We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect if you just want a to lay your hat down in a clean, convenient place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boreal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Boreal
Ranked #33 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect if you just want a to lay your hat down in a clean, convenient place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed here in May 2012. Hotel was chosen because it was affordable and close to the train station in Nice. We were staying in Nice but travelling to Monaco daily for the Monaco Grand Prix. Hotel was perfect for this.

Staff helpful, friendly and always smiling (even with 20 + people looking to check in at once!)

Everything you need from transport to food to shopping etc is within walking distance. I would absolutely stay again.

My one complaint was the wifi was down for the entire duration of our stay but that was only a minor issue.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanjoMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    331
    139
    26
    6
See reviews for
81
297
53
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on a side street off the main shopping street. It is about a ten minute walk to the beach and old town in one direction and ten minutes to the train station in the other direction. A small supermarket is a couple of doors away. Hotel is very clean and our room for a couple and a child was a reasonable size. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and there was no quibble when we asked for extra milk. Breakfast had plenty of choice with fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausages, meat, cheese and dried fruits and nuts - you would have to be very fussy not to find something to your taste. A nice feature is the juicer machine to make fresh orange juice. Beds were firm and comfortable. It has a lounge for guests which was useful to shelter from some unseasonal rain! Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A very good location for a city hotel, easy to walk to all parts of Nice.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, there was always a good choice at the buffet, something for all tastes.
The kettle in our room was much appreciated, a pity there wasn't a small fridge for some milk.
WiFi was free and readily available, including throughout our room.
The only significant criticism would be the room was a bit on the small side.....but in our experience this is typical of continental city hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plantlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We think we were lucky by choosing this hotel from the list which our travel agent gave us.
Easy to reach it from airport, we were greeted by a friendly attitude.
Very well located to reach fast the departure points for almost all directions of the Cote d'Azur.
Nice, clean rooms, large enough for two ( ours was at the back of the building, and had a small balcony - good for smokers ). Sufficient breakfast for all tastes ( I believe that ).
We strongly recommend this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Caralumba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed with Hotel Boreal at the beginning of April and received a 50 Euro discount per person (3 people in one room). While there we received great friendly service, which was refreshing from most of the cold-shouldered attitudes we received elsewhere. Whenever we had a request, it was met with professionalism and kindness. Even though one of us spoke French, all staff were able to communicate in English. Our room was not only comfortable but above our original standards--it gave a clean, modern European feel. The drains needed cleaning and the shower a bit of care, but overall the effort put into the appearance of the hotel was evident and appealing. No more than a twenty minute walk from most recommended attractions in Nice, including the beaches and Old Town. Thank you, Hotel Boreal!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel freshly renovated; super nice soft (but firm enough) beds comparable with a 5 star hotel, delicious breakfast. The location is peaceful and nice looking and it's right in the middle of town, you can easily walk to the station; beach; old town; movies (1 min) and Monoprix supermarket and a large shopping mall. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are medium sized but very comfy with a very modern bathroom; coffee maker & safe. EXCELLENT value for your money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrGoodTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent good value for money hotel which is ideally situated for all tourist sites in Nice which are a short walk to everywhere you want. If you find walking hard it is so close to tram stop at Jean Medicin. Bargain prices on all public transport as reviewed elsewhere.

Staff very friendly at Hotel and could not be more helpful. Had to spend the first night out of five at the nearby Hotel Florence (as other guests have said) but this was handled well by staff at both hotels. Breakfast was good although was only taken on last morning but only due to getting to our various destinations early in the morning and having breakfast there.

If you want 5* luxury and loads of space in your bedroom then Hotel Boreal is not for you! For the rest of us it is ideal! As ever, shop around for the best deal because it varies enormously through the various booking agents and always give the hotel the chance to match the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadBrewerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Hotel Aria
#20 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boreal

Property: Hotel Boreal
Address: 9 rue Paul Deroulede, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Nice
#42 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boreal 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated downtown, 5 minutes from Promenade des Anglais & Place Massena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Boreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing