We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Ranked #32 of 204 Hotels in Nice
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Rooms were neat and clean, however was not pleased with the reception. We had booked our rooms months in advance and had specifically requested for 2 queen and 2 twins. However they only gave us 1 queen and 3 twins. This was despite us being very specific about our room requirements beforehand. When we asked if we could have our rooms changed, they just said they were fully booked and that they would push 2 beds together. Lady at desk was not very helpful. Only when asked did she say that the next queen room would be available in 2 days time which we accepted. Felt that she could have offered more options. The icing on the cake was when she informed us that we were welcome to change hotels, which was unnecessary.
Not a good experience or a start to our holiday and will most certainly not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    534
    157
    36
    19
See reviews for
209
446
71
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I fully agree with the recent positive reviews; nice staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast, and great location! And yes, I think that is the smallest lift I have ever been in...
I would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pmsawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in Nice in April for 4 days at the end of a riverboat cruise. We picked this hotel because the location seemed right in the middle of everything. You could walk to the promenade, old town and everywhere for dinner. There is no parking in the hotel, but there is paid parking just a block away. The hotel is a bit loud for sleeping, but you are in the center of everthing. We were on the front, so rooms on the side or back may be a bit quieter. The staff were helpful, but the breakfast was basic. Nice is a great city to explore. I am not sure if I would come back to this hotel as it is not bad, but is not great or maybe see what other options are out there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are loud at night
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SRuf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We normally stay at another hotel on the Promenade but as we were only flying into Nice for the GP and were therefore just looking for a base, we decided to look for a cheaper option. Based on the Tripadvisor reviews we booked this hotel. Check in was easy and yes, the lift is small to say the least, but we only used it to take our bags up and back down again, opting to use the stairs the rest of the time. We were on the 3rd floor with a side room which was clean, although it is dated and looks in need of a cosmetic spruce up, although a little small, but as this is a City to be expected. Tea and coffee provided so at least you could have a drink in your room. We had a shower only in our room, which was spotless, and plenty of hot water. We only had breakfast one day in the hotel and whilst it was ok, not a huge amount of choice. We did however like the free coffee etc downstairs along with croissants which were provided once breakfast was over and throughout the day. Also the free Wifi was excellent. Good base between the Promenade and the train centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F1Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland tyne and wear
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

A lovely hotel. Spotlessly clean. Friendly helpful staff. We have stayed in Nice many times and this was our first time at The Roosevelt and we will be staying there again. I think it will be "our hotel" in Nice. It is convenient for the shuttle bus from the airport (6 euros per ticket buy on the bus if you have the right change or at the kiosk if you haven't). The location of the hotel couldn't be better for browsing around Old Nice and the Cours Salaya with its flowers and markets depending on the day. The tram stops are near as is the railway station for a day trip to Italy. The hotel really thinks of its customers. There are timetables for busses and trains on the notice board, kettle with tea and coffee in each room, nice toiletries, even scales at the door to weigh luggage for airline regulations. The breakfast was the best ever. There was a pleasant lounge with 24/7 tea and coffee gratuit. Thank you to all of the staff and we will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfortable and as there is a small lift don't worry about the floor you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorothy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheboygan, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is by far the most nicely appointed BW I have visited. However, given the amenities in the room, in late April, when we tried to just turn on the fan for air circulation, we could only get hot air, not just air. This was when selecting only fan and not heat. The folks at the desk indicated that the heat wouldn't be turned off until June. As our room was in the back of the hotel, with restaurant dumpsters below, keeping windows open was not ideal.

The staff did loan us a rotating desk fan that did push air but was extremely noisy.

Room Tip: Probably an excellent hotel after the first of June unless you like it really warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
hello and many thanks for your appreciation on the hotel.
regarding air conditioning, we did not switch aircon on cold in early april because we knew it would get cold again later in the month, and even in may. well, unfortunately, it happened and i went very cold again, even during the cannes film festival that finished last week (26th may!) guests were asking for hot air as it was cold during the night.
we try to do our best every year but it is not easy to satisfy everybody as the weather can chang from one day to another.
hope to see you again soon
denis Frachon - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent 4 nights in Nice at this lovely, professional hotel. Room was large, spacious, comfortable, and clean. Desk was provided, closet was large, and the 2 single beds were comfortable for my brother and I. You can also control the A/C on your own. The elevator is a bit tiny but that's a minor detail. They have a fridge which surprised me as the hotels I've been to in Europe rarely have this appliance.

Bathroom was large and clean. Shampoo, body lotion, soap and other items were all provided.

Wi-Fi was complimentary and the connection was good except for the rooms down the hall.

Breakfast consisted of many fresh and delightful selections. Staff was excellent.

Location is excellent as this hotel is close to restaurants, shopping, and La Promenade des Anglais.

All the receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful and provided great information and tips. They spoke excellent English and also communicated with me in my rusty French. Another bonus was that all the female receptionists were extremely gorgeous. French women have that reputation.

One little problem I had was with returning the room key and then asking for it again when you came back to the hotel. Anybody could just state a room number and grab the key as I didn't see any of the reception check or ask for a name. Luckily, my family and I didn't have our luggage stolen or anything. This did concern my family slightly as a security issue though.

I will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis06000, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very, very much for your detailed review.
what i prefer best is when you comment the hotel reception staff. i like it because they try very hard (all of them) to please guests. it is my first goal as the Roosevelt manager, and i must day that our staff this year is just ... fantastic. thank you to them.
kind regards
denis Frachon - Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Address: 16 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Comfort Hotel Roosevelt)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Nice
#32 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roosevelt
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing