We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gounod Nice
Nearby Hotels
$203
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$363
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Suisse(Nice)
$354
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$199
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$341
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$307
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$280
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$443
$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$148
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveler rating
175
254
80
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
254
80
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsplendid hotel next doortrain stationold townrooftop poolstay there againminute walkfrench hotelquiet streetbath showerlovely roomsmall balconytop floorstar hotelbreakfast was includedair conbreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 545 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The only complaint I have is the lift. It’s rather old and in my opinion (one who does not like small enclosed spaces) rather alarming. We chose to take the stairs after our first experience of this contraption. And we were staying on the top floor.

Our room was, as I said, on the top floor. It has a wonderful and quite big balcony over looking Rue Gounod itself and got the sunshine from 8.30am till about mid afternoon. The bathroom was not large but clean and relatively new. The bedding was also clean and the bed comfortable. I think the décor of the room itself could do with modernising as it is starting to look a little tired.

The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Nice, a short walk from the main shopping areas of Avenue Jean Medecin, the more exclusive shops around Rue Alphonse Karr and the pretty Old Town. The Promenade des Anglais was also a short walk from the hotel. The station for a trip to Monaco, or further afield is also very handy. And for all it’s central location, it is not a noisy hotel.

We ate breakfast at the hotel each day which was plentiful and sustaining if not gourmet.

If I found myself in Nice again and in need of a hotel I would consider staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyAitchAy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others -and ourselves- know about your stay with us; I was delighted to know you enjoyed it and that the location and staff helped you discover Nice and the Cote d'azur
The lift is of course regularly maintained and checked; as you may have noticed the transparent pannels on top have been damaged and as they do not fit properly anymore they do make a rickety noise; new ones have of course been ordered and that should alleviate the unpleasant noise
We do look forward to welcoming you again; thanks a lot for your time and have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We reserved three rooms by internet, and it was a big surprise to see it in real. Rooms was renovated without missing the old style, breakfast was more than enough and instantly refilled, personnel was extremely helpful and polite.
Being with a car, like us, its private parking place saves your time, not to be wasted to find a street parking place, quite rare to find a free place to park.
Although merely same price to Hilton which is outside the city, we prefer to have the comfort of being in seconds at the heart of the city by foot, than to take a car and try to find parking place (if we had preferred to stay in Hilton).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michel t, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others and ourselves know about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, and we could help you discover our Cote d'azur.
You probably found a good rate on our website and perhaps you used our free breakfast offer for a 3 nights minimum stay
You might however be confused as there are no Hilton in Nice.....but we do look forward to welcoming you again to the Gounod
have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent four nights at this hotel in April 2013. Having booked direct, we got a very good rate and were pleased with the size of our room, which was well equipped and charmingly furnished. The beds were very comfortable. The bathroom could have been a little bigger, but served its purpose.
The location was ideal and we did everything on foot or using public transport, which is efficient and quite low-cost in Nice.
We were disappointed that wifi was not free - I think this is the first hotel I have stayed in over the past year that charged for the connection.
We did not use the facilities at the associated hotel, nor did we have breakfast at the Gounod. There are plenty of places nearby where you can purchase pastries and drinks so it wasn't a problem.
Minor criticisms: the bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly on our second day; the plastic cups provided with the fridge were removed and not replaced; the paint was peeling a little on the doors and skirting boards; the walls are a little thin so if you are unlucky, you might have to contend with a noisy neighbour. However, this is a 3 star hotel and one can't expect perfection and luxury at that price.
All in all, I would say we got good value for our money and I would definitely consider staying there again, especially if the hotel starts offering free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuffetFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others, and ourselves, know about your stay with us
I was happy to know you enjoyed your stay over all...despite the "minor criticism" you mentioned
By booking directly with us you indeed had very good rates and in addition if you had stayed at least 3 nights, your breakfasts would have been complimentary
Wifi is not free in a lot of hotels, but we are now changing our WiFi operator and hope to give it free in the future precisely to those clients that book direct with us
I look forward to welcoming you again n the future

have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in October. Not having ever been to Europe and not knowing what to expect, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff at check-in were friendly, spoke a little English (which was nice) and assisted us with directions and places to go whenever we asked.

The room was pretty clean and wasn't tiny as I had expected. It's a short walk to a lot of restaurants and shopping areas and old Nice. We were able to get to a bus station fairly easy and get to wherever we wanted to go. You can also walk to the train station to or from the hotel if you wanted. It's a little bit of a further walk and I wouldn't recommend it with excessive or large luggage, but we did it pretty easily. We also went out every night fairly late and felt safe walking around the streets and neighborhoods. You also have access to the hotel next door which is even nicer. It has a nice restaurant/bar at the top level with a roof top pool as well.

If you're on the fence about where to stay when you get to Nice but are looking for a clean place with friendly, trustworthy staff, then I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on one of the upper floors in the back of the hotel. It stayed fairly quiet the whole time we were there.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Bonjour
thanks a lot for taking the time to let others..and ourselves..know about your stay with us. I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and we were able to help you discover our Cote d'azur
I hope next time you shall have a better weather and you will be able to enjoy the pool of our Splendid Hotel & Spa just next door which is free of charge for our clients
Thanks again and we wll look forward to welcoming you again

have a splendid day

michel tschann - gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hotel Gounod was in a great location, staff were always helpful and very friendly, we had to rebook our stay due to cancelled flights because of bad weather and they were very understanding and always replied to emails promptly. The hotel room was spotless and very spacious with a lovely comfortable and generously sized bed. Didn't try the breakfast as we decided to eat out or buy something from the nearby market instead. Would definately stay here again, great hotel and great price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NiceSplendid, General Manager at Hotel Gounod Nice, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Bonjour
Thanks a lot for taking the time to let us -and others - know about your stay with us
I was delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we could be of help when your flight was cancelled
We would be delighted to welcome you again: full hot buffet breakfasts are complimentary providing you stay at least and reserve on our website or by email to us
thanks again and have a splendid evening

michel tschann - gl shinhotels (at) hotmail.fr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews