We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place would like to come back”
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #49 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here with my family for one week and found the hotel to be perfect in every term. From the moment we checked in every process was very smooth. Property looked well maintained and very clean. Staff was very attentive and hardworking. Every request was considered. Rooms were nicely decorated with lots of fabric and had everything that we needed. Facilities were amazing and my kids enjoyed a lot. I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillelN651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 696 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good budget hotel, cheap and clean, near to train station and shopping, not too far from the beach either or the old town and quiet. Free little bottle of wine was a nice touch. Rooms small but not too crowded for a weekend stay. Only downside is the air con doesnt really change the room temp and the rooms are quite warm. Leaving the window open was a better option ! As such, great hotel spring/autumn when air con is an extra not a necessity!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rinkyandmerlin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here in May 2012. Hotel was chosen because it was affordable and close to the train station in Nice. We were staying in Nice but travelling to Monaco daily for the Monaco Grand Prix. Hotel was perfect for this.

Staff helpful, friendly and always smiling (even with 20 + people looking to check in at once!)

Everything you need from transport to food to shopping etc is within walking distance. I would absolutely stay again.

My one complaint was the wifi was down for the entire duration of our stay but that was only a minor issue.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanjoMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on a side street off the main shopping street. It is about a ten minute walk to the beach and old town in one direction and ten minutes to the train station in the other direction. A small supermarket is a couple of doors away. Hotel is very clean and our room for a couple and a child was a reasonable size. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and there was no quibble when we asked for extra milk. Breakfast had plenty of choice with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausages, meat, cheese and dried fruits and nuts - you would have to be very fussy not to find something to your taste. A nice feature is the juicer machine to make fresh orange juice. Beds were firm and comfortable. It has a lounge for guests which was useful to shelter from some unseasonal rain! Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very good location for a city hotel, easy to walk to all parts of Nice.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, there was always a good choice at the buffet, something for all tastes.
The kettle in our room was much appreciated, a pity there wasn't a small fridge for some milk.
WiFi was free and readily available, including throughout our room.
The only significant criticism would be the room was a bit on the small side.....but in our experience this is typical of continental city hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We think we were lucky by choosing this hotel from the list which our travel agent gave us.
Easy to reach it from airport, we were greeted by a friendly attitude.
Very well located to reach fast the departure points for almost all directions of the Cote d'Azur.
Nice, clean rooms, large enough for two ( ours was at the back of the building, and had a small balcony - good for smokers ). Sufficient breakfast for all tastes ( I believe that ).
We strongly recommend this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank Caralumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed with Hotel Boreal at the beginning of April and received a 50 Euro discount per person (3 people in one room). While there we received great friendly service, which was refreshing from most of the cold-shouldered attitudes we received elsewhere. Whenever we had a request, it was met with professionalism and kindness. Even though one of us spoke French, all staff were able to communicate in English. Our room was not only comfortable but above our original standards--it gave a clean, modern European feel. The drains needed cleaning and the shower a bit of care, but overall the effort put into the appearance of the hotel was evident and appealing. No more than a twenty minute walk from most recommended attractions in Nice, including the beaches and Old Town. Thank you, Hotel Boreal!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#66 of 203 in Nice
167 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Vendome
#51 of 203 in Nice
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $69 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing