We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vendome
Ranked #36 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel Vendome on honeymoon. It was very comfortable, in a perfect location and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We didn't do breakfast but plenty of breakfast options close by. We used Macdonalds, completey different breakfast options than you will find in the UK! In the room there is a fridge,coffee and tea making facilities and a safe at no extra charge. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AandM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    296
    109
    25
    11
See reviews for
89
248
65
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

At £43 a night this hotel was excellent value. It's a slightly old-fashioned French-style hotel with lots of character. Our room was small and plain but very clean and the bathroom was tiny. It was facing the back of the hotel and we heard very little noise from outside. The only problem we had was the loud noise of running water, no idea where it came from, at all hours of the night and day. It was so loud that it sounded like someone was running a bath beside the bed! Very odd.
The breakfast room was very cramped and hot but there were four tables in the reception area which we used every day, with much more room. The choice at breakfast was limited but I couldn't complain as it was included in the excellent price.
I would certainly use this hotel again and recommend it for this price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank molly1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our second visit to the Vendome and again we were not disappointed. On arrival we were upgraded to a larger room with a small balcony. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location, handy for the beach, old town, shops, transport etc. Breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of choice. The breakfast room is not very big, but most people seem to go about 8 o'clock, so if you go earlier or later this was not a problem. I would not hesitate to visit this hotel again. Another excellent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hotel is located close to the beach, about 10 minutes walk. It is also possible to walk to the main train station and to the city centre, about 15 minutes. The room and bathroom was spacious for the 2 of us. The hotel had amenities like shampoo, gels, soaps, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. There is also breakfast in the hotel which was included in our stay. The breakfast was lovely, had a good selection. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owlie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We loved our recent stay at the Hotel Vendome. The reception was helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable and big enough to relax in because of the extended balcony. Nice is a noisy busy city, but the hotel really wasn't. It doesn't have a swimming pool and we didn't eat in the restaurant hence the four stars, but we would certainly stay at the Hotel Vendome again and ask for the same room. We were very happy there.

Room Tip: If you want to pretend you are all alone ask for a corner room on the fifth floor. We used our exte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For the price and location, this is a good value. Room is basic, but clean. Main manager was initially brusque, but overall quite helpful. Gentleman staffing the night shift was extremely rude when I needed to get into my car in the evening (hotel holds onto keys).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Location:
The hotel is located very centrally in Nice. Close to the Promenade, the port, to the city center. Various bus and tram stops are also nearby. The SNCF train station is in extended walking distance (about 10-15 min by foot), but it can also be reached by bus or tram.
Despite the central location, it is relatively quiet at night with not much traffic and no nightclubs or pubs in the very close proximity. A shopping centre and supermarket is very close.

Please inform yourself about how to get from the airport to the hotel in advance. Taxis seem very expensive in Nice and that even compared to Germany where the taxi market is hardly liberated and fares are already high. I paid 40 € for only 7km!
About 5 mins from the hotel there is a bus station from where the airport is frequently served. The special buses used on this service have extra luggage compartments.

Reception:
The reception was very forthcoming and friendly, fluent in English and at least one receptionist even spoke a reasonable amount of German. After check-out luggage can be stored at the reception until the final departure.

Hotel:
The hotel is the typical type of small, non-chain hotel which can be often found in French cities. Of course, this means that the hotel facilities, elevators and hallways are not very spacious. On the other hand, compared to big chain hotels, it feels much less anonymous and random.

Room:
I was lucky and got a room on the top floor with a big balcony from which I had a perfect view on the hills around Nice. The room itself was very small, but absolutely sufficient for a few days and totally acceptable for this category of hotel. There is an in-room safe, but it is very small and you cannot even store a small netbook or tablet PC in it. The key must be obtained from the reception on request. The television featured mainly French channels (incl. some Canal+ channels) and only a few international ones. The bed was probably not the best one I have ever had in a hotel, but I had a good sleep, so it was ok.

Housekeeping:
The room always seemed clean. Only annoying issue is that the housekeeping is very loud already at around 8am.


Overall, the Hotel Vendome is a very good hotel within its category and a good choice for a mid budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matthias H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#35 of 205 in Nice
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ellington
Hotel Ellington
#42 of 205 in Nice
834 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#19 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Property: Hotel Vendome
Address: 26 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private house; renovated, with air conditioning - 500 m from beaches, in city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing