We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Esprit d'Azur
Ranked #81 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very friendly”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very good location. Near the tram station. Staff were very friendly, made us feel home. Great value for money. Spent most of my time outside the hotel so the small size of the room didn't matter to me. Didn't try their breakfast. 5 minutes walking distance from the old nice and the flower market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baraa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    90
    36
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
84
12
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

PRO: NICE and helpful staff.

CONS: Rooms are very small.
The elevator is so small its actually amusing.
The HVAC system is archaic. The entire hotel is either switched to "heat" or "cool". If your room is hot and the hotel is on "heat", you cannot turn on a cooling system to cool your room. Its bizarre. Ive never been in a hotel that had such a weird system.
Parking is complicated and not on site but, this is Europe so, maybe that is just something to deal with.
TV is about as amusing as the elevator! It looks more like a computer monitor and is no more that 16" or so.
No shower curtain but, again, maybe this is just a Euro thing. But, its not possible to shower without soaking the entire bathroom floor since the shower is small.
I had a "room with a view" but the view was basically the bowels of the backside of a bunch of buildings. So, I have a lovely view of wash hanging out to dry and a bunch of satellite dishes!

Room Tip: Dont pay any extra for the balcony. Its a waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A lovely small hotel in a fantastic location.Rooms are small and basic but very clean and the owner and staff are very friendly and helpful.Situated close to both the tram stop and the railway station the hotel is in a perfect place to discover Nice and the rest of the Cote D,Azur.There is a small amount of work going on in the lobby areas at the moment to modernise these but this does not detract from having a pleasant stay.Overall a good budget choice for this area.

Room Tip: There is a small amount of road noise from rooms at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevieb286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capital federal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nothing safety as we stole my money (a sum very high) of the room and no one took over. In the next room also were stolen and the hotel did not respond at all. Inclusive charged me 2 nights hotel!
There are no security cameras, no magnetic keys and walked no safety box. The only thing that the owner said that could not have happened at your hotel. I have the police report to whoever wants it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lchapero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I was expecting more based on the reviews I read here from other users. 4 user-stars is really over rated. Room was tiny, although clean. Check-in took FOREVER and we were only 4 not 20. Elevator is the smallest I have ever seen. So is the tv, which was even placed high up on the wall so very difficult to watch. Good that we only paid 89€ per double room because any amount more than that would have been too much. Staff however was helpful and kind, they even made efforts to speak italian and english. Breakfast is 10€ which is not bad (although I cannot judge the quality as we did not have it) and parking is 12€ which is ok, considering they give you a parking spot in a garage which is 500mt away from the hotel. Honestly would not go back unless I found the same price.

Room Tip: don't take the classic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corrado76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelespritdazur, Propriétaire at Hotel Esprit d'Azur, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Monsieur
Je suis très étonnée de lire des choses aussi négatives alors que vous dites que la chambre était propre, que le personnel était serviable et gentil et que vous n'avez payé que 89 € la nuit.
Nous ne sommes qu'un petit 3 étoiles familial et nous ne répondons pas à vos critères de luxe.
Si j'ai juste un conseil à vous donner, la prochaine fois, choisissez un hôtel 4 étoiles et vous pourrez vous permettre d'être aussi exigent et intransigeant .
La Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Near the tram, where you can go to many places,nearby grocery ,small but clean room and clean bathroom.The staff very friendly , helpful and cooperative . Wifi was great.avery charming hotel,me and daughter like it .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Small independent hotel with a friendly local experience. Recently refurbished and in great condition. Good breakfast and relaxed hours. I was in room 53 which had a large balcony with sunbed - the top floor to the rear and was quiet.

Room Tip: I was in room 53 which had a large balcony with sunbed - the top floor to the rear and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zexpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Riquier
Hotel Relais Acropolis
Hotel Relais Acropolis
#60 of 204 in Nice
356 reviews
Riquier
Ibis Nice Palais des Congres Vieux Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Hotel
#70 of 204 in Nice
444 reviews
Riquier
Hotel des Dames
Hotel des Dames
#123 of 204 in Nice
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esprit d'Azur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esprit d'Azur

Property: Hotel Esprit d'Azur
Address: 4 rue Barberis, 06300 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Esprit d'Azur 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Esprit d'Azur is an independent, authentic and friendly hotel with 37 rooms. The priority of the managing family and its team is to offer you a warm welcome and to provide you a good and sensitive accompaniment. The hotel reception and bar are open 24 hours a day to serve you. Hotel Esprit d'Azur is located in the center of Nice, 50 meters from Acropolis Congress Center and Acropolis tram stop. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from Garibaldi Square, Pin square and the old town. It’s located 15-minute walk from the port and 20 min from Masséna square. The tramway serves all the important places of Nice. Riquier train Station, which is a 10-minute walking distance, allows travellers to move quickly and easily around the region. All rooms are air-conditioned and offer free Wi-Fi. They all include a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, a work desk and a private bathroom with a hairdryer. A breakfast buffet is served each morning in the breakfast room. It includes fresh fruit juices and ground coffee. Staying at Hotel Esprit d'Azur means enjoying the hospitality of Nice in the comfort and simplicity of a family owned hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Esprit d'Azur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing