We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #32 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place felt more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. The staff was lovely! Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The staff here really have passion for what they do. A lot of the guests who stayed here were frequent repeat guests.

Hotel is in a great location. It's very central and right by the bus and train. Lots of shops and restaurants in the area. Room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was pristine. They were a good size especially for the triple room I stayed in.

If you are thinking about making a few day trips to other towns, the train is just a couple blocks away. I would also recommend asking the staff about small group tours that they can arranged. The tours are well worth the value and saves a lot of that travel time that you'll have to coordinate on your own with public transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    336
    142
    26
    6
See reviews for
85
300
54
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was close to a tram stop along the main shopping district, between the beach and the railway station, and being where it was made getting around Nice very handy, and certainly made the 5-day travel pass worth every penny.

The hotel was a nice hotel, enough space in the rooms with a good sized bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was very nice, though perhaps a little more costly than some people would expect, so make sure you fill up.

While it was placed near the main shopping district, it was not noisy at all and you could get a good nights sleep with an early breakfast to set you up for the day.

Being so close to the tram stop means you can pop back during the day without much hassle, to refresh or pick up / drop things off then get on with your day.

The service was second to none, very helpful front end staff and you couldn't ask for any better service.

A short review perhaps but all in all, a great little Hotel that I would stay in again and is literally only a minutes walk from the tram stop

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just come back from a short break in Nice; first time I've visited the town and thought it was a great destination with lots to do. The hotel helped make us feel settled during our visit, and knowing it was right in the centre of town was very reassuring for a worried tourist! The room was comfortable and clean, working air-con and TV, and the staff on the desk were fantastic and spoke English which was ever so helpful (although they were very patient and kind when I did try to use some phrases now and then!). Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for four nights during the Tour de France time trial. The hotel was in a great central location near shops, restaurants and public transport. Staff were helpful, spoke excellent English and very friendly. Rooms were clean and tidy (a little dated decor), but a nice modern bathroom
The big downfall was the soundproofing - we had a couple move into the room next to us after night one and we could here every conversation, the TV and the most awful snoring I have ever heard - he even woke his wife up several times. We couldn't sleep due to this and was a real let down. Didn't bother trying to move rooms as i'm sure all the walls would be similar and it was very busy so most rooms would be booked. A shame as this hotel has everything else going for it and is well priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lovely hotel which is very central to the shops, trams and restaurants / bars. Modern bathroom and comfortable bed . Tea/coffee available in the rooms and the small bottle of complimentary wine was a lovely touch!! The reception staff were excellent and went out of their way to help me when I required help with calls which I was unable to make due to my lack of French language.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic. Very close to shopping, restaurants and tram.

Rooms are small but clean and functional. Basic breakfast but tasty and fresh. The manger is British and can be helpful if you do not know French.

Overall, it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemanthfuture1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have recently visited Nice on a Treyn holiday. This hotel is well positioned for the train station which on a train holiday was very important. In addition it was equally well positioned for the tram route, the old town, the sea front and numerous restaurants. The hotel staff were very pleasant and language wasn't a problem. The room was small but had adequate storage space and a modern bathroom. The breakfast was buffet style with no limit on how much you ate and the selection was very good. There wasn't a restaurant for dinner in the hotel, however, there was one a few yards from the front door and many within a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller201023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Aria
#22 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel les Cigales
#51 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#34 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Property: Hotel Boreal
Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing