We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea view but.........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval
Ranked #86 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sea view but.........”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I didn't want to give this a one star as I felt our stay was just bad luck. We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a tour. First impression before entering our rooms was 'hey, great location'. We got a room with sea view, very happy about that. However, upon stepping into the room, a very VERY foul, pungent smell hit our noses. The room smelled SO horrible we actually couldn't breathe. It was a really damp-like smell, like something had rotted inside. We left the room, leaving the window open. When we returned, the smell have slightly disappeared temporarily. As soon as the window was closed, the smell came back and kept us awake all night. We couldn't find the source of this smell as the room seemed clean and tidy. We complained to the staff and they didn't know where the smell had come from either, their solution was a deoderant spray..which didn't help. We wanted to change rooms, they said the place was fully booked, however we should return in the morning to get a new room. When we returned the next morning we were told by another staff it wasn't possible to change the room at all. We spoke to others on our tour and there were complaints about the smell also, but they were bearable. Just be warned about this.

On a positive note, good location with the beach across the road and the bus-stop just outside.

Room Tip: Choose a room that don't smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    440
    313
    89
    35
See reviews for
285
392
76
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

B careful.Car park is not including a service.notwhere to stop,local car parks cost extra 24euros a day,u can leave car on road during a night,but have to leave befor 7am.Parking tickets another 20euros,receptionist was lauthing,just told me, i'm not first...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marosek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Micanopy, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights here on a high floor with views of the ocean. I have to say it was a great location so close to the bus, the beach and tons of shopping and restaurants. The rooms were clean, though small. There was a great bar and the breakfast buffet was nice. It's no frills but you really can't beat the location for getting a chance to see Nice inexpensively.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merryld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This ETAP is typical of all the hotels in the chain.

From the outside it looks very modern, the public areas follow suite. However the bedrooms look and feel slightly dated, our bed was quite hard and uncomfortable.

Our bathroom was slightly larger than my son's he had next room, both bathrooms were again a bit tired, both had a WC that seemed to be pushed into a tight space, therefore not much room.

There is a public car park directly across the road, remembering you are in the centre of Nice this is not to bad.

Nice Sea front is within 100 yards, and a 20-30 minute walk, takes you to a good selection of Restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart0742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walled Lake, Michigan, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Hotel is avg needs more cleanliness and better service. Bathrooms smell of mold and very unclean. Carpets needs deep cleaning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psamarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have stayed in quite a few Etap hotels and I am generally a fan of the concept and brand but this is not a hotel - more like a hostel. The first problem is when you arrive - there isn't anywhere to park while checking in, the front door is on the footpath adjacent to a busy road. As we were on motorcycles we had to park them on the footpath while we checked with reception where we could park. This turned out to be in a car park across the road which cost €20 per day, a significant cost. Reception staff were helpful and efficient. The rooms were not great, looking old and tired. My bathroom was so small I was unable to sit normally on the toilet seat as I was wedged so tightly between the wall and the shower with the added bonus of the toilet roll dispenser digging into my leg ! The view from the window was of a neighbouring apartment block. Although very close to the Promenade it is still a brisk 30 minutes walk to the Old Quarter. Breakfast was standard Etap fare - completely adequate for the traveller on a budget.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dfgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Arenas / Airport
Hotel ibis Nice Aeroport Promenade
Hotel Comte de Nice
#138 of 204 in Nice
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#96 of 204 in Nice
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval

Property: Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval
Address: 58 avenue de la Californie, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Mercure)
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Budget Nice Californie Lenval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing