We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located but small rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #38 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well located but small rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed on the second floor. Lift was available but the stairs were fine. Room was very small and my husband and I had to co-ordinate moving past each other to get to the bathroom or the wardrobe. I found it best to move sideways to get around the edge of the bed. It was clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable.

The street noise didn't wake me up as the double glazing worked well, but I could hear my neighbours in the next room speaking. Breakfast was buffet style and kept topped up.

There were restaurants very close and the tram stop at the end of the street allowed easy access to other parts of Nice. Location wise it was very good with easy access to the station (we travelled by train).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    331
    139
    26
    6
See reviews for
81
297
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed with my partner for 4 nights during September this year. The hotel is right in the centre of Nice with easy access to local transport and underground parking only 100 yds away. We hired a car from the airport through Hertz which initially was problematic as they didn't have our car we ordered and tried to upgrade us to a huge jeep. Underground parking access is narrow with low ceilings so eventually we managed to get an appropriate vehicle for our stay. Cannes and Antibes are not far away and eating out doesn't have to break the bank. There are lots of outdoor cafe's to relax and have a drink but beer is quite expensive, wine is well priced. Toll charges are in place on the motorways so be mindful of how far you go. We went into Italy for the day and it cost us 18 euros. The Palm Beach in Cannes is free as is the parking the beach itself is lovely although quite small. A really pleasant stay overall and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteSue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

A friend I stayed for 2 nights & found the hotel very good value for money. The rooms are exceptionally small but very functional. Very clean, which is always important for me. Less than 10 minutes walk to the beach & train station in both directions.
The hotel staff at reception where are really helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed at the Boreal for one week as part of a Treyn touring holiday and found it very basic. Upon arrival we were allocated our room and when we opened the door, found that it had been trashed and all the furniture including the beds had been tipped over. We were given a room on the ground floor, which was dark and dingy but appeared to be larger than the rest of the rooms, which were very small, so we decided to keep it, as we spent very little time in it anyway.
The guy on reception was quite helpful and friendly, which did help.
The breakfast was quite good with a fair selection, However the scrambled eggs were usually cold, so it was always a continental breakfast.
It is situated in a good position for the railway station and the beach and is in the heart of the shops. Don't think that I would stay there again, actually I wouldn't.

Room Tip: Not sure that there is any
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Arrived 27th aug 2013 to discover travel firm had went into liquidation man at reception very helpful so we stayed first night. Next day female member of staff very unpleasant, she was only interested in getting paid and had no sympathy for our plight wanted almost doublet he price we originaly had paid and wasnt interested in reducing price or giving us a deal, small room and unpleasant atmosphere. Checked into next hotel in the street with lovely staff ,room and breakfast also much more modern. GRAND HOTEL le florance. Brill.our agent had gone bust

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel proved to be exceptional value for money. It is perfectly located just a 10 minute walk from the train station and a 10-15 minute walk to the beach and Old Town. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and had recently been renovated. The staff were very welcoming and helpful in recommending places to visit and eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshgunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small and basic hotel a few blocks from the city centre, you can walk easily with 5 minutes or so. The rooms are quite small but offering all the basics you need. Never felt the need to see if the hotel had a restaurant, the city centre is just too close for that. Cleanliness ok, price is fair. Could stay here again for a short visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faustino_Asprilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Aria
#22 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Property: Hotel Boreal
Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing