on the desks seem to speak good English. We found the trains very easy to use and the double decker ones are great!

We went here specifically to visit Monte Carlo, but enjoyed Cannes much more. If you are not a massive fan of walking, we highly recommend doing the little train tour around both Monte Carlo and Cannes for 10 Euro each. You learn a lot about the cities and saves your legs for the shopping later on. Cannes is the only one of the three cities that actually has a sandy beach.

Anyway, we cannot praise Comte de Nice highly enough and we had a very good experience there. I cannot guarantee you the same as we were lucky and got a great room. Also, we are quite easily pleased and everybody has different tastes etc. but in our opinion it was a great little cheap hotel and we would definitely go back there!

Room Tip: Try and get at the end of the corridor or somwhere near if you can. The back will always be a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerComte, Front Desk at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear guest

We are glad to read that you had such a nice stay with us and in Nice. It is our ambition, to make our guests happy and their holidays a perfect dream.
All of our rooms are corresponding to a 2 star hotel. But you can also book a studio. They are equipped with air conditioning and a kitchenette. All our studios are in a quiet location in the back of the hotel.
Our hotel is situated in a quiet area of the city, but only 5 minutes away from the city center if you take the tram for 1€. But we highly recommend having a valid ticket every journey. You can buy a ticket for 3 days or a week as well. But there are definitely controls and it is expensive without a valid ticket.
Thank you very much for your nice words about the staff at the reception. We find an answer for every question and try hard to satisfy every guest.
Nice is a very good starting point to explore the surrounding. You have access to Monaco, Cannes, Vence and even the mountains here. Do you know that a bus ticket to these locations only costs 1€? And during the journey you have a wonderful view of the mountains, the sea and nature.

Thank you for taking the time to personally write us your feedback. We would be glad to welcome you back at our hotel. Don’t forget the 10% discount, if you book directly with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed for five nights in a triple room on the fourth floor in August of Comte de Nice Hotel. The room was small and the bathroom was extremely cramped. But the real problem was that the building was preheated much during the day and the room was extremely stuffy, airless. We could not sleep. Even a fan switched at night did not help much. Also, my bed was too short.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piosku67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerComte, Front Office Manager at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Dear guest
I really am sorry about the inconveniences you suffered during your stay. We try our best to make every stay an unforgettable holiday for our guests. That is why our guests get the choice between two rooms. Normally they can have a look in both rooms and decide which one is the best. Haven’t you had the choice?
Have you talked to the staff of the reception? You could have changed the room or got an upgrade to one of our studios which are equipped with air conditioning and a small kitchenette.

I hope we get the chance to prove, that we can do it better. If you book with us again, don’t forget the 10% regular costumer discount. Perhaps one of our studios or the Suite with a roof garden and air conditioning could come up to your expectance.

Kind regards
Your front desk staff
Hôtel Comte de Nice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the beach, although it is right next to a tram stop as well. Plenty of other cafes and shops all around the hotel, but down towards the beach and old town is where it's all happening. Service was friendly and helpful, and there is the option of secure parking for 13.5 euros a night which is pretty good. Rooms were small (particularly the bathroom) and with no air-con (as everyone on trip advisor complains about), but there was a fan, and really for the price of the room in a city like Nice in high season, you will not find much else for better value.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor (after looking at one on the 5th floor which seemed very dark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heihil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerComte, Front desk at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. The tram stop is not even 5 minutes away and a ticket only costs 1 euro. For the next time you could book an apartment in which we have air-conditioning and even a kitchenette. And you’d even get a 10% regular costumer discount if you book directly with us.

Kind regards
Your front desk staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is very easy to access from airport - , free airport bus from terminal 2 to terminal 1 then No 23 bus (1 euro) to Liberation about 45 minutes. Good price for a basic, clean, no frills hotel in a very good location. We were not offered a choice of rooms and were allocated a room with only a skylight which was very hot and claustrophobic. A good buffet selection for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Close to the hotel is a bustling fruit and veg market on every morning except Monday. We were a 30 minute walk to Chagall museum and from there a further 30 minute walk to Matisse museum both worth a visit (Free on 1st and 3rd Sunday of the month). It is about 30 minute stroll (or a short tram ride) through the main shopping street to the promenade and old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a good hotel with very friendly, helpful staff. Breakfasts were lovely and rooms good. It could benefit from air conditioning. It was stifling in the room and hard to sleep. It was well positioned for city centre as long as you didnt mind a 15 minute walk. Very quiet area and good for a couple of day stay

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerComte, Front Desk Team at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest
I was really pleased to read your complimentary comments about our team. For the next time you can book an apartment which has air-conditioning. Our hotel is a city hotel. It’s very central (2 min to the Tramstation, 10 min to the railway station and 15 min walking to the beach) but still not in the main street.
We hope we have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel. If you book directly with us we even grant you a 10% regular costumer discount

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

PROS
• Late check-in was ideal for us
• Baggage room, useful when onward travel is after check out time
• Close to railway station, good for us, but not the greatest location, that said it is close to the tram, putting the beach only 10 minutes away. (€1)
• Free Wi-Fi (only in lobby)
• Friendly and helpful staff, perfect English. Knowledgeable concerning local travel.

CONS
• Small room, (attic) sloping roof, not very spacious at all. (probably contributed to the temperature of the room)
• No AC, definitely necessary in July/August.
• NO SHOWER. Bath tub with shower head, but no facility to actually shower, very impractical.
• No fridge in room

Overall we were not overly impressed with the hotel. In its defence it was the cheapest stay we could find only 3 days in advance. Others have said it is a good, cheap place from which to explore Nice, which holds some weight if you aren’t bothered by the lack of a shower and AC. We warn against staying here in the height of summer and urge anyone that does to request not to be on the top (5th) floor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieandClyde2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerComte, Front Office team at Hotel Comte de Nice, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest,
Many thanks for your comment. I am very sorry to hear that we couldn’t fulfil all your wishes to the fullest. Since we have a bathtub a wall mounted shower doesn’t seems necessary although we have a few rooms with wall mounted showers. Please don’t hesitate to ask at the reception whether there is a possibility to change to a room with wall mounted shower if you prefer that. Or you could book room 110 in advance where we have a massage shower. The apartments in our Hotel are very spacious and they have air conditioning. If you have something to put in the fridge feel free to ask if we could put it in the fridge since we have one behind the reception. If it’s possible for us we would surely do that.
Once again I am truly sorry we couldn’t meet your expectations nevertheless we hope we have the chance to welcome you back in our hotel and don’t forget if you book directly with us we grant you a 10% regular costumer discount!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#113 of 204 in Nice
247 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#92 of 204 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comte de Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comte de Nice

Address: 29 rue de Dijon, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $40 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comte de Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An effordable small hotel in the city with multilingual staff in the center of Nice, yet quietly situated. The tram , bus stop for the airport bus and the train station are merely a short walk away , so that you can easily visit other cities such as Monaco, Cannes, Antibes etc... The Chagall museum and the Russian cathedral are also within walking distance. 55 rooms and 10 studios with small kitchen, with private bathrooms and SAT TV with intern. Channels - free WIFI- Buffet breakfast, private car park, 24H reception desk with multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Comte de Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing