We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of booking process”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #67 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The booking process for this hotel I found very confusing. They had 3 separate offers which could not be used together but it did not state that on the booking form. Therefore whilst booking it keeps flashing up 'free breakfast' but in reality you only get the free breakfast if you pay the higher price! So what's free about that? Was staying for 3 nights but also did not qualify for the 3 nights for the price of 2 automatically because I had previously received an early booking discount when they took my money. Eventually after much upset they agreed to cancel the early booking discount and put me on the 3 nights for 2 offer which means I saved about 50 euros. This whole business meant that I did not enjoy my stay. I was not prepared to pay an extra 24 euros for 2 of us to have breakfast so we went to McDonalds - not our usual style but felt we had been ripped off enough. After our stay here we went to Corsica and on our return stayed at Best Western Riviera, Nice. I would recommend anyone thinking of booking at Roosevelt to consider booking at Riviera where if you book on their website a free breakfast means just that - a free breakfast and a very good one at that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hello and again sorry for all the trouble you had booking our hotel.
in fact, it is very simple. like most hotels, we do have
a rack rate,
a free breakfast rate at the same rate as the rack rate
a non refundable rate with 10% off,
a one night free for three spent rate
obviously, as written on our site, it is not possible to cumulate offers and have for ex. free breakfast, 10% off and a night free.
after you requested, we accepted exceptionally to change your non refundable or changeable reservation to a one night free. but this promotion did not include a free breakfast.
sorry again if this was confusing to you but we have all these promotions so everyone can choose the best for himself
best regards
denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Not only is this Best Western clean and comfortable but the staff is very informative and nice. It is about 10 minutes from the train station and close to the city centre.

Room was comfortable and clean.

I especially enjoyed the recommended restaurant list!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethie643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Right in the centre of Nice, next to all the shops and restaurants, there is no sea view, but it is just a few minutes walk away. Also, it is less than 10 minutes away from the train station. We took a family room on the 4th floor, which was right at the front corner of the hotel with nice balcony and beautiful sunshine. The only thing I would like to add here is that the room vibrate a little when large vehicle pass underneath. The staff are lovely, helpful and very polite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Galep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience
i am glad that you had a nice stay with us you.
the "little shaken" happens rarely but does, as it does in all center Nice. it must be because of the soil.
best regards
denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The location of this hotel is superb! We could walk home late at night after the Night Carnival which is in the city centre. The entire hotel staff was great especially Laurianne, who is exceptionally helpful. Our superior room is clean and complimentary mini bar is appreciated. Will stay here again when we are back in Nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

I was so pleased by your review. especially when you mention Laurianne and the entire staff.
This is really an achievement for any manager when the staff is really happy to please the guests.
i complimented Laurianne of course and i want to thank you again for writing this review.
kind regards
denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed there in February, 2013 during Carnaval week. Completely renovated hotel, with inviting lobby (newspapers, magazines, books, kids DVDs and toys available), annex breakfast area and reception desk. Vending machine, shoe shine device, next to (small) elevator. Staff at front desk was friendly and professional. My request for larger room was accomodated and our room was indeed spacious and light, situated at a corner, with 3 large windows + french balcony with shutters. Comfortable beds, flat screen TV, ample desk space, fridge, water kettle with coffee/tea supplies. Nice bathroom with bath/shower, toiletries, hair dryer. Overall good lighting. All areas are very clean and well kept. Breakfast EUR12 pp. Children <12yrs half price. Note: when you book on hotel website and pay room in advance, your breakfast is free. Good choice of food. Hotel location is excellent. A few minutes away from city center but in quiet area, surrounded by nice shopping streets. Will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franzlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Well, what else can i say? but a BIG thank you for your review
we hope to welcome you again at the Roosevelt
kind regards
denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

There was nothing outstanding out the Best Western hotel in Nice except its location. Having stayed in a couple of Best Western hotels before I kind of knew what to expect and wouldn't say this hotel was any different. The staff at reception were very helpful though pointing me in the right direction for a good meal in town. The price was right though so I'd happily stay again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaC338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Your comment was very interesting
i really believe that a 3* hotel doesn't need to be outstanding, but really match to what you expect when you booked, considering the price you pay.
And it is what you are saying because, at the end of your review, you write : The price was right though so I'd happily stay again if I were in the area.
thank you again for complimenting our staff
best regards
Denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Roosevelt for a week in February 2014.The location is excellent being only a few minutes walk away from buses and trains and the main shopping streets.The room was on the small side but was very comfortable and the cleanliness was spotless.The buffet breakfast was comprehensive and the staff were polite and helpful.We would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend to our friends when visiting Nice,
.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel.
as you said, our buffet breakfast is comprehensive and free of charge for the ones who book direct to the hotel or on our official website.
kind regards
best regards
Denis Frachon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#54 of 203 in Nice
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $55 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing