We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Wanted good proximity for beach for station, hotel was well located for both. Hotel was short walk from station bus stop. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is located just 50yards from tram line. Room was fine and well kept. Complimentary mini bottle of wine on arrival.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Abu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    331
    139
    26
    6
See reviews for
81
297
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

As other reviewers have stated, good location, close to everything of interest and fairly well
Priced considering we were there in the peak season.
Pros: staff very helpful and polite, rooms, although smallish, were clean and reasonably well maintained this includes the wet areas. The beds were comfortable, pillows pretty good and the complimentary wine was a nice touch. Each room has a small safe which does come in handy at times. Shower worked well, no problem with the pressure or having enough hot water. The air con did its job and didn't miss a beat.
Cons: The only real downfall for me was no fridge in the room and the wafer thin walls. We could hear everything from people walking up the stairs to some other noises that to this day remain a mystery....
Would I stay here again, absolutely, no problem at all and yes I would recommend it to a friend,

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the main staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arrow9022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a short break to Nice mid August. Booked it based on Trip Advisor reviews and price. We expected basic but it was much, much better than that. Our room was not only comfortable but spotlessly clean and the complimentary mini bottle of wine and nibbles was a nice touch. We didn't pre-book breakfast but had it two mornings and the help yourself buffet offered plenty of choice at €13pp. The location is fabulous - a pleasant 10 minute walk to the beach, station and old town. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this Hotel due to its proximity to the Centre and Old town of Nice. The staff were so very friendly and make the whole stay a very personal experience. We had booked a twin room but asked for a double on arrival which they kindly changed for us. Unfortunately, we did have a problem with the air conditioning unit leaking, which took a few days to sort out, but they had called the engineers, they just had to keep coming back to fix it! The room was quite small, but bed was soooo comfortable and immaculately cleaned - to be honest, we weren't in it for long, so much to see and do in Nice!
The breakfast was amazing! Much more than we expected as a continental breakfast and they were constantly re-stocking everything up during the breakfast service - well done Hotel Boreal!

I would thoroughly recommend staying here, its small, perfectly positioned and friendly!

Room Tip: Don't worry if you get a room on the front, its not noisy and it only leads to an underground ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKPSussex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place felt more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The staff was lovely! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The staff here really have passion for what they do. A lot of the guests who stayed here were frequent repeat guests.

Hotel is in a great location. It's very central and right by the bus and train. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. Room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was pristine. They were a good size especially for the triple room I stayed in.

If you are thinking about making a few day trips to other towns, the train is just a couple blocks away. I would also recommend asking the staff about small group tours that they can arranged. The tours are well worth the value and saves a lot of that travel time that you'll have to coordinate on your own with public transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was close to a tram stop along the main shopping district, between the beach and the railway station, and being where it was made getting around Nice very handy, and certainly made the 5-day travel pass worth every penny.

The hotel was a nice hotel, enough space in the rooms with a good sized bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was very nice, though perhaps a little more costly than some people would expect, so make sure you fill up.

While it was placed near the main shopping district, it was not noisy at all and you could get a good nights sleep with an early breakfast to set you up for the day.

Being so close to the tram stop means you can pop back during the day without much hassle, to refresh or pick up / drop things off then get on with your day.

The service was second to none, very helpful front end staff and you couldn't ask for any better service.

A short review perhaps but all in all, a great little Hotel that I would stay in again and is literally only a minutes walk from the tram stop

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just come back from a short break in Nice; first time I've visited the town and thought it was a great destination with lots to do. The hotel helped make us feel settled during our visit, and knowing it was right in the centre of town was very reassuring for a worried tourist! The room was comfortable and clean, working air-con and TV, and the staff on the desk were fantastic and spoke English which was ever so helpful (although they were very patient and kind when I did try to use some phrases now and then!). Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Aria
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Property: Hotel Boreal
Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing