We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room 105!”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #36 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great room 105!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is right in the centre of Nice.Great location and the building is so typical of the 19th century. First we had a small room but asked to change and got the 105! Very nice!
The staff, especialy Isabelle is really helpful. We recommend it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john_south2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    291
    108
    25
    11
See reviews for
88
243
63
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good location - easy walking distance to old town, Promenade des Anglais, transport links. Relatively quiet location during night considering city centre location.
Very helpful staff - warm welcome, informative.
Room (504) was clean, decor in good condition. Folding wardrobe door was in need of TLC. Bed was a bit hard for our liking, but this is a personal issue. Tea & coffee making facilities. Bathroom spacious & functioned OK. Good sized balcony.
Let down by breakfast arrangements. Breakfast room was cramped & very full at times. Food was OK - decidedly average (just). We got a good breakfast inclusive deal from a third party booking agency - but don't pay the hotel rack rate of 15 euro pp - you can do better at the many bars and bistros within easy walking distance.
Travel tip - if arriving from the airport by the express coach service (good value at 4 euro), go for the #98 service (rather than #99) & get off at Station JC Bermond - easy walk from there to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try for top floor (5th), corner rooms have larger balconies. Room 504 balcony faces south & west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hampshire_UKDandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Good location. Warm welcome. Clean rooms. Elegant even. A good choice in centre of Nice. Single room 509 has a great view and balcony. Breakfast was good. Very attractive hotel for the price. Rooms are charming and of a fair size some with lovely views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a well located, well kept hotel, which has retained much of its character. The entrance is through a courtyard with un-encouraging buidlings on the street side,and signs that tell you that you are lucky if your car is parked in the car park and don't complain, but once inside you can relax.

the reception staff are very welcoming, both for check in and check out. They are helpful and everything is clear. I was very impressed with the hotel mini bar - excellent value. Breakfast was ample, but not extravegant.

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean, although not recently decorated, there was nothing to give a bad impression. I would definately stay there again if I was in Nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzcaraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel has a great location. It's just a few blocks away from the old town and the shopping mall Nice Etoile is close by. The entrance hall and the adjoining public spaces are very beautiful, so he first impression was very good. The room was not up to the same standard, but it was clean and tidy. The same goes for the bathroom. The room was a little cramped and it was too warm (the heating was on), but these were minor issues. They charge 15 euros for breakfast, which is too much. Instead of having breakfast at the hotel, pop in some nice café and I quarantee you will find better breakfast at the better price almost anywhere at Nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimoannos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Trying to get a reasonably priced hotel in Nice in July-August was not easy! Hotel Vendome was one of the few available for the days we were in Nice, so I was not expecting too much. However, I was very pleasantly surprised! First of all, the hotel was in a great location - a few blocks away from the train station, and walking distance to the beach, the old city as well as quite close to the downtown and shopping. The room was fine - quite spacious, clean and airy. I read a review about the man at the front desk being rude and unhelpful. I don't know if it's the same man, but the man I dealt with was more than helpful to me! He spent a lot of time answering all my questions, recommending places for me to see as well as pointing them out on the map. However, I did feel the service at breakfast wasn't that great - although, like most places, it was a breakfast buffet, and you serve yourself, the elderly lady working there was quite fussy and kept looking at the watch everytime we passed her to help ourselves and that made us feel uncomfortable, even though there was at least 20 minutes left for the breakfast to end. But other than that, it was certainly a good stay - and well worth our time in Nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having read other reviews, we were prepared to be slightly disappointed. But instead we got a nice surprise. The room we got was a good size (especially after the tiny one we left last night in Paris) with a little Juliet balcony overlooking a really fancy sushi restaurant. The bathroom was a good size with a double sink and a hair dryer (unlike the one in Paris). 3 single beds were comfy, and there is tv with CNN. The man at the front desk was not rude nor unhelpful, but you could tell he wasn't interested in being friendly. We got given a map and he circled the main areas to go. Despite having checked into 4 hotels in the past 10 days without needing any documentation, he insisted we give him a "voucher". Well, this was an Internet booking made about 3 months ago off a credible site which we had no problems with prior to this one. Very odd. Would still recommend it because overall the hotel is still great for the price!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redrosehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#12 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#38 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Property: Hotel Vendome
Address: 26 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private house; renovated, with air conditioning - 500 m from beaches, in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing