We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Great Owner”
Review of Clair Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clair Hotel
Ranked #125 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the Clair for a night following the red-eye from NYC. It was great on many levels.

First, the owner - this a special guy! If you can get a chance to sit down with him and talk, he's sage-like in his perspective on life.

Next, the location is great - very close to the old port, restaurants, the market (a great spot!). It's close to all these areas, but also set back a little ways so you retire each nice to a place that is peaceful and quiet. Very nice.

To set expectations, I've stayed at some of the most regarded hotels in the world, and the Clair will never try to compete with them. It can't in terms of amenities, luxuries, quarters - but it's clean, the breakfast in the garden is quaint and lovely, the beds are comfortable, you should sleep well as it's quite and the owner is unforgettable.

For the price, location - it's a value, and a find.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 197 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

From the moment we arrived Luba & Esther could not have been more helpful. Luba gave us lots of tips of where to visit near & far, telling us bus numbers etc. We loved returning to the peaceful garden after the hustle & bustle of the city. We especially liked being able to pick up food from nearby bakery & supermarket, to be consumed in the garden. We didn't cook but the facilities were there. We loved the position - 5 mins walk to harbour & bus stops, 20 mins to the old town & start of the bay. Although Luba told us about a lovely little locals' beach in the opposite direction. We only stayed for 3 nights but hope to return & stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davedeebeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

My boyfriend and I visited Nice for 5 days and loved our stay at the Clair hotel. The owners were very nice, helpful and the hotel clean and in a great location. The local pebble beach was very close, a 5 minute stroll, the same with the town centre. The room we had was very spacious and all of them open onto a lovely courtyard where we enjoyed breakfast every morning. The kitchen area is provided and available at all times. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zagreb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Myself and my husband were very impressed with this Hotel and we would definitely be back. It is 5 minutes walk from the old port and 10 mins from the main promenade. The little garden area is perfect for having breakfast and lunch in and is very peaceful despite the Hotel's central location. The owners are lovely people and very welcoming and helpful. The kitchenette area in the room was perfect for self-catering on days when we didn't want to eat out. It was also perfect that they had wifi as it allowed me to work as and when required.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RVolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Really handy for Old Town, Port, bus stops and station. Quiet area within 5 mins easy walk, on the flat, to bus stop for airport. Pretty terrace where breakfast was served, staff friendly and helpful, clean, comfortable, powerful shower, great value!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickynose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is a great wee hotel with very easy transport to the airport and train station. It is situated very close to the port which is stunning and surrounded by many nice restaurants. Also very close to the old town, a perfect location for exploring Nice or hopping on to trains to nearby Cannes, Monaco etc.
The Breakfasts were lovely and the couple that run the hotel were beyond helpful, they gave us tips on best transport options, things to see and even a great cove to go swimming. I particularly enjoyed our conversations about Andy Murray and Novak Đoković.
Had a great time here would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HandlesForForks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here for 5 days over Monaco GP period.
Fantastic courtyard, Helpful and interesting owners, Economical comfortable and Stylish accomodation.
I would stay here again without hsitation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hurworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nice
1.5 mi away
Hotel le Lausanne
Hotel le Lausanne
#126 of 203 in Nice
182 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Omega
Hotel Omega
#9 of 10 in Valbonne
66 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
Hotel Imperial Garoupe
#56 of 87 in Antibes
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Cannes Croisette
Hotel Cannes Croisette
#79 of 126 in Cannes
60 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Carlton
Hotel Residence Carlton
#9 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
39 reviews
10.2 mi away
La Vigneraie
La Vigneraie
#1 of 2 in Levens
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clair Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clair Hotel

Address: 23 boulevard Carnot | Impasse Terra Amata, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Clair Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Clair Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clair Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing