We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget stay - does the job.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had to stay in Nice on a budget and this hotel seemed a good deal. Costed EUR 63 per night for 2 (or 3) people is on the cheap end when it comes to Nice. The hotel is incredibly basic in its amenities and design, but gives a rather good solution for those who cannot afford more.

- Staff is incredibly helpful and nice, and speak very good English.
- The bathroom is very clean and is perfect for the purpose. (they only give a small soap so bring your own toiletries).
- General cleanliness of the room is good.
- There is air conditioning in the room and FREE WIFI which works perfectly in both the room and the lobby.
- Hotel is 50 meters from the beach - just cross two main roads.
30 minutes walking to city centre, or you can take the bus (costs 1 EUR per single journey, or you can buy a daily pass for EUR 4 which is also valid for the airport service. Tickets can be bought on the bus. The bus is a great way of getting to the hotel from the airport, take number 98 from outside the terminal and get off at Lenval)

(!) If you get a room facing the main road (Californie), you will definitely need earplugs, for me they were essential even with the window closed (which does lock out most of the noise).

(!) For the attention of the hotel management, the only outrageous thing I would mention is the blanket they give for the 3rd (bunk) bed (only) which is the type that is used together with a clean white sheet but as a blanket - it never gets washed and it was just disgusting. Even in such a budget hotel they should get rid of these solutions.

I did not try the breakfast offered by the hotel, but there is a very nice café just next door - if you turn right when leaving the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room NOT facing the main road. take ear plugs otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBoy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I will try and make a structured review:

The hotel is excellently located, the bus stop LENVAL (on Rue du Californie) being just in front of the hotel. From terminal 1 of the airport you can catch bus 23 (lane 5 or 6 of the bus hub) which will take you to the hotel in 15-20 minutes. If you want to go downtown you have many options: from bus stop LENVAL (in front of the hotel) you can take bus 12 which takes you in 15 minutes to the Railway station (main one). From there you can take the tram for 2 or 3 stops to place Massena. The other option is to take bus 9 or 10 that take you all the way to the old port, OR you can go to the bus stop LENVAL/PROMENADE, which is on the Promenade des Anglais , and take bus 8 (and several more) to the stop Albert 1 (which is next to place Massena).

The beach is just 50m in front of the hotel on the promenade des Anglais. Here you can use the public beach (has showers) or the private one (Bambou -- ask the reception for a coupon as they have a deal with this beach and you will stay for 20 euros/day/couple in stead of 33).

The hotel is quite clean. fully air conditioned and has free WI_FI. It is clear that it is a bit outdated but everything is clean and workig.

If you want to have a bigger room with a sea view ask for rooms ending in 10,11 and 12 ( ex 910,911,912) because this pack of three rooms/floor are just in front of the Lenval Street that connects Rue de Californie with Promenade des Anglais.

Very close to the hotel there are several bars, a pharmacy and a Carrefour City -- very good prices .

The breakfast is very very poor, just a few things. OK..it costs only 5 euros/person, but my opinion was that it is reallly really low cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Copacabana_Ipanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willett
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert114
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I didn't want to give this a one star as I felt our stay was just bad luck. We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a tour. First impression before entering our rooms was 'hey, great location'. We got a room with sea view, very happy about that. However, upon stepping into the room, a very VERY foul, pungent smell hit our noses. The room smelled SO horrible we actually couldn't breathe. It was a really damp-like smell, like something had rotted inside. We left the room, leaving the window open. When we returned, the smell have slightly disappeared temporarily. As soon as the window was closed, the smell came back and kept us awake all night. We couldn't find the source of this smell as the room seemed clean and tidy. We complained to the staff and they didn't know where the smell had come from either, their solution was a deoderant spray..which didn't help. We wanted to change rooms, they said the place was fully booked, however we should return in the morning to get a new room. When we returned the next morning we were told by another staff it wasn't possible to change the room at all. We spoke to others on our tour and there were complaints about the smell also, but they were bearable. Just be warned about this.

On a positive note, good location with the beach across the road and the bus-stop just outside.

Room Tip: Choose a room that don't smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

B careful.Car park is not including a service.notwhere to stop,local car parks cost extra 24euros a day,u can leave car on road during a night,but have to leave befor 7am.Parking tickets another 20euros,receptionist was lauthing,just told me, i'm not first...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Marosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#114 of 203 in Nice
247 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Comte de Nice
#150 of 203 in Nice
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arenas / Airport
Hotel ibis Nice Aeroport Promenade
Hotel Parisien
#92 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval

Address: 58 avenue de la Californie, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Mercure)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $47 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing