We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get good value for money considering the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #53 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You get good value for money considering the location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I did a weekend getaway to France, stayed in this hotel and thought it was good value for money. I had read other reviews on this site before I booked the room. so I pretty much had an idea what I was expecting and was not disappointed in any way. The room was good and had all the basics you would expect in a decent hotel room. On thing though...the TV seemed to have the volume pegged at about 30 percent of the maximum, which meant that you couldn't increase it beyond a certain volume. I guess it was done to reduce or regulate TV noise affecting other rooms but it was just a little too low for me considering that I really wanted to listen to French programmes as part of my French practice. I can't remember experiencing this volume control anywhere else before and I have done a fair bit of traveling.

Breakfast was good and was included as part of the room package. It had various choices including some hot options which I find important for breakfast. Staff were friendly and answered my questions. The hotel even had umbrellas to give to guests and this came in very handy for me as it was raining and I wanted to go out, but you may have to ask. The hotel is very well located, about 10 mins walk from the Nice Ville station which is great if you intend to do a scenic train trip to Monaco or across the border to Ventimiglia in Italy where I went for lunch (about 40 mins trip costing 15 Euros return) and you can get off on the way back at Monte carlo - Monaco for a visit. The hotel is close to shops and also not far from the promenade and the old town. I wouldn't mind staying again on the next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tats_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    535
    159
    37
    21
See reviews for
215
449
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is in a good location for Nice, even for some romantics the total lack of sea view will be quite disappointing. But for a hotel with a sea view room on Cote d'Azur, one should pay extra money. This Best Western is a fair hotel: clean and with polite staff. Rooms are still very small and if you don't catch an offer, it could be quite pricey.
Don't take the breakfast in the hotel because there are plenty of boulangeries or restaurants just 5 minutes from the hotel. Also pray for not having a party nearby as it was our case one night. Windows are not enough sound proof to keep the laughs and conversations in French away. Otherwise you shouldn't have problems with traffic noise in the night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VladAlexandru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed here for one night as somewhere to pass the time between going from Monaco to Marseille. Based on good reviews, I booked the hotel. I reserved a big room that could fit 4 people easily since it was the same price as the other rooms (why not?). It was great value for only 78 Euros with breakfast included but I would guess prices are much higher in summertime.

You can tell that it an old building that was renovated to turn into a modern hotel so there is the very small elevator and the floors of my room definitely slope. But the room was clean, had a comfortable bed and a new bathroom. The breakfast spread was very good. The complimentary wifi was fast.

The location was great: close to a lot of shops and restaurants, short walk to old town and close to the waterfront. I walked from the train station to the hotel and it was about 10 minutes. The area is quiet at night since there are mostly shops immediately surrounding the hotel which makes for a quiet sleep.

Overall, a good 3 star hotel with a great location. I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent central location, very easy to access shops and sites. Very good restaurants are all within 5 minutes walk as are the best boutiques and shopping centers. The rooms are of a very high standard. In fact we found them better than the 4 star hotel we stayed at in Paris. The family room with two separate bedrooms is very spacious and comfortable, with a great large shower in the bathroom. The staff are all very friendly and will help you with any problems that may arise during your stay. Excellent value for money. The hotel deserves a higher star rating than 3!

Room Tip: Make sure you take breakfast early as it gets very busy later in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattie732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stopped over one night in January on the way back from a business trip. Reception was friendly and efficient. The hotel is older (like any in the area) but it seemed to me has had some recent renovations. My room was an "upgraded to superior" twin room on the fourth floor. The one lift is tiny as others have mentioned, so I used the stairs most of the time to avoid waiting around. The bedroom was ok, spacious enough but felt a little tired and I had the impression might have formerly been a smoking room (the whole hotel is non smoking now apparently). The bed was clean and comfortable if you don't mind a low bed with a firmer mattress. The room faced the side street but and was quiet with the windows closed. A couple of bottles of water & coke were provided along with the Nespresso machine and a few pods.The bathroom was modernised and was clean and fairly spacious. Self service breakfast was included and selection was good for continental. Slightly oddly each breakfast place setting was on a tray, presumably to ease quick cleanup, and it didn't bother me. Free wifi was fine in the room and in the breakfast area. I spent the day in town before flying out in the evening and the hotel was happy to check my bag for the day. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was located relatively close to the train station (by taxi) and was a very short walk to the main centre and down to the beach. The service was excellent and staff were very friendly. The room was well appointed with decent beds and we had a comfy sleep. The bathroom was slightly small but ok. We didn't eat at the hotel at all. A pleasant stay and we will stay again next time we are in Nice as it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Choose one at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRocksKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Enjoyed the stay in this hotel. Hotel was clean, service was good. Receptionists had always a smile in their faces and they were more than happy to help of needed. Rooms where a bit small but it did not matter, they were clean and good. Breakfast was really ok and location also good with only a short walk to beach and to train station. I can use this hotel again next time visiting Nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 205 in Nice
766 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Property: Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing