We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #60 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location but expensive”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid-August. The hotel is good, -comfortable beds, nice bathroom and within walking distance to Gare de Nice-Ville (train station) to other cities, however as we booked in last minute it was more expensive than it was worth. If you book in advance and you are without a car, this hotel is convenient. There is no complimentary breakfast, but there are many 'boulangeries' around and we went to a different place each time. We used to get up early and head to the train station for Cannes, Antibes, Monaco (Monte Carlo), St. Raphael (for St. Tropez), Ville-franche-sur-mer (great beach), Eze and come back to hotel midnight. So we really did not need our hotel to be fancy. What I will do next time is to hire a car and go to Nice in June or early September as there is heavy traffic everywhere in July-August. And then book in a hotel which is 'less in the middle of everywhere' but has a free parking space so that you can enjoy the French Riviera more without being in worry to catch up a train and check their time schedules. It is very close to Promenade des Anglais and you can easily walk to the hotel after the airport bus(probably#98) drops you in this street near le Meridienne Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozlemitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for your comments
it is true that choosing a hotel really in the centre of everything has many advantages but not all!!! parking can be a problem. it is also true that there are less expensive hotels further from the city center were morgages are much less expensive. which internet, one can really have the choice.
thank you anyway to have chosen the roosevelt and we do hope to see you again.
best regards

denis Frachon
Manager / owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    537
    160
    41
    22
See reviews for
223
453
72
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 5 nights on a room only basis. It is very central and in an upmarket area, within walking distance of the railway station, promenade, old town and port. The staff were very nice and helpful. The only problem was that on one night we had a call from reception saying that there was a lot of noise coming from our room. The only noise was of us talking and the television on. I told the night porter this and next minute there was a ferocious bang on the wall followed by an even louder bang on the bedroom door. This really startled us to the extent that we ended up whispering. May I add that neither of us had consumed alcohol. This has never happened to us before and we are travelling a long time, both of us being in our late sixties. All I could think of was that the walls must be paper thin and I don't want to have to whisper when I am paying good money on decent accommodation. Just as well it happened on our last night as it was so threatening I would have moved out.

Room Tip: ask for a noise proof room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time to write a review.
i am pleased that you seemed to like the roosevelt although you had a problem with another room.
it is try that we had a call from another room complaining about noise coming from your room. they might have mistaken but, in cases like this, our procedure is that we call the room to have the noise stopped. this has nothing to do with the walls or anything. it happens in every hotel that a room is very noisy and disturbs the other rooms.
sorry that they thought it was your room and that we called you, but our staff is there so our guest have a good sleep.
best regards
denis FRACHON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

spend 7 nights here,very good and friendly staff,best breakfast we ever have it,only cost us 1 euro for breakfast per person as we book that time it have the offer.Location it great closed to the town,couple minuts away to beach,very thing within reach.
one problem is the bed,the hotel using akind of plastic fitting sheet to cover up mattess,as you sleep on it ,it does make noise as you like me does moving a lot during the night,I do understand the hotel try to protect their mattess but surely it can find other than the plastic fiiting sheet,
it just like you sleep on plastic bag really.
we have to took that plastic cover off the mattess every night ,and put the flat sheet on it before we have agood night sleep.be aware of the.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank post2wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for saying that you had a nice stay at the roosevelt.
you are right that we have these "plastic" sheets on every mattress to protect them for better hygiene. but i will really look into what you complained about because if it is true, i have to change them all for better quality.
thank you for bringing this matter to my attention.
best regards
denis Frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is halfway between the train station and the beach. If you're watching your budget and don't mind walking, it means you can save a few bucks and walk there from the station. The price was reasonable and they graciously put us in a quiet room. The elevator is exceedingly small. So, we only used it for luggage transport to/from our room. They have a secure room you can put your bags in until check-in. The breakfast is actually really good compared to many others. Someone else mentioned flooding in the bathroom. Yes, I can see this happening, but you can easily prevent this by being conscious of it when your are showering. The bathroom was clean and a good size. The AC worked well. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello,
you were very nice to write this review about your stay at the roosevelt.
sorry for the small lift !!! you are right but i cannot enlarge it !
best regards
denis Frachon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My room was small but had all the amenities and comforts I needed. Well located with bus to museums just down the street. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast buffet (12 Euros). I will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very well located. Close to shopping, bars and restaurants. Walking distance to the train station, to the beach and to the old city. Rooms are clean, but really small for a 3 start hotels. Once we had put our 2 suitcases on the floor we could hardly walk around the bed. There is not even space for a chair beetwen the desk and the foot of the bed. You have to sit on the bed! Free Wi-Fi. Friendly staff. Breakfast overpriced like in al hotels in Nice, but luckily there are plenty of bars around offering breakfast at half the price and outdoor which is much more pleasant than inside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187147Voyageur75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location-set back just enough to not get all of the noise from the restaurants and stores. It was in walking distance to everything. The rooms were average-nothing wonderful, but not terrible either. The bathroom was okay-had a bit of mold in the shower, water got everywhere when taking a shower-but we didnt mind. the room was small-one of the smallest rooms we had every stayed in in Europe-but we only slept there so we didnt care. We had the breakfast included, nice selection and the food was good. All in all the hotel was in the perfect location and was clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashleyann211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your rewiew.
We are sorry that there was a bit of mold in the shower and that water got everywhere while you were taking the shower.
Our full tile maintenance man changes frequently the sylicon joints in all the rooms. He is actually doing it but the room you were in was not done yet.
If you come back to Nice, do not hesitate to contact me direct to make your booking
Best regards

Lydie Saldo
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Best Western Plus Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#36 of 204 in Nice
779 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Roosevelt

Property: Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing