We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad value - Couple of serious downfalls”
Review of Anis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Anis Hotel
Ranked #119 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed October 7, 2013

To start with, overall quality for the off-peak rate of 60 EURO per night isn't too bad. Decent breakfast (for 10 EURO pp since it is not included in the 60 EURO fare), inexpensive yet tasteful rooms decoration, and car parking are the three main features to make it a considerable low-budget choice.

However, I was left quite disappointed for couple of reasons.

First of all, the wi-fi was disfunctional during the two nights I spent there. Actually, I only managed to get connected the first night. The second night and the following morning I didn't see the sunshine. When I told them about that, they didn't seem to really bother. I consider this a SERIOUS drawback.

Secondly, I was left very disappointed when I went to the reception to pay for the room. I had pre-paid the 10% of the total price when I booked the room, in order to reserve it through a certain website. However, the lady in the reception insisted that I should pay the whole fare, even when I first presented her with my e-receipt. She said that it could (!) be a non-refundable booking fee. In the end, after I had to convince her, she checked more thoroughly her paperwork and found out about my payment.
I do not want to assume that she was trying to trick me into paying the full price, but even if I accept that she got confused (though in a ridiculously common booking/payment case), I felt quite embarrased when I had to convince her that she was wrong. Even after that, no serious apology was given.

Finally, you should consider this choice only in case you are driving and want to stay near the airport (10mins driving). Otherwise, bear in mind that public transportation isn't very convenient and taxi fares can be outrageous. However, it is one of the few low-budget choices that provide a parking in Nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RelyOnKostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 297 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good points are that it's a reasonable value hotel for Nice area, local residential area feels safe. They have friendly staff and good cleaners. The hotel rooms are in need of refurbishment, in our room there were too many things which were broken- shower rail, loose toilet seat and towel rail etc- a good caretaker should have these fixed and working properly for guests. The pool area is quite nice but the outside shower like the rooms looks a bit tired. Location is in a nice area up the hill about 10 mins walk from the pebbly but lovely beach and the sea is very clean and was warm enough to swim mid September.
The beds were comfy and the air-con was ok. The bonus at this hotel is that they have a 'Free' Happy hour every night between 6 and 7 pm! Ok so the choice is between local red, white and rose wines but it's a great way to start your evening!
Be aware that the good value 10 Euro 10 ride discount Cote d'azur bus ticket is a good way to travel ...but the buses back from the city centre stop at 9:00 pm- remember the Anis is nearly 3 miles from the city centre, so unless you risk a pricey taxi, it is quite a walk. Also-as 'female night-workers' take over the bus stops on the Prom at night, it provides a different angle on the promenade des anglais in the daytime!
Nice is a lovely place to visit with easy and cheap public transport to the beaches along the coast to the west or the other way up to Villefranche, Monaco and Montecarlo.
If they spend some money in brightening the Anis up we might return.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upgrade where the facilities provided might be in better condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crodenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We arrived late for check in but the staff could not have been friendlier and more welcoming. They offered us a bottle of wine after our long drive from Italy. Very nice breakfast on a lovely patio with a decent pool too. Location is quite outside of Nice itself (nearer the airport) Ideal if you are flying from Nice as is literally a 5-10 min drive. Quite a tricky place to find at night as we found but by day we were pleasantly suprised at te building and surrounding gardens. A hidden gem in Nice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is a short 5-minute drive from the airport so it's a good place to stay after a long flight. The rooms are clean and well appointed; the pool and grounds are quite nice, and the restaurant has excellent food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed for one night. Friendly and helpful staff;
Do not turn up at lunch. Or a long wait ahead to get service.
Convenient, close to beach, shuttle bus (bus station Carras) every 20 min for €1 pp from airport takes &10 min. uphill walk for 10 min.
I will go back for one night only.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ta1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Anis and was very impressed. Short walk to promenade des anglais but too far to walk into the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable with good aircon. Ate both nights in the restaurant and found the food good value for money. The pool was very welcome and the sun loungers comfortable. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to see Nice on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margho_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was a quite nice little hotel, some of the staff where very helpful and friendly, some not so. It was easy to walk to the bus stop and next St Augustin Gare was also quite easy to get. We visited also Cannes and Monaco. Air condition was good, a room was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelParis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
4.4 mi away
Le Panoramic Boutique Hotel
2.0 mi away
Armenonville Hotel
Armenonville Hotel
#130 of 204 in Nice
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Azur
Hotel Azur
#174 of 204 in Nice
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victorine
Hotel Victorine
#150 of 204 in Nice
64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kyriad Nice - Stade
Kyriad Nice - Stade
#172 of 204 in Nice
144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Servotel Saint-Vincent
Servotel Saint-Vincent
#21 of 204 in Nice
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anis Hotel

Address: 50 avenue de la Lanterne, 06200 Nice, France (Formerly Atel Costa Bella)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $61 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Anis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anis Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing