We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well positioned........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Ranked #9 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Puy-l'Eveque, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well positioned........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

.......just three blocks or so behind the Casino on the Esplanade des Anglais, the hotel is very convenient for the sea front, shops and restaurants. Nice modern interior, friendly helpful staff who all speak English. Standard bedrooms are a little small but well equipped and spotlessly clean. Great value for money.

The breakfast room looked delightful but sadly we had to leave at 0730 when serving commenced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpymikefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    245
    46
    8
    7
See reviews for
62
346
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place is a good base for exploring Nice and beyond. It is close to the seafront and the train station meaning access to transport and the region is only 5-10 minutes in either direction. The room was great, clean and fresh with plenty of storage, good beds and a large bathroom considering the relative price in Nice. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Perhaps the only thing missing was in room tea/coffee facilities but with shops/cafes all around it was not really a hardship.A great find all round!

Room Tip: If you get a room directly overlooking the Rue de Victor Hugo be warned it is a busy road so can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were told that our room wasn't ready as we were early. The hotel's check in time was an our later than Expedia had told us. Not a big deal, we sat in the pleasant reception area until it was ready. We weren't offered a drink from the bar and the member of staff on reception didn't engage at all with us. Our room was lovely, very spacious and airy with full length windows looking out onto a church. The bathroom was shiny and new and the shower was a pleasure to use. Location wise we thought it was perfect, not even a 5 minute walk to a Main Street with many shops and restaurants and about a 15 minute walk to the old town. We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel as the breakfast room was a windowless room in the basement which we didn't fancy. Instead we nipped around the corner to a lovely little boulangerie and sat outside enjoying the autumn sunshine - parfait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Everything but the elevator was very new. Design hotel. The location is very good. I have done a deep search and this hotel has (imo) the best price/quality ratio. Breakfast is not expensive and average if compared with coffees or other hotels.
The lift could be improved (Painted? and a new floor?)
Not directly about the hotel - Car Parking in Nice is very expensive. 24hours - 28€ in some parks. There are 2 parks close to the hotel. The Louvre is the cheapest one.

Room Tip: Confort Double Room is nice for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rbabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills
Level Contributor
142 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I only stayed here 2 nights but it was the right choice.I made the decision not from reviews here but on Booking.com where I booked the room from.They had newer reviews which revealed the truth about this lovely place! We had a junior suite on the top floor with great views and silence too.Staff and amenities were great and a nice location. NICE for the price as well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Shame that the overall ratings for this place are so low - it was an excellent choice for my stay in Nice. Reading past reviews, it seems the hotel was of poor quality before its renovation. Now however it has lovely rooms and great service.

A 10 minute from the train station, it is situated close to a main road in the heart of the shopping district. It is also fairly close to the old town and coast, giving it a great location overall.

The room was decently spacious and new, with a large (by French hotel standards) bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable and my room had a small balcony overlooking the street. WiFi worked seamlessly in my room and was easy to log into.

Had the buffet breakfast, which for 12 euro was decent if not amazing. They did have an awesome pastry though the morning I ate there. Service was friendly and helped arrange a taxi for my early morning flight.

Overall after their supposed renovation this hotel is quite a steal. Highly recommended by me.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kielce, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Perfect place to stay in Nice. Hotels at the famous Promenade des Anglais are horribly expensive, and this one offers a great location at a good price. It is located at a pretty street just a few minutes walk from the Promenade and the sea.

Comfortable beds, clean, big rooms and bathrooms, air-condition. free Wi-Fi, safe in the room big enough to house any laptop. Friendly staff. Lots of restaurants and bars within five minutes walk from the hotel.

Breakfast is not included and 12 EUR for rather modest buffet or 6 for "continental" (two small croissants, coffee and juice) is a bit too much. You may eat much better for much less thanks to one of grocery stores nearby.

Warning: when taking a taxi in Nice negotiate the price first or ask the driver to switch on the meter. Several times we saw "libre" (free) on the meter and the price depended on the current mood of the driver. Ask the reception, and they'll provide punctual and comfortable transport to the airport at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZIS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Nice Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Nice Victor Hugo

Property: La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Address: 19 bis Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#19 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Nice Victor Hugo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Victor Hugo Boulevard, Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo is right in the center of Nice, a 15-minute walk from the Vieux Nice district. It features contemporary guest rooms decorated in white and gray tones, along with elegant lounges and a bar which are open 24-hours a day. Near the sea, pedestrian and shopping areas, the historic quarter, restaurants and cafes, the hotel enjoys a perfect location for both business travelers and tourists.Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo features free Wi-Fi and is within walking distance of the Promenade des Anglais. There is an underground public parking lot across the street from the hotel.Nice train station is a 10-minute walk away, and Nice-Cote-d'Azur Airport is 5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Villa Nice Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing