We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lafayette Nice
Ranked #87 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A very nice, clean, very good located in the Center, with the best people as Kirill and George - this hotel is highly recommended.
The room was spacious and simple, but clean and bright.
There are many restaurants around to have the best food in Nice and recomman

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexTUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

The location is fantastic. The airport bus stops at Opera and it is then a 5 minute walk along Rue Alberti to the hotel. It is also very close to the main square, Place Massena, to the shops and to the restaurant area. The hotel itself is quite small, 17 rooms on one floor. The entrance is through a glass door, with a flight of stairs then up to the reception and rooms area. The rooms are quite spacious, a double and single bed, with a small balcony overlooking the bustling street below. They are cleaned every afternoon, with new towels, shower gels, etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful on the desk. Free wifi in the hotel is excellent, the receptionist will give you a password. In all, no problems whatsover with this hotel. Great city centre location and great value. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SabrinaMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A friend and I stayed here on the weekend and were delighted with the location, only a 5 min walk to the old town and we felt safe enough to walk there even at night (not on the backstreets). It's a 10-15 min walk to the train station and 15min cab from the airport, (35 euros). Our twin room was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the street and a safe in the room. Marcel at reception was very friendly and helpful with tips on places to visit and genuinely seemed to care that we had a good time. We didn't have a rate with breakfast as there are so many cafes in the old town to visit. Would recommend visiting a supermarket to buy water/soda etc as the vending machine in the hotel is very expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kat_lovin_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I find this hotel a bit difficult to review because our first impression wasn't great. In general the hotel is a bit worn and is an unimpressive building. The beds were iffy and the pillows somewhat stiff. As our stay wore on however Hotel Lafayette endeared itself to us. The location certainly is excellent with easy walks to the beach, Place Massena/shopping, the ancient city where we ate, and the train station. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't try the breakfast because the area is rife with cafes. If you are looking for luxury or history look elsewhere but if you seek a great location with friendly staff at a good value stay here. My suggestion is to save some money on the room and spend it a the beach on a chaise and an umbrella and go parasailing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We chose it for its location close to everything we wanted to see in Nice. We were surprised the hotel was on the second floor and there was no drop off space in front of the hotel. But, the manager helped us quickly unload the car and he carried the heavy bags up to the lobby. We prebooked a parking space in the garage around the corner. It was secure but very tight. Our room was very spacious but the decor was a bit tired. We have coffe/tea making facilities in the room. The bathroom was very small and it was difficult to move around in it. We had some trouble with the WiFi at first but it cleared up later and worked fine. Overall, we were pleased with out choice mainly for the convenient location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chand01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel Lafayette for 7 nights. Our stay was very pleasant. The location is excellent: very close from the beaches, hop on hop off bus stop, sightseeing, etc. The rooms need some upgrade for sure, especially the carpet. In general, the room and a bathroom were clean. The parking on site is located within 1 min from the hotel and costs 10 euros for 24 hours. The staff was extremely helpful. Maria (at the front desk) is the most positive person I know! We had an amazing time in Nice and I think that Lafayette hotel was exactly what we needed: affordable, clean, with helpful staff and excellent location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank V_TravelSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just spent four nights in this hotel, four adults. Everything excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms a good size, really good shower and plenty of hot water. Decor perhaps a bit tired, but everything clean and comfortable. 10 euros for breakfast which was good - cereal, fruit, cold meat, boiled eggs, croissants, bread rolls, jam, yoghurt, choice of teas, coffee and fruit juice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#66 of 203 in Nice
167 reviews
Old Town / Vieux Nice
Hotel de la Mer
Hotel de la Mer
#80 of 203 in Nice
203 reviews
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vendome
#51 of 203 in Nice
631 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lafayette Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lafayette Nice

Address: 32 Rue de l'Hotel des Postes, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $65 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lafayette Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lafayette Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing