We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An very good deal”
Review of Hotel Gounod Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gounod Nice
Ranked #65 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An very good deal”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for one night only, but had some time to spend before leaving by Train. Therefore it was perfect to walk across the street to the sister hotel and - free of charge - spend some hours at the rooftop pool area. The hotel itself is above average, small rooms but clean and good soundproofing. We did not try the breakfast. Good location between the rail station and the Beach. A very good package!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay ! I was delighted to know that -despite a very short stay- you enjoyed the Gounod and also the facilities in the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door
Next time try to stay longer, and in addition if you stay at least 3 nights and book direct, we will give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    246
    75
    23
    10
See reviews for
88
249
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
271 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had chosen this hotel for our four-night stay after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. It is a lovely, typical French 1920 hotel, with many charming, old features, including the lift, staircase, balconies and shutters, but with a good, modern breakfast room serving a superb quality breakfast. It is reasonably centrally situated, and in easy reach of bus routes, the station and the beach. Small safes are available free of charge in the reception area.

We also made use of the next-door, sister hotel, which had a rooftop pool and roof terrace with sunbeds and a great view across Nice, which was a good bonus.

We had requested a large, quiet room, which is just what we had, situated at the back of the hotel. No view, except of the next buildings, but that is to be expected in the city. We had a little balcony to both bathroom and bedroom, and shutters as well as curtains. The beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of storage - including an empty fridge housing!

We also had a large bathroom, although it seemed a little tired, with peeling paint and paper and non-working mirror lights. Unfortunately, there was no shower curtain, so the over-bath shower was unusable without flooding the floor, meaning we had to bathe instead.

The air conditioning was not functioning, until we found that the fuse was off. Once put on, we were able to cool the room to a good temperature for sleeping.

However, on our third day, we discovered that a leak above the bathroom ceiling was dripping water over the mirror light fixture, the basin and bath, and flooding our toiletries both on top of the sink and in the cupboard below, and dripping on us in the bath! Unfortunately, staff were unable to do anything about the problem at the time we reported it, except to give us an extra towel to mop up, and could not move us, since the hotel was full. Despite further complaints to the desk, by our last morning, the bathroom was full of sodden towels and in a very sorry state. Whether this was caused by someone showering in the room above, regardless of the consequential curtain-less flooding, or whether it was caused by the air conditioning, I don't know, but it would appear that this has happened before, and it's a sad reflection on the hotel that it has not been properly dealt with. I wonder how many rooms are affected similarly?

Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel, but just wish the management would install shower curtains, deal with the leak problem and renovate the bathroom!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kompo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay; I was of course very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, including the facilities in our sister hotel, the Splendid Hotel & Spa
I am very sorry about the leaking problem you had; June is a very busy month and the desk could not give you another room and I apologize for that
The leak was probably water produced by condensation on the air conditioning: the weather has only be warm recently so the air conditioning had not been in use for a long time and despite cleaning of all pipes at beginning of the season, sometimes dust or other material block them afterwards
I look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were not disappointed during our 3 nights stay in June. The hotel is certainly well located in Nice. Easy to get around and explore. Room was clean, well appointed, and the AC worked fantastic. Nice sized rooms with all features a business or a tourist traveler would require included Wi-Fi and flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean, but plumbing fixtures are outdated. Parking is not free, but its well worth the money. For the restaurant, the breakfast buffet was included: eggs, cold cuts, cheese, jam, croissants, bread, and cereal. Would I stay here again? Probably yes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masik60158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel, its breakfast and its location
I hope we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you again, and we all look forward to welcoming you soon
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Gounod hotel located 15 minutes walking from the old town is an old typical french style hotel with very standard rooms - would that justify four stars?!

No, but combining good location - only fem minutes from the central station as well - with the priveligue of being able to use the pool on the roof of the mother hotel Splendid next door, using the on the beach sun beds and having a proper wifi (4 devices per room) makes it four in total.

Breakfast is 11€ but didn't try it. From looks seemed nice though.

Room Tip: Room away from street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjørn Hjalte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
bonjour
thanks for taking the time to let us -and others- know about your stay with us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed the location, the hotel, and the facilities in the Splendid Hotel & Spa next door
If you book direct with us next time, wifi would be free, and if in addition you stay at least 3 nights, we would give you complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
We all look forward to welcoming you again
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were pretty average. Cracked paint and very old feel, bathroom needed a good clean.

Initially My partner and I had a tiny bed and thankfully on the second day the nice lady at front desk let us look at a few different rooms and we got a better option. We got a room With two singles that could be pushed together. This room faced the road and it was very noisy at night, every car, scooter, alarm or people talking you could hear. This new room had a nicer (cleaner) bathroom but was smaller then our original one. We are both tall and our knees had to be on the side of the toilet as it was on such a odd angle. Also There was only a tiny bath in it. There was a detachable shower head but only at knee height, pretty challenging if you want to stand and shower. Let alone wash your hair.

We got a pretty good deal booking well in advance, this place is definitely a pay for what you get. It's location is pretty much equal distance from
The beach as it is to the train station (and same again to tram station) so I guess it's central. However we probably would have liked to be closer to the beach. If we come back to Nice will opt to stay down by the water front.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krtnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us
Trains are indeed an excellent way to visit the Cote d azur: cheap, inexpensive and environmentaly friendly
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future: if you book on our website or by email you would get free WiFI and if you stay at least 3 nights complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was adequate, nothing special. Breakfast was average for 11 euro. Nice fassade though and the room wasn't too bad, if the double bed was a bit small. Great location not too far from the seafront and in a quiet area.

Room Tip: No major tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamsie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us
We are indeed very proud of our facade which is typical example of Nice architecture in the beginning of last century with its mix of british and italian inspiration
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future: if you book on our website or by email you would get free WiFI and if you stay at least 3 nights complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is my second time staying in this hotel. Last time I stayed solo and stayed in a really lovely room with balcony on 5th floor. This time I stayed with my parents and we had a suite on 5th floor which was great for the 3 of us however our suite this time did not have a balcony, The breakfast was really great in the hotel and set us up for the day, delicious coffees, fresh fruit, pastries, hot eggs and sausages etc.
While I was there I fractured my foot. The hotel staff were extremely helpful with faxing the hospital and airline to arrange my travel plans. Everyone I met in Nice was so helpful when the accident happened. I could not have asked to be in a better hotel at this time. I would recommend the Gounod to anyone going to Nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us
I was of course happy to know that you were feeling better and that we could help you in these unpleasant circumstances
We all look forward to welcoming you again in the near future: if you book on our website or by email you would get free WiFI and if you stay at least 3 nights complimentary full hot buffet breakfasts
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#49 of 205 in Nice
977 reviews
Hotel les Cigales
#48 of 205 in Nice
470 reviews
Hotel Aria
#24 of 205 in Nice
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gounod Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gounod Nice

Property: Hotel Gounod Nice
Address: 3 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gounod Nice 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the city center, 400 meters from the beach, casinos, and boutiques area, the Gounod is charming 3 stars hotel typical of Nice architecture from the early 1900s'43 rooms, private parking, air conditioning, Wifi (nominal charge), satellite tv. Gounod's guests have acess to the panoramic pool and heated jacuzzi of the Splendid Hotel & Spa, next door, under same management ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gounod Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing