We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #62 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Just returned from five days in Nice at the Hotel Gounod. Gave this hotel 3 stars as the toilet/shower set up needs some updating. The toilet did not flush well even though the water pressure is very well. The lack of a shower curtain or a partial shower door resulted in a soaked bathroom everyday. The hand held I'd cumbersome and had to control. Also the hair dryer had to have the button pressed continuously to work.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandyM408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Bonjour

Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its location, and staff...as well as the possibility to walk around the city and discover it
I have noted the comments on the bathroom; the hair dryer indeed need to be pushed for safety reasons
You shall also find on our website our best rates and packages, often including breakfasts
thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    250
    75
    24
    10
See reviews for
90
254
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senja, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days. The hotel location was very good with no traffic noise around. Room was clean and we was lucky as we got upgrade to suite room on top floor for free. Staff and service was very good.
Recommend this hotel due to location and price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank k_i_jako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Bonjour

Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; I was delighted you enjoyed the hotel, its location, and staff...as well as the possibility to walk around the city and discover it

You shall also find on our website our best rates and packages, often including breakfasts
thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break in Nice at the Hotel Gounod. It's in a really good central location (5 mins from the rail station, 10 mins from Promenade des Anglais and loads of good eateries all around). The hotel itself is a little tired and needs some cosmetic work but the room we had was clean and the beds were very comfortable. However, for some reason they didn't see the need to put a shower door or curtain up (a washing line only!!) so the bathroom and most of its contents were soaked after a shower. Fortunately there was a waterproof cupboard where we stored our bathroom items. The breakfast is adequate but not a great deal of choice - 2 types of cereal, scrambled eggs, sausages, toast, cakes, cheeses and hams. I think they need to up their game a bit here. Also the breakfast room is small so whilst we didn't have to queue, others did if they were a bit later for breakfast. The reception staff were very helpful. A note of reference - the 100 bus to Monaco goes from the far end of Espace Massena/Promenade de Paillon. It costs €1.50 each way and you can pay the driver. The 400 bus to St Paul de Vence goes from Boulevard Albert 1er and again costs €1.50 each way. Don't do as we did and stand at the bus stops for the 400 bus along the Promenade des Anglais as they are drop off points only now. All in all it was lovely and I'd recommend the hotel as a good base only - not for superior quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAS2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let all of us know about your stay with us. I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, its location, etc
I am sure your advice on buses will be much appreciated; another fast way to travel on the Cote d azur are trains: they are a bit more expensive than buses, but faster and the train station is just up the street
We all look forward to welcoming you again; please remember you shall always find our best packages and rates on our website or by emailing us directly
have a splendid evening and thanks again

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is very reasonably priced and a good location near the station and Promenade. Our room 105 was a large twin room on the ground floor and unbelievably quiet for central Nice. I agree with another reviewer that I would like tea making facilities and fridge in the room. The last 2 hotels we stayed in in Nice did have them as there are so many Brits staying there. I brought mine with me this time ! The breakfast buffet had fresh fruit, ham, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausage, croissants, bread, yoghurt etc. It was a little frantic at times in the breakfast room as it is quite small around the servery area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lignum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let all of us know about your stay with us. I was of course delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel, its location, etc
I appreciated your comments about the "frantic" breakfast room at times, and we shall try to devise ways to improve this
We all look forward to welcoming you again; please remember you shall always find our best packages and rates on our website or by emailing us directly
have a splendid evening and thanks again

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this excellent hotel.Comfortable room clean well appointed bathroom. Able to use facilities in the sister hotel next door which were first class.Staff could not be more helpful.
Very good breakfast.
Why don't the majority of French hotels have tea & coffee making facilities in their rooms? That is something they could learn from the British.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let us, and others, know about your stay with us . I was of course delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay in the Gounod, but also enjoyed the facilities of our sister hotel the Splendid Hotel & Spa
Indeed tea making facilities are not common on the continent: it is a british -and japanese- habit; in the Splendid Hotel & Spa, deluxe rooms and suites do have them
We all look forward to welcoming you again: you shall always find our best rates and exclusive packages on our website or by emailing directly
Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - president
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just returned from four days in Nice at the Gounod(with a break in the middle-hence two different rooms).All staff very helpful and friendly.The rooms were both comfortable and clean but a little tired.I would return gladly.Nice is very walkable and Hotel Gounod is very well placed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms shown on their web site or brochure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to give your impressions about your stay with us ! I was of course delighted to know that you enjoyed your 2 stays with us and we were able to help you discover our Cote d'azur
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future: you shall always find our best rates on our website Gounod-nice.fr or you can email us
Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and found the Hotel Gounod the perfect place. Recommend catching the 23 bus from terminal 1 (bus-stop 6) at the airport for 1.5 euros to Alsace Lorraine bus-stop which is by a park and then walk along Victor Hugo Boulevard until Rue Gounod and the hotel is 50 metres on the left, takes approx 25 minutes. The welcome at the hotel was friendly and the staff very helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortably furnished with fresh towels daily and the breakfast delicious, fresh croissants, bread, meats, cheeses, cereals, scrambled egg and bacon and even for me as a coeliac, I could thoroughly enjoy the fresh fruit and yogurt. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the restaurants and supermarkets and a few more minutes to the beach. Sadly the Hotel Splendid's pool and jacuzzi are only open during the summer months but the view from the Splendid's roof top is definitely not to be missed. We strolled along the promenade to the Port which is called Vieux Nice and then back through the old town with its maze of shops and restaurants. Nice is a stunningly beautiful city with amazing architecture, wonderful parks filled with bird of paradise flowers and magnificent palms. We dined at the Maison Bleu (15 Rue Privee Meyerbeer) and the Club Havane (Rue de France), both 5 minutes walk from hotel and would recommend both. Look forward to returning in summertime.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spsmith24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us; as you can imagine, these comments are important for us
Congratulations on "discovering" bus 23 from the airport: we do not mention it on our access pages as it only leaves from Terminal 1, does not run late at nights and it is a bit complicated to get to it
I was delighted to know we could help you discover our Côte d'azur, and will look forward to welcoming you again; you shall always find on our website Gounod-nice.fr our best rates and packages
Thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - président
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#45 of 204 in Nice
996 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#48 of 204 in Nice
472 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#43 of 204 in Nice
775 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing