We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”
Review of Hotel plaisance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel plaisance
Ranked #185 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? I can echo all of the previous negative reviews about this place. It is a clear candidate for "Hotel Hell" with Gordon Ramsey. It is filthy and noisy but cheap and central. In my desperation for a cheap place I made the mistake of staying here.

A few of the highlights:
Our shower ceiling was leaking water from the bathroom above, the soap dish still had soap residue (chunks) left on it, a/c did not work, balcony door does not close completely, carpet has horrible stains throughout hotel (& in room), the headboard has graffiti on it, and the everything needs a scrub & fresh paint/decor. Seriously terrible. The only thing it's missing is a pest problem.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ahewgill06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

The room had a very bad planning and needed renovation. The carpet was stinking. The price was cheap compared to other hotels in Nice, but next time I wouldn't go there even if I want to save money. The only advantage - the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitiacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

What I liked?
Central. Next to the main shopping street and the train station.
Wifi internet is available in the room but only allows a single gadget access.

What i didn't like?
Rooms are extremely outdated with poor decor,
Extremely small flat TV (smaller than my ipad).So can't see from the bed,
Shower cubicle tiny and quite dirty,
Air - outdated and does not work
Poor sound proofing so can hear everything from the neighbouring room,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel ruined my stay in Nice ,filthy, my bed was never made or changed during my entire stay,carpet never cleaned for 8 days;night watchman ' RAJAH' rude and abusive behaviour,stormed into my bedroom at 5.30 am one morning!!!! I wanted to leave ,not much accomodation avail as it was during summer holidays!!The hotel owner such a nice man... staff were useless, acted as if they owned the place!! To top it all left some expensive items behind, phoned hotel next day,staff totally apathetic, refused to help :(

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ever been in an old british rail washroom? No then come here and experience embedded grime on the carpet, drip marks of some black liquid on the wall, bathroom partition detaching from the wall, toilet roll held in place with 6 inch wood screw. If you want to shower bring your own shower gel.
This time I have photos so enjoy the views!

Room Tip: Go to the Ibis across the road, I wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luigi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel was the lowest price I could find for a single room, £42 per night so I was a thinking it wouldn't be great. However it was great! Excellent value for money, included light breakfast, friendly staff, room was fine, TV and air con (definitely needed in August!) and central. Next to the main shopping street and 10 mins from the beach and old town. Nice and quiet on a side street.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaletts11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

the hotel was really basic.room below street level without proper windows. Very small bathroom with a very narrow space to access the bath.
Not even a chair in the room and when asked for one the staff declined without really being helpful.
I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefimik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Evelia Hotels
Evelia Hotels
#145 of 203 in Nice
76 reviews
Centre
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#114 of 203 in Nice
47 reviews
Riquier
Hotel des Dames
Hotel des Dames
#105 of 203 in Nice
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#116 of 203 in Nice
249 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Hotel H33
Hotel H33
#155 of 203 in Nice
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel plaisance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel plaisance

Address: 20 rue de Paris, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $41 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel plaisance 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel plaisance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaisance Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing