We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Ranked #74 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location and personnel”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The location is excellent. Everything is reachable on foot and public transportation is on the front door. The hotel is small but clean and well decorated and organized. People in the front desk are very friendly and make you feel that they enjoy helping you. However, the street is noisy by night and early morning. The bed was somewhat short for me. I am 183 cms tall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayman399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    139
    43
    9
    4
See reviews for
60
94
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel Lafayette, Nice is a great location for getting around Nice. It is centrally located and easy to reach from the bus coming from the airport. Our room was clean and neat. We had requested a room overlooking the back of the hotel for less noise and it was ready when we arrived. The staff was extremely helpful and recommended a great restaurant for us. I would not hesitate to stay here again. My Rick Steves book earned us a discount on the room and on breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel because the hotel is located on a busy street. The cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

As other reviewers have said very central for city centre, old town, trams, railway station and buses (but what has happened to Nice Gare Routierre- no longer there!!). Large room with balcony was well worth the 15 Euro/night extra- overlooking Rue de l'Hotel des Postes and all that went on throughout day and evening. Very pleasant and helpful staff including Mariya who was a gem! Room cleaning and towel and bed linen replacement daily. Very good for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: Large room with balcony worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeCee817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
940 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We've just finished our excellent weekend in Nice and really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Layfayette.

It's very central and very close to everywhere you might want to see in Nice - we walked everywhere from here. It's up one flight of stairs (no lift) and has a small reception desk, a breakfast room and a couple of free computers for guests to use (free wifi with a code from reception if you have your own equipment).

Our room was on the small side but comfortable and clean so just what we needed. There was a fridge in the room and AC so well equipped for the heat of the Cote D'Azur!

Breakfast costs €10 and is fairly basic but fine to start the day - croissants, cold meat, juices, eggs to boil yourself. All the people on reception speak good English and are helpful and knowledgable.

For a short stay this is an ideal hotel with its good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neale1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We would highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers. The central location provided easy access to the old town and to the Mediterranean, yet was walking distance from the train station. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The sign outside says "small and friendly" and that is certainly true -- all of the staff were most welcoming and helpful! We really enjoyed the five days we spent in Nice and hope to return. If so, we certainly plan to stay again at the Lafayette. Our sincere thanks to Kiril, Maria, Marcel, and the rest of the staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanPop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

As the title says, it was alright. A standard room, quite spacious, and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean, but so tiny! Really small. A tall person would have some trouble. Wi-Fi was free, but you had to get a code for each device you wanted connected, which I realized too late (literally) after activating my code on my smartphone and leaving my laptop internetless for the night. Breakfast is 10€ and quite limited in selection.

What I really didn't like was that my dad had trouble finding the parking and called the hotel for help, and the receptionist was rude and asked what he wanted from him. Dad had to leave the car outside (probably parked incorrectly, sorry Nice) and walk in to the hotel to get instructions. Sigh.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
607 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Hotel Lafayette is situated in downtown Nice within walking distance of nearly all the major local attractions. We booked a triple room for the two of us just to have some extra elbow space, and for us it was well worth the extra cost. The wall-mounted TV is a modest 19 or 20-inch size; of course it really didn't make all that much difference as the only English channel is CNN. The furnishings are a bit on the spartan side with three chairs, an amoire with two drawers and two or three shelves and a desk with a small refrigerator. The bathroom is roomy with a nice stall shower. It does, however, have extremely limited shelf space. The room has a double door leading to a balcony that is about six feet wide, but only about 16 inches deep (just enough room for two to stand in it). There is a tea pot, but no coffeemaker. Entrance to the hotel is through a single door on the street; from there it's up two flights of stairs to the front desk/check-in area (fortunately a man came down to meet us and helped get our two hefty suitcases up the stairs). The room was very clean although the carpet did show a couple of worn spots. There were two 220v outlets in the room and a 110v shaver outlet in the bathroom. They do not supply wash cloths or an in-room clock, but fresh towels are supplied daily. The beds are comfortable and we slept well. The entire staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our week-long stay. Breakfast is available for an additional daily charge of ten Euros per person. We enjoyed our stay at the Layfayette and being within walking distance of Old Town was a definite plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#72 of 205 in Nice
130 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#96 of 205 in Nice
234 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#78 of 205 in Nice
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Univers Hotel
Univers Hotel
#64 of 205 in Nice
476 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 205 in Nice
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lafayette Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lafayette Nice

Property: Hotel Lafayette Nice
Address: 32 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lafayette Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lafayette Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing