We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Nice”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #31 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean, nicely maintained older hotel in downtown Nice. Only a few blocks from the ocean (rocky shore, not much to do there) and the well known flower market. Also close to the main shopping area and many restaurants. There is some parking on the hotel premises, but not much. Not a high end hotel, but giving it an excellent rating based on the value and effort to keep the place looking and working good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be a little loud on Friday and Saturday night, but these are the rooms w...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxbraketorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vendome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 607 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had come with wonderful expectations having seen the photographs on the website, but our experience and reality of our environment has left us feeling that we were conned. We felt that the hotel had been very cleverly marketed with the environmental photographs, portraying a fantastic stay. However the room we were allocated was very cramped and plain. Most of the amenities quoted for the room were not in evidence in the room or working. There were three of us, and I had even telephoned the Manager of the Hotel to ensure we had three single beds and told him of our special celebration requesting that there be some token to emphasize this in the room. We went and complained about the smallness of the room, but he stated he couldn't move us. We spoke to housekeeping staff and they said it was usually used as a double room, but even then the room would be tight for space. The obvious spare bed had no headboard and was against the wall. It also had no duvet on when the others had.In addition the air conditioning did't work, as the safe did't. We had to sleep with the window open which made the room very noisy as we faced the main road, with constant traffic throughout the night, were bitten by mosquitoes while asleep. There was no token for our celebration. We were falling over the ends of the beds trying to get around the room and could not pass one another due to lack of room.No blackout blinds either.It was clean though.
The dining room was like a college refractory with furniture that was utility squashed in as tightly as possible and it was totally self service. The staff trying to clear tables were bumping into us and guests were bumping into the ends of tables spilling drinks and cereals. The milk was warm and meats only just cool. All drinks were from machines. It was chaotic.
We wanted to move hotels. We peeped at some other rooms,much better than ours for the same price!

Room Tip: Don,t pay in advance for your accomadation, pay at the end when you are satisfied.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Good location in a quiet street, 10min walk to beachside. Plenty of eating/drinking options near the hotel.
Our room was very small but clean and quite comfortable. No bar fridge. We had an adequate bathroom.
The hotel staff were polite and helpful.
Not a bad base to explore Nice & surrounds.

Room Tip: We stayed in room#209 - v.small
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamLF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Such a surprise, our standard double room had 5 beds (4 fold away and 1 double), 2 bathrooms that were very clean and spacious for France. The Hotel is in a great location and is a short walk to everything you need. Will be advising this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: The rooms are lovely and French, I don't think you can go wrong. We included breakfast which was...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Loved my stay at this hotel. Was very close to the town. Very friendly and the room was very spacious. Would definitely recommend. However, if you want a drink or snack after hours, not possible as there is no mini bar

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pembegul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel in Nice; excellent location for beach, shopping and the old town. We were looking for a typical 'french' hotel and this is what we got. Our first room was very small but asked to move and was given a lovely big room on the 3rd floor with a sunny balcony. Rooms pretty basic but adequate for 3/4 nights. Public areas very nice and reception staff very helpful. I agree that the breakfast room is very small and cramped - we ate on the terrace off the lounge. Our breakfast was included in the price otherwise would not have paid 15 euros as not worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd, 4th or 5th floor as bright and sunny with a little balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent two nights here and in all enjoyed our stay bedroom was smallest on 3rd floor as we looked at all the rest whilst chambermaids were around agree that space in dining room was a bit of a joke. best place to eat was across the road at brassiere L'ovale brilliant quantity and quality and half price than in tourist areas

Room Tip: Ask for room with bath as these are larger not a shower
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barrylawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#76 of 204 in Nice
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Aria
#22 of 204 in Nice
332 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ellington
Hotel Ellington
#40 of 204 in Nice
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Address: 26 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $70 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private house; renovated, with air conditioning - 500 m from beaches, in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing