We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa Nice Victor Hugo
Ranked #12 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had booked this hotel on line by mistake but really it has been fabulous Arrived early and were allowed to leave luggage. Free wifi and room with balcony terrific . staff on 24/7 clean towels without asking. The hotel is very central for all Nice They have a list of staff at reception which indicates what languages they each speak We loved it !!!! Great value for money and a great find We will be back,

Room Tip: We chose comfortable option and were given room on boulevard victor hugo lots of traffic but muted a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 648 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

hotel is new, very beautiful, room was clean. staff is helpful.
although we were not given the iron due to the security reasons - so we had to take on the crumpled clothes.
they did not give us a complimentary breakfast (in our birthday)
breakfast is fine, but there was no hot dish as omlette or scrambled eggs.
lift is a disaster. will be fasted to use the stairs.
location is great! close to everything! 7 min walk to the seaside (Promenade), 4 min to Massena str, 3 min walk to Jean Medicin str (tram), 15 min walk to the train station.
russian tourists like this hotel.
design is very nice.
we really liked this hotel

Room Tip: great location, good hotel. recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed five nights in july and was amazed of how fresh, clean and well-run this hotel was. Being a three star hotel one does not expect too much but we found it to be very nice. Well-sized room, large and fresh bathroom and very comfortable bed. The location is 5-7 minutes walk from the beach and the same for the old part of Nice. Everyone spoke English fluently.
All in all an excellent choice if you don't need a pool.
Only negative is that there was no minibar or fridge in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007AWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for the last three nights of our holiday in France. I'd only booked it a few days before we left realising that Nice was spectacularly busy that weekend as it was Bastille Day...,

I was unsure how good it would be but it was beautifully decorated throughout - very modern 'chateau' style which I loved. Big comfy bed, nice open shower etc - all very new fittings. My only issues were 1) the first member of staff we met a man was lovely, spoke excellent English and was very helpful but we never saw him again and the rest were not so friendly. 2) we reported immediately after we arrived on the Saturday that there was damage to to the bathroom doorframe meaning we could not close the door. Although the lady apologised she offered no solution except it would be fixed on Monday ( it wasn't). We actually thought that someone had tried to force it shut and hence the damage so we think it had been like that for a while . Lastly the lift was minuscule if you were on the large side you wouldn't get in it!
However overall it was a lovely hotel in a great location (5 mins from beach and old town). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shantele72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights from June 20th. 2 adults and 2 kids in 2 Executive rooms.

Hotel was just taken over several months back, newly renovated completely just before we got there. The more expensive Executive rooms we booked were very spacious, and the bathrooms were practically enormous in comparison to the other places we stayed in France. Everything was still spanking new when we were there.

Some small teething problems when we were there, nothing serious, and likely to be ironed out once they get more experience. Aircon is not central, but instead individual to rooms and a little finicky to get the temperature right. Bathroom windows needed a touch more glazing at the top to ensure complete privacy as they felt a little too "open", given proximity to other buildings. Furnishings a little sparse but will probably improve once they get enough customer feedback!

Staff was efficient, friendly always when we communicated with them.

Just be careful if you have large bags. The tiny lift fits 3 people at a time, or one person and one large bag. I had to make 3 trips up and down. The main staircase spirals around the lift and is difficult to maneuver with a large bag.

Location is great. It's near all the touristy areas without being too noisy and crowded. The Old Town, the main shopping street, the Promenade is just 5-10 minutes walk away. And Asian tourists might want to note that Chinatown is between the hotel and the train station, and there are tons of Asian restaurants 5-10 mins walk away. There's a large supermarket and a number of boulangeries within 5 minutes walk as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArthurChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent location, walking distance from old town, beach, casino, night life and happenings
Small reception and not always polite staff, no help for luggage, tiny elevator, and parking a bit problematic
Breakfast area in -1, breakfast nothing special but there are many shops around
Coffee on the expensive side (4€)
Rooms are recently renovated, spacious and clean, good bedding
Bathroom clean, good size - I wish there was a shelf to put shampoos etc so that I was not obliged to put everything on the floor(!)
Only problem was the air condition, hard to set, so it was either freezing cold or off

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amalia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Centrally situated, within easy walking distance of shops, old town, restaurants, museums.
Modern decor.
Only problem was the lack of hanging space for anything longer than a jacket but some remodelling of the shelves solved this! The hairdryer could do with a longer flex too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannyasapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 203 in Nice
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Nice Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Nice Victor Hugo

Address: 19 bis Boulevard Victor Hugo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $80 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Nice Victor Hugo 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Victor Hugo Boulevard, Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo is right in the center of Nice, a 15-minute walk from the Vieux Nice district. It features contemporary guest rooms decorated in white and gray tones, along with elegant lounges and a bar which are open 24-hours a day. Near the sea, pedestrian and shopping areas, the historic quarter, restaurants and cafes, the hotel enjoys a perfect location for both business travelers and tourists.Hotel La Villa Nice Victor Hugo features free Wi-Fi and is within walking distance of the Promenade des Anglais. There is an underground public parking lot across the street from the hotel.Nice train station is a 10-minute walk away, and Nice-Cote-d'Azur Airport is 5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your La Villa Nice Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing